We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like crustaceans. go here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort House Restaurant

Fort House Restaurant
2/6A Calvathy Road | Fort House Hotel, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
0091 9961772274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 534 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you like crustaceans. go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

THE most delicious prawns on earth (especially the giant sized ones) in a gorgeous setting out on a jetty. There is a bar next door where one can enjoy a beer before heading to the restaurant. The walk through the eclectic laterns is something quite magical on a steamy night. Note that the restairant doesn't open until 7 - but it is worth it. oh so worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    41
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“romantic setting, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a candlelit dinner on the jetty, watching the boats go past, the locals enjoying food on a neighbouring jetty. Good choice of food, suited our unadventurous 12-year old as well as those in our party who prefer Kerala food. Bit of a splurge for us, compared to our usual local cafes, but well worth it for views and setting.
Location: Right opposite the Kathakali show we attended at River Green, and then we enjoyed walking back to our accommodation by Parade ground.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The service is a little slow, but they make it up with the food they serve. Its fresh and tasty. The ambience is very nice. should go a little early in th evening as the place gets full.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, but great good and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our most expensive dinner in Fort Kochi but the ambience was great - we had a table on the jetty overlooking the harbour, which gave a cool and welcome breeze in the evening. The food was really tasty, though portion sizes were small. It was worth the expense for the experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good but watch the spices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Amazing food, great place to have fresh fish but watch out when they say "not very spicy" my Vindaloo was well cooked but very hot, even by my standards. Ate here at least three times and enjoyed every meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort House Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Fort House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.