We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Biriyani.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naushad the Big Chef

Naushad the Big Chef
Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin), India
8606622555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 542 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kochi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Biriyani.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Naushad's is restaurant that serves a wide range of foods, but it is their biriyani that is the best. And of that , the mutton biriyani is superlative. Go early, or they may run out of your choice of biriyani. And it can get crowded on sunday afternoons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Owner at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your encouraging review Ma'am.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    15
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Once upon a time, before advertising and restaurants were a rage...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Naushad's was a small catering service centered around the hinterland of Kerala, providing finger-licking non-vegetarian meals at weddings/receptions. His band of followers would arrive the night before the event in a mini-lorry stacked with all ingredients,banana leafs, live chicken et al. Naushad himself--all six feet by three feet and ninety Kilograms of him-- would put in a guest appearance, around the time the meal service was in full steam.This was in the 1980s. Then came boom times, when his services had to be booked months in advance.
"Naushad the Big Chef" is the latest branding exercise, complete with an icon (the caricature of Naushad, himself) and adopting a KFC-esq moniker, "NBC", to capture the essence of the times.
A very long journey indeed.
But, sadly, the taste that Naushad's hands would plate up has been left far behind.
This fine-dine eatery is just another one on the block: Nothing to write home about. Lifeless, in the midst of dining finery.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate and respect you taking the time to write a feedback for us. An experienced food reviewer sure can add value.
I personally apologize if you feel that NBC has lost its charm as before. We sure don't want that to happen. When a couple of people say the same thing we do understand there is something better to be done from our side, and we promise you we'll go to the full extent to satisfy all our customers.
Sincerely hope we'll be able to stand up to your expectations.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Been at NBC @ Kadavanthara plenty of times .
You gotta really try all the Kerala food specials on the menu, they are top notch.
Only drawback i could find long waiting time during peak hours.
They have branches at Vytilla-Edapally Bypass and MG Road too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank You for your review. We're glad to know you loved our food!

Hope you visit us again soon!!

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the worst experience in eating out...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We happened to be at NBC with family for lunch. We selected this restaurant just because of the name it carried, but were terribly disappointed by the service and food provided. It took close to an hour for them in providing the food ordered "partially" and informed us that the rest of the order cannot be served since it is done for the day. Not sure why it took almost an hour to tell us that ordered item (veg meals) cannot be served! The waiter changed the claim later that we did not order that at all which was even more frustrating.
I would never recommend this for anyone...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sebin,

We are sorry to read your review. We know that people take the time to post reviews only when they have had that certain extent of experience with the brand. And with the experience you have had with us, I personally apologize for the same. We'll make sure the same is never repeated.

We hope you would give a second chance to be of service to you.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exploting the Hype”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to NBC near Shenoys, M G Road Kochi.
We ordered Fish Biriyani , Mutton Biriyani, Fried Rice, Chicken 65 and Juices
The Food did look Good , But tasted nothing absolutely bland, including the juice, and for the price u give there it is absolutely unworthy,
The cooking part and garnishing part were good, Like rice and pieces were boiled to the desirable level, but u don go to restaurant to put marks for the quality of the chef but to relish the food.


So My Final words

IF YOUR INTENTION IS TO ORDER SOMETHING WHICH YOU REALLY WANNA RELISH THEN NBC IS NOT YOUR PLACE,

bUT IF YOU WANNA THROW YOUR MONEY FOR SOME AVERAGE AMBIANCE GOOD HOSPITALITY AND FOOD THAT JUS LOOK GOOD(AND TASTE NOTHING) THEN YEA.. iT IS YOUR PLACEGO AHEAD.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEHAMOOD, Manager at Naushad the Big Chef, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Glad to know you appreciated our cooking but sad to know we didn't provide the relishing feel you needed.

As you might know, our MG Road outlet has been closed now. If there is anything in particular you would like to point out that has to be improved, we'll make sure that all our present outlets take special care of it.

We really hope you would be able to give us a second chance to be able to serve you and make up for your earlier experience.

Regards,
Mehamood
CEO
NBC Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naushad the Big Chef also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Naushad the Big Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naushad the Big Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.