We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benchmark in Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Pune
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Benchmark in Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Besides the fact that the TAJ hotels have a reputation to maintain, besides the fact that they have some of the most beautiful properties around the world, The Taj group of hotels surpasses in services. It is THE benchmark for any service industry.

We stayed at the Taj Malabar, Kochi from Oct 13- Oct 14, 2012. We had gone to Kochi to celebrate our daughter's 2nd birthday.

From the moment we entered, to the moment we had to check out the experience was a breeze. The check in process was smooth, the facilities fabulous, and the staff - extrmely courteous. You want to holiday in this hotel again!

When we checked in, the folks at the reception gifted our daughter a small teddy and a very colorful umbrella. Needless to say, she was ecstatic and she treasures these gifts immensly.

When the Chef got to know that it was my daughter's birthday, he immediately whipped up a Chocolate cake in a matter of minutes! this was a grand gesture and totally unexpected! Talk about customer delight! During breakfast the restaurant Manager - Mr. Mudit was extremely attentive to all our requests and even had some fabulous breakfast recommendations. If you have ever travelled with an infant you know how difficult it can get. But thanks to their assitance we never felt the trouble!

They have a nice bar lounge - called the Matancherry. The gentlemen at the bar mixes excellent cocktails. My wife is quite picky about her drinks, and the barman was able to cater to her palate! They even got us complimentary fruit drinks for our daughter, in fancy glasses, and needless to say, she was over the top with so much attention.

The restaurants are nice and with a wide buffet spread.

In the evenings the hotel organizes for complimetary ferry cruises with high tea, which should not be missed!

One incident that deserves a mention - We wanted to go see the nearby areas of Fort and Jew Town. This required us to take a ferry from the island to the town. It was a walk of 10 minutes, but the Manager Mr Mudit offered us a drop to the ferry point and a Pick up whenever we returned!!! Such gestures have left us with a desire to return soon! and for a longer duration this time!

Taj Malabar is an old heritage property but very very well appointed and maintained.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a Lake facing room, it would add to the over all experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    251
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
275
334
59
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really wonderful place. When we were driving to this place from airport, we felt it was too far and were really tired. Once we reached the place, we felt our choice couldn't have been better. Very caring service, nice rooms, great food, excellent ambiance. We had our own car so didn't take the ferry. We should have done that and in this way could have saved lot of time driving. Taj service is the best and in this hotel, particulary it shows.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this incredible hotel from Nov.5th-Nov.10th with my wife. We were upgraded to a suite.
The reception upon check in was very welcoming. Service was par-excellence and the suite was very clean. It had a breath-taking view of the Arabian Sea and Vembanad Lake. It is an artist dream.
The food was sumptous especially the Dosa, Appam and Kerala food. The pollichatu was mouth watering. The buffet lunch and dinner were lavish. Complimentary tea as well as the sunset cruise was enchanting.
This hotel is worth every ruppee and it is highly suitable for couples, honeymooners and also family. We would recommend this hotel without any hesitation for a wonderful sojourn.

Room Tip: Take a corner room at the top of the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a one-week trip across Kerala. Check-in was very efficient and we were greeted by a charming hostess who took care of all the paperwork. The hotel lobby and restaurant were nicely decorated with fresh flowers. The restaurant had a very nice buffet and the service was excellent but unobtrusive. Complimentary high tea was served in the afternoon and we were also offered a 30-minute complimentary cruise leaving from the hotel. Our room had a nice sea view with a large window. There was a nice recamier (chaise-longue) chair that was very comfortable and perfect for reading or wtaching television. The only negative thing was the insulation. You can hear your neighbors talking, going to the bathroom, etc. Also, if people are talking outside your room, you can hear that too. There is a mosque nearby whose muezzin's prayers were also very loud... We also used the jacuzzi at the spa. The attendant was very kind and offered us ginger tea while we were waiting for the rain to stop. The outdoor swimming pool is quite large and offers a nice view of the sea. This is an excellent hotel and I would definitely go back but would probably ask to be in a quiet corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel and it was one of the nicest experiences of our holidaying lives. The setting is superb being right on the tip of Willingdon Island. The seaway is busy with everything from small rowed fishing boats to large container ships. This sounds as if it might be disruptive but it just adds to the atmosphere of the place. It is in an ideal location to experience beautiful sunsets particularly good from the complimentary harbour cruse everynight. There is also a comlimntary high tea with Indian snacks and beautiful desserts.

Kochi and Ernakulam are only a short ride away by the state owned ferries on which a single ticket will set you back two rupees.

