We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly average stuff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Naushad the Big Chef

Naushad the Big Chef
Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin), India
8606622555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 534 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strictly average stuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Their buffet was neither hot nor appealing.....had headed there for an ifthar buffet some time back and bah, humbug!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks to customer feedback, we are improving any areas our customer's have complained about. We see your visit was in August 2012 as you mentioned. We request you to visit us again now.
I personally guarantee you'll enjoy your experience. Kindly do let us know.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    15
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“Grilled Sizzler-Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Earlier this June, we had grilled Chicken breast sizzler from Kadavanthra branch of NBC. It'as juicy, full of mouthwatering flavour. Worth enough for what we have paid !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Georgy,

Its great and very satisfying to know you loved our Grilled Chicken Breast Sizzler. Its one of our specials. And when one of our specials is widely appreciated, it makes us happy and very proud.
I'll surely pass on the message to our Kitchen Dept at Kadavanthara. Am sure they'll love your feedback.

Thanks again for taking the time to appreciate our food. Hope to see you again soon at NBC.


Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Biriyani.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Naushad's is restaurant that serves a wide range of foods, but it is their biriyani that is the best. And of that , the mutton biriyani is superlative. Go early, or they may run out of your choice of biriyani. And it can get crowded on sunday afternoons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Owner at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your encouraging review Ma'am.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Once upon a time, before advertising and restaurants were a rage...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Naushad's was a small catering service centered around the hinterland of Kerala, providing finger-licking non-vegetarian meals at weddings/receptions. His band of followers would arrive the night before the event in a mini-lorry stacked with all ingredients,banana leafs, live chicken et al. Naushad himself--all six feet by three feet and ninety Kilograms of him-- would put in a guest appearance, around the time the meal service was in full steam.This was in the 1980s. Then came boom times, when his services had to be booked months in advance.
"Naushad the Big Chef" is the latest branding exercise, complete with an icon (the caricature of Naushad, himself) and adopting a KFC-esq moniker, "NBC", to capture the essence of the times.
A very long journey indeed.
But, sadly, the taste that Naushad's hands would plate up has been left far behind.
This fine-dine eatery is just another one on the block: Nothing to write home about. Lifeless, in the midst of dining finery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate and respect you taking the time to write a feedback for us. An experienced food reviewer sure can add value.
I personally apologize if you feel that NBC has lost its charm as before. We sure don't want that to happen. When a couple of people say the same thing we do understand there is something better to be done from our side, and we promise you we'll go to the full extent to satisfy all our customers.
Sincerely hope we'll be able to stand up to your expectations.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Been at NBC @ Kadavanthara plenty of times .
You gotta really try all the Kerala food specials on the menu, they are top notch.
Only drawback i could find long waiting time during peak hours.
They have branches at Vytilla-Edapally Bypass and MG Road too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank You for your review. We're glad to know you loved our food!

Hope you visit us again soon!!

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naushad the Big Chef also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Naushad the Big Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naushad the Big Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.