We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green House Home Stay
Save
You added Green House Home Stay to your Saves list
H.No. 1/1040 A,Kunnampuram Cross Road,Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 299 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Green House in Feb 2013 and have to say it was the best Homestay experience we've had.

Rooms and common areas were immaculate and provided wonderful place to relax and escape the city bustle outside. It's location is great for seeing all the main attractions of Fort Cochi.

Our host Kumar couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. During our stay a national strike threatened to strand us in Kochi due to all transport and shops being shut down for 48 hours. Even though Kumar offered somewhere to stay and sit it out, he ended up helping us get to our next destination in Munnar before the shut down began.

Cannot recommend the Greenhouse Homestay strongly enough - Thank you Kumar!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

1 week became 2 weeks, that's says it all! We loved this place in fort Kochi, the owner is really kind. He told us he will get an extra guesthouse, I am sure that will become nice place as well. wifi was also great, so we could work still a little.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The house is very nice and clean with a wounderfull terrace. The room was small but with AC. We felt very save, that we had no problems to leave our things in the room we we went out. The home stay is on a good place in Kochi an we could reach easily all nice places. Kumar helped us a lot to plan our next steps on our journey, and to get a mobile phone card :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had a very good experience at Green House Home Stay. Kumar was very helpful and nice and friendly. It was relaxing and everything was extremely well-organized. I never once felt ripped off or pressured to do anything I didn't want to do. Fort Kochi was one of the nicest places I visited in India. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the green house home stay for 10 days in December. The manager, Kumar, is so friendly and helped with any requests we had including guiding on all important subjects such as where is best to eat, how much to pay for taxis, best trips to do etc. The homestay itself is lovely, impeccably clean with nice communal areas, tv's, wifi, a good washing machine (first time our clothes have been properly cleaned in quite a while!) And All the doors and windows have fitted mosquito screens which is a must in Fort Cochin. All in all a brilliant stay at a budget price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Green House for almost 2 weeks. We felt completely safe and well looked after. Kumar the host, was daily making sure that we don't miss anything and giving great suggestions for renting a motor bike, excusions, restaurants... Firstly we booked for 5 days but it was to hard to leave our new cleanest and confortable Indian house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Green House in June. Kumar was incredibly welcoming and went out of his way to ensure my stay at his home stay was enjoyable. We even ended up having dinner together and a wonderful conversation at a nearby restaurant. Fabulous guy.

The home stay is reasonably priced, clean, well-located, and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Address: H.No. 1/1040 A,Kunnampuram Cross Road,Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.