The facilities are outstanding with gym spa and an infinity pool. You get free water and fruit at the pool as well as bar service and snacks. There are a number of places to eat and we usually ate at Peppers which had a wide selection of top notch food. The Keralan choices were particularly tasty and fresh (we didn't eat at the seafood restaurant because we are both veggies). It was my wife's birthday whilst we were there and Rajeev reserved us a table overlooking the bay and had us made a traditional Keralan veggie meal. This was a wonderful experience.

The rooms were large and well furnished with a turnback service and chocolates everynight. The hotel was quiet and we had great nights sleep. On leaving about ten of the staff came to wave us off after having given us a complimentary breakfast, a free box of spices and a necklace for my wife.

The story doesn't end there however! On the way to the airport we were involved in a serious crash whioch meant both my wife and I ended up in hospital. I needed surgery on my face. A representative from the hotel - Mr Sateesh Kumar - stayed with us for the two days we were there and sorted out all the practicalities to ensure we got the treatment we required. He also organised transport to collect our luggage and arranged the flighs to get us home. He went beyond the call of duty. This service was provided by the hotel even though we had checked out!

Can't recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, Bihar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

How would you like to be on luxury liner of 900 Acres?This was the feeling we got during our two days stay at Taj Malabar Hotel on the Lord Welligton made Island, in Cochin. My wife and daughter are both afraid of the sea and the sea sickness it gives them when they are on a ship or boat cruise. Here we felt no need to go on a boat, as the Hotel amid waves seemed to be a Cruise.
Travelling from Patna. The Mumbai Cochin flight took some two hours. The Go Air Business class had nothing special about it however we were treated to the magnificence of skies, clouds, coastline and Konkan Railway tracks giving us a thrills meant only for the gods. Unlike the North Indian cities Cochin is a neat city considering the mingling of the land, and water.
After an hours drive in Innova we reached our Hotel Taj Malabar. The area was rather desolate with wide roads and almost no one in sight. The luggage was quickly collected by the Hotel staff. As we stepped in the Hotel entrance two hostesses greeted us. One of them put a Tilak and ongoing Music,and another gave us a flower and led us to the reception lounge and led to seat us. This was followed by cold towel and a welcome nectar drink. One hostess brought a folder for us to register our entry and filled it up for us fr signatures. Quite good anyway as we were told that we were being upgraded. I requested for the top view floor rooms which was readily changed.
The room was standard sized but done up well, with view to the sea. We slept late viewing the sea the boats and backwaters, and ships and boats. and woke up and strolled the Hotel garden wit Jetty for Boating.
Breakfast, spread was a treat of God knows so many varieties. We suddenly felt hungry and took several helping, helped by restaurant stewards, until we felt we could have no more, All local vegetarian food, done up with fresh vegetables from the Hotels own garden, and aroma of exotic local spices,all very ethenic.
Back to our room, the toilet wall was glass, and we had been explained how to roll up the screen up or down for privacy. The toiletries were all FOREST ESSENTIALS products.
We had requested for a harbor side room, which was not available. The soap in the bathtub made it slippery and when we requested for a room without bathtub in view of difficulty. We were told that only the suites had both, which we said would be very expensive. Our hostess Ms. Sen, from Nagaland came to ask us how we were,as we explained the problem she went to check with Reception and called back after five minutes to say that we please shift to a Harbor side suite which had just been vacated. Seeing the same we were thrilled to the bones and we were told we were being upgraded again, this time to Harbor facing rooms. Not sure we said we saw the suite and barely managed to say "thank you".
Then there was the complimentary High Tea and a one hour boat cruise. Next day we would have liked to extend our stay but reaching Munnar on time prevented us from staying back.
We loitered in the Hotel till noon before we checked out. Luggage was promptly carried to our waiting car, as we settled the bills, our hostess gave a gift of Cloves, Elaichi, Pepper,and Dalchini gift packed.
As my wife and daughter came down the hostess greeted them and presented each of them with a bead garland of baked clay.
The luggage neately stowed in the car as the car moved I saw a number of staff all lined up, in the portico waiving good bye, Namaskaar by our hostess. I Felt over awed as I rose from my front seat in the car, and we all waived back their greeting. As we came out of the Hotel gate on the road my daughter spokeout "WELCOME Acha Ho Jata Hai. Itna Acha SEE OFF or Vidayee Nahi Dekhi.
This is truely Redefining Hospitality, Excellence and care at Taj Malabar Hotel, Cochin,
We felt WE HAD BEEN WELCOMED TO LOOT THE TAJ ! again sometime.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms offer a better view. Suites have a balcony to laze. The Hotel is about five Kms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My best experience in the past many months, It's Taj after all and the super hospitality is obvious. I suggest just close your eyes and book your rooms here. Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights. Still miss the swimming pool, jacuzzi etc. Finally, the food is like magic here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.