We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green House Home Stay
H.No. 1/1040 A,Kunnampuram Cross Road,Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 287 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Kumar runs a very good business. The place is exceptionally clean and the beds were comfortable. The bed sheets were clean, pillows were in good shape to use. Wifi was in room. The communal area has a good fridge and dining area if you would like to eat there. The location is perfect, halfway between restaurants/shops and the ferry area. On a quiet street very near anything that you may need.

If you have questions just ask Kumar and if he is out there is a telephone in the lounge to call him free of charge.

While we were there, Kumar started a new property nearby. He took me there to look at it and its is amazing. If he runs the new place anywhere as well as he runs the Green house he will do very well.

I fully recommend this property to anyone as it is suitable to small or larger groups and/or families.

Thank you Kumar we had a great time at your place. Good luck with the new venture

Room Tip: The front room has more windows and gets a better breeze. But they are all very similar. The AC in r...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had the AC room, and everything was very comfortable. I enjoyed reading on the rooