We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Malabar – a cultural journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Malabar to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 170 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Taj Malabar – a cultural journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had three nights on a recent pilgrimage visit to the Taj Malabar – Vivanta by Taj now. There was a mix up with the flights, as ours from Mumbai got rescheduled to the evening and by the time we landed at Kochi, it was pretty dark in the evening. We thought and we had been told earlier that the ride would take an hour or less. But our driver – the driver of my vehicle – had a different idea. Rather he had no idea at all, where was the Taj Malabar or for that matter Willingdon Island itself. I had the number of the Gateway, Kochi and its chef Shibhiraj Saha. I talked to him and no sooner than I disconnected, we had the Taj Malabar Front Office Manager Rupesh Sarode online and he guided us through the rest of our way until we reached the hotel at about 1100 pm.

At the hotel, we had a nice reception and we were taken to room 114, the sea-facing room in the heritage wing. We had a huge rectangular room, ornate in appearance and utilitarian in approach. A plasma TV, a writing table, WIFI, flowers for our deity worship, fruit basket, cookies, a bottle of Indian wine and the works. Newspapers and magazines of my choice. Only the Pepper, the 24 hours coffee house was open when we came down after our worship and it was just rice and Alleppey fish curry for the night. Sumptuous and delicious. But after eight hours of peaceful – they had perfected the art of pillow mantra – we had a invigorating breakfast. We had to rush to Chottanikkara on our pilgrimage. The darshan was not very great as we hardly had a few seconds of it before the gates closed.

The lunch was not very great but the dinner at the Riceboat was great. It is an exclusive seafood restaurant. WYSIWIG. You select a fish or crab and they make it to order. We had a fish fry and Alleppey fish curry. Both were great. A word about the hotel house keeping – superb. Every corner was squeaky clean. Generous replacement of cookies, water, fruits and tea sachets of your choice. The staff are extra complaint. Never grumbling even at the most eccentric requests. We had ours too. The hotel arranges an evening boat ride on a motorized boat up to Vypeen Islands. We had availed it when we stayed at the Gateway Ernakulam the last time. Moreover it was raining. So we skipped out. But the Jiva Spa was one thing we couldn't afford to miss. The spa, Jacuzzi and the pool are as great as those of any Taj hotel. The best thing about the hotel is its staff. Always with a captivating smile. Not one could we find disgruntled or indifferent. There was Jayant Das, the F&B Manager who went out of way when my wife demanded rice kheer, jaggery payas and raw milk all the three days our stay for our worship. Even the security staff guided you through your driving directions.

The checkout was smooth too. I had an American Express Gift certificate for ten grand and the rest by credit card. The staff accompanied by Jayant Das, Abhiram Menon and Rupesh Sarode saw us off at the porch. They bellboys kept our luggage in the boot and we drove off to our next destination. In all, a memorable stay. A special thanks to Mudit Mathur who led our culinary journey in the all-day restaurant, complying all the whimsical needs of my wife. A special thanks to Mathew and Prabhakar from the house keeping. A special thanks to Ms. Jasmine Luiz, the Accommodations Manager at the Taj Kovalam, who made our stay the Taj Malabar a memorable one. A big thank you tp Jagat Singh, Gateway, Ramgarh Lodge, who recommended me to tho this hotel. Like a good coffee, the memories of a Taj stay lingers in the mind till you get a better experience when some other Taj hospitality catches up with you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 18, 2011
Dear Sir

It is always a pleasure to respond to GENUINE feedback.

In two words "THANK YOU".

I say this, because a lot of deserving guests will benefit from this feedback of yours.

Taj Malabar is a beautiful hotel and we try our best to deliver the best we can .

We are already looking forward to your visit again.

Warm regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    251
    51
    8
    7
See reviews for
275
333
59
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cochin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The Taj Malabar is more famous for its location i think as it is located in the sea route entrance to cochin, you can see all the ships coming in and going out of cochin port from your room, now since the new container terminal is come up, we have a great view of that also since it is right opposite to this hotel, service and food choice is excellent, but fill your pockets with loads of money as it is damn expensive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

A truly relaxing and great setting, Kerala is a beaty state and this Taj Malabar is just an icing on the pudding.

Great food with nice outdoor setting, boat trips, other activities make it a worthwhile hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip.
The check in was very smooth fast and courteous. The room are clean and comfortable as u expect from a taj property.The location is far from the main city, so u only have an option of hiring an overpriced taxi from the hotel if u decide to explore the city.
Overall hotel is nice and has a quaint charm of its own, but if u like me decide to see the website of the property and then visit them , you find the property short on quite a number of parameters. For eg the pool is small and nothing like it looks on the pictures on the website and is located near the entrance of the hotel.
The spa is also very small and if there are more then 3-4 people using at the same time it feels suffocative.
The food at their coffee shop was not to my liking at all, so for dinners i thouroghly enjoyed their chinese restaurant which was surprisingly good.
The one beautiful restaurant which they have on the water in the shape of a boat is lovely. But they do not serve any vegeterain food.
Overall do not visit their website and you will be allright.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback. We have a policy " Never say No" .Wish we were aware of your meal preference to address your dietary preferences. We hope to see you again at our lovely property and give us an oppurtunity to delight you.

Warm Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Got a chance to stay at Taj Malabar in March 2011 when I visited cochin on business.

The hotel is however oriented more towards the leisure traveler. Ambiance is excellent, with a traditional feel, especially in the old wing. There is a new wing also now open I guess.

Had lunch as well as breakfast(buffet). Both of which were excellent.

The property overlooks the sea, with a view of the new cochin vallarpadam terminal. The setting is quite good.

The service was good - we had a conference there. Arrangements were made well and the staff was very helpful.

Only negative for the hotel would be the location - it is about 20 mins away from the main Cochin/Ernakulam town.

Overall, an enjoyable experience, and I wouldn't mind going there again.

Room Tip: The heritage wing is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time in writing this feedback of yours.please let me know if we can be of any help anytime while using the Taj Services.

Regards

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We in a group of 12 stayed at the hotel for a week. The service was excellent. The room was superb and the staff so very professional and courteous. The food inspite of us staying for soo many days was great with lots of variety. The Thai restaurant is the best and the food is among the best in India.
A great place for all types of trips. Would love to go back with my family!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this CANDID and TRUTHFULL feedback.
This will certainly help a lot of guests with your stature to make a right choice to stay far away from home and not to be misguided by incorrect inputs by competitive set.

Warm Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

outstanding service, incredibly helpful when dealing with a health issue - called for a doctor & helped to obtain meds, incredibly helpful in going onto the next part of the trip - obtained info, reservations, driver.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest

We appreciate your time in giving this feedback and we truly thank you for it.
This will help many of our guests to make a choice to stay in one of the finest hotel in cochin.
We do not want any guests to miss out on this great oppurtunity.

Your feedback is true and honest, unlike the other not genuine feedback.

Warm Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.