We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extortionate prices; poor facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malabar House to your Saves list
Malabar House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/269 Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extortionate prices; poor facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights over New Year, and was deeply disappointed. The hotel encourages you to book the suites in the annex; don't accept the offer, since the suites are quite a way away from the main building of the hotel, and are badly equipped. The roof in our room leaked, and the internet did not work for the entire duration of the stay. The receptionist was also missing one night, so we could not retrieve the keys to our room (!) All of this forgivable in a hotel which has no pretences, but not in one which charges the equivalent of a five-star hotel in any Western capital. Really not worth your money; there are plenty of other, more atmospheric and better-value hotels in Cochin.

Room Tip: Go for the main building of the hotel, and don't be tempted by the "suites" which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    104
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
194
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Malabar House for one night- based on our room (10) allocated can't say that we found this heritage hotel so wonderful - however did have good lunch at the courtyard restaurant. The bathroom was situated directly above the restaurant so this made the room extremely noisy. The bath was ridiculously small with hand shower and plastic curtain for showering.Requested extra towels and room to be serviced but no such luck. The aircon must be regulated at night so it becomes extremely hot and sweaty during the night.
We had an early check which was quite a relief.........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our Christmas there . Very nice room but they have to make sure that standards are kept, our terrasee was not very clean.... I am surprised it is a Relais et Chateaux! Breakfast-buffet very good. Barman was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights on New Year's Day and were really pleased by the Malabar House (btw it's a member of Relais et Chateaux) in Kochi.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel is wonderfully located in the center of Fort Cochin, the room (regular one) was well decorated and furnished with a very comfortable bed.
We had a lunch at the restaurant, that was really good Indian food. Breakfast were exquisite.
One of the place to stay in Kochi

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The setting is lovely, the service is exceptional, and the food was great. Chef Manoj came to our table and introduced himself to us after our meal. We loved the steak and the sesame crusted tuna. I am taking away 1 star for the trouble we had making a reservation over the phone (I would have given only 1 star if we did not get to eat there based only on the trouble we had trying to reserve a table). We weren't guests staying at the property and had a hard time confirming a table for a family dinner (including emailing the chef). Chef Manoj has assured us that he is looking into it and seemed sincere and eager to make the changes necessary. I recommend the Malabar Junction restaurant wholeheartedly and I look forward to many more visits.

* The music can be a bit loud if you are sitting close to the stage.
* The ladies restroom was smelly according to the ladies in our group
* The upstairs wine bar is a nice nook for a pre-dinner drink

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for your very positive feed back on your experience with Malabar House. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the meal and service we provided. As we discussed on the night, the difficulty with reservation is not our regular standard. I have addressed the comment with concerned team members and I assure you that similar occurance will not happen.

We at Malabar house believe in providing excellent service and great food in clean and aesthetic surroundings. I am disappointed that you did not find the ladies toilet in spic and span condition. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Thank you for suggesting our hotel to other guests and thank you for the very constructive feed back you have provided us with. We are looking forward to having you with us again and please do not hesitate to contact me in case of any further assistance (chefmanoj@malabarhouse.com).

Regards

Manoj Nair
Executive Chef & Resident Manager
The Malabar House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

En 2004/2005

Sorrry a bad webmaster site!

Very best atmospher and beautiful personalised double rom with balcony,
Beautiful view, garden and small restaurant
Best quality food and great service! Ambiant musicians for dining.
Good memory about this home atmosphere!
JL Motte

Room Tip: Accueil de la réception étonnant. ( A l'époque/2005)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAINES UPON THAMES UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had an amazing 2 night stay at Malabar House, which was arranged by
One world Discoveries.
The rooms were very opulent, nicely furnished with lovely toiletries and a very comfortable bed.
The food was excellent, and nicely presented-ranging from breakfast to the
excellent medley of Indian curries.
It was later in the day when we arrived,and we were made welcome by the reception staff, and once settled in our rooms, a delightful duty manager called Manoj Nair checked to see
if we were going to dine in the hotel.
Manoj brought the menus to us, and checked to make sure that our preferences
were still available.
Manoj was a great ambassador for the Malabar Hotel, as nothing was too much trouble for him.

There was a problem with the wi fi connection in the hotel, so my friend arranged with another staff member to let her use the computer in the managers office, as she has some important emails to attend to.
The Malabar House is in an excellent location, near the Chinese fishing nets, and a welcome
restful haven after the noise, dust, and traffic in Mumbai.

Room Tip: The 3 rooms we had were on the ground floor,( 1 3 5) and we had our own small private patio/courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malabar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.