We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We looted the Taj ! Malabar, Cochin, and they welcomed us, again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 170 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Patna, Bihar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We looted the Taj ! Malabar, Cochin, and they welcomed us, again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

How would you like to be on luxury liner of 900 Acres?This was the feeling we got during our two days stay at Taj Malabar Hotel on the Lord Welligton made Island, in Cochin. My wife and daughter are both afraid of the sea and the sea sickness it gives them when they are on a ship or boat cruise. Here we felt no need to go on a boat, as the Hotel amid waves seemed to be a Cruise.
Travelling from Patna. The Mumbai Cochin flight took some two hours. The Go Air Business class had nothing special about it however we were treated to the magnificence of skies, clouds, coastline and Konkan Railway tracks giving us a thrills meant only for the gods. Unlike the North Indian cities Cochin is a neat city considering the mingling of the land, and water.
After an hours drive in Innova we reached our Hotel Taj Malabar. The area was rather desolate with wide roads and almost no one in sight. The luggage was quickly collected by the Hotel staff. As we stepped in the Hotel entrance two hostesses greeted us. One of them put a Tilak and ongoing Music,and another gave us a flower and led us to the reception lounge and led to seat us. This was followed by cold towel and a welcome nectar drink. One hostess brought a folder for us to register our entry and filled it up for us fr signatures. Quite good anyway as we were told that we were being upgraded. I requested for the top view floor rooms which was readily changed.
The room was standard sized but done up well, with view to the sea. We slept late viewing the sea the boats and backwaters, and ships and boats. and woke up and strolled the Hotel garden wit Jetty for Boating.
Breakfast, spread was a treat of God knows so many varieties. We suddenly felt hungry and took several helping, helped by restaurant stewards, until we felt we could have no more, All local vegetarian food, done up with fresh vegetables from the Hotels own garden, and aroma of exotic local spices,all very ethenic.
Back to our room, the toilet wall was glass, and we had been explained how to roll up the screen up or down for privacy. The toiletries were all FOREST ESSENTIALS products.
We had requested for a harbor side room, which was not available. The soap in the bathtub made it slippery and when we requested for a room without bathtub in view of difficulty. We were told that only the suites had both, which we said would be very expensive. Our hostess Ms. Sen, from Nagaland came to ask us how we were,as we explained the problem she went to check with Reception and called back after five minutes to say that we please shift to a Harbor side suite which had just been vacated. Seeing the same we were thrilled to the bones and we were told we were being upgraded again, this time to Harbor facing rooms. Not sure we said we saw the suite and barely managed to say "thank you".
Then there was the complimentary High Tea and a one hour boat cruise. Next day we would have liked to extend our stay but reaching Munnar on time prevented us from staying back.
We loitered in the Hotel till noon before we checked out. Luggage was promptly carried to our waiting car, as we settled the bills, our hostess gave a gift of Cloves, Elaichi, Pepper,and Dalchini gift packed.
As my wife and daughter came down the hostess greeted them and presented each of them with a bead garland of baked clay.
The luggage neately stowed in the car as the car moved I saw a number of staff all lined up, in the portico waiving good bye, Namaskaar by our hostess. I Felt over awed as I rose from my front seat in the car, and we all waived back their greeting. As we came out of the Hotel gate on the road my daughter spokeout "WELCOME Acha Ho Jata Hai. Itna Acha SEE OFF or Vidayee Nahi Dekhi.
This is truely Redefining Hospitality, Excellence and care at Taj Malabar Hotel, Cochin,
We felt WE HAD BEEN WELCOMED TO LOOT THE TAJ ! again sometime.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms offer a better view. Suites have a balcony to laze. The Hotel is about five Kms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    251
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
275
334
59
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My best experience in the past many months, It's Taj after all and the super hospitality is obvious. I suggest just close your eyes and book your rooms here. Thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights. Still miss the swimming pool, jacuzzi etc. Finally, the food is like magic here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place is calm and serene. The service needs a bit more of relaxation. The staffs are uptight. They need to relax a bit more. The location is perfect. Honeymooners, this is your destination. Food, I have to say id world class.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Taj but sad to say for only 2 nights! We wished that we could have just stayed at the hotel the whole time we were in Cochin! The rooms were perfect, the views gorgeous , but what we thought was outstanding was the service and the staff who worked there, from the front desk to the waiters, you just felt so welcomed! You practically just had to have a thought or desire and staff were there to fulfil it!! They were beyond amazing! I would highly recommend the Taj for its wonderful ambience and its exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Walked in for dinner with friends.
The property is located by the backwaters.
Ships entering the Kochi port pass close by.
Had an outdoor table on the lawn, just by the waters.
Food was awesome. Service even better.
And the cost... I'd say it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely property, gorgeous views and exemplary service! It was my third stay at this property over last few years. We stayed in the heritage wing of the hotel during this visit - room was large and comfortable and view was lovely. To us service was a key differentiator - general manager Vincent Ramos manages by walking around paying attention to guests and ensures all details are attended to. We had dinner at the Rice boat restaurant which was a lovely experience.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We liked Heritage wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I rarely write hotel reviews, although stay in hotels fairly frequently because of business and leisure. We chose the Vivanta because we both need a break from busy schedules. The hotel is built on a man made island, which was the original port headquarters for Kochi in the 1930s, so the drive to the hotel takes you past storage yards, an abandoned railway and other fairly run down port buildings...and then you reach the Vivanta...an oasis of hospitality. We stayed for 6 nights in a tranquil and service orientated environment. I don't think I have been in a hotel where I have seen so many staff and they are all there to try and pre-empt your every need. I had read the odd negative review in the general posts; all I can say is that when things do go wrong, as soon as you bring it to the attention of staff they respond immediately to resolve. The hotel maintains a character and level of personal service that deserves all the positive reports it receives.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.