We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Home Stay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green House Home Stay to your Saves list
Green House Home Stay
H. No. 1/1040 a, Kunnampuram Cross Road, Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 371 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredibly welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Green House in June. Kumar was incredibly welcoming and went out of his way to ensure my stay at his home stay was enjoyable. We even ended up having dinner together and a wonderful conversation at a nearby restaurant. Fabulous guy.

The home stay is reasonably priced, clean, well-located, and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived and got the last free room in the place, apparently the 'worst' room because everyone apologized for it. But we loved it- it was very clean, abutting a lush garden full of plants and birds, the sounds of the jungle outside floated through our screened windows, and there was a powerful fan on the ceiling that kept us incredibly cool despite the heat. The bathroom was very clean (almost felt like a spa compared to our accommodations the previous night) and the rooftop breakfast came with strong coffee (yum), delicious home-cooked food and a gorgeous view . Most of all, Sheeba and family are probably some of the kindest and loveliest people I've met in my life. Ever. What a relaxing and delightful place, couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Genevieve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May this year.
The rooms are clean and well equipped with choice of A/C or non A/C. There is a nice communal room with TV, Internet, books, magazines and local area information. Also there is a lovely Balcony and a roof area where you can relax in a hammock or put your laundry out to dry.
The location is perfect, about 5 mins walk from the main streets down a pretty and safe side street. There are convenience stores 2 minutes away for any daily needs.
Kumar, who runs the homestay is the real star though. I was taken ill during our stay and Kumar was absolutely fantastic and made an unpleasant situation much easier. He organised transport to a good clean hospital that he chose and even follewd us down there and helped make sure there were no problems with treatment. The treatment took a few hours and Kumar stayed until we had finished and again helped to organise transport back which saved us a hefty taxi charge. Thanks Kumar!
I would recommend and staying here and will definitely return next time we are in Kochi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moonmorals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Homestay is perfectly located in Kochi, moreover it is a very calm place. The internet is available in the home stay which is always useful. Kumar is really helpful and nice since i fell sick while staying in Kochi and he helped us in everything. The place is the cleanest i have stayed in in India and has all the facilities we needed : washing machines, a fridge in the communal area, nice places to rest after the beautiful day trip organized by Kumar in the backwaters... Highly recommended !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marinekoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Green House Home Stay is a wonderfully clean, well equipped and organised home stay. It is down a quiet little lane but only a 5 minute walk from the main centre.

Kumar is also a wonderful host - letting us do washing, organising us a backwaters trip, booking us taxis and recommending delicious restaurants (do not miss Oceanos!).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Kumar runs a very good business. The place is exceptionally clean and the beds were comfortable. The bed sheets were clean, pillows were in good shape to use. Wifi was in room. The communal area has a good fridge and dining area if you would like to eat there. The location is perfect, halfway between restaurants/shops and the ferry area. On a quiet street very near anything that you may need.

If you have questions just ask Kumar and if he is out there is a telephone in the lounge to call him free of charge.

While we were there, Kumar started a new property nearby. He took me there to look at it and its is amazing. If he runs the new place anywhere as well as he runs the Green house he will do very well.

I fully recommend this property to anyone as it is suitable to small or larger groups and/or families.

Thank you Kumar we had a great time at your place. Good luck with the new venture

Room Tip: The front room has more windows and gets a better breeze. But they are all very similar. The AC in r...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OtterVsSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had the AC room, and everything was very comfortable. I enjoyed reading on the rooftop in the evening, and having access to a fridge and a few dishes meant it was easy to take a restaurant break and have yogurt and fruit for lunch occasionally. There's a nice, small balcony on the front with mango and guava trees and lovely birds. It's also centrally located just a few blocks from the majority of restaurants and sightseeing. It's a pleasant 20 minutes walk to Mattancherry. As others have noted, Kumar has all the right instincts to be a perfect host, giving you as much or as little attention as you want. He worked with me to hire a driver one day, and his recommendation was excellent, particularly as my ideas of where I wanted to go were vague at best. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob_R839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 185 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
5.9 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 26 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#10 of 371 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#11 of 371 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daffodil Homestay
Daffodil Homestay
#22 of 371 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#14 of 371 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Address: H. No. 1/1040 a, Kunnampuram Cross Road, Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green House Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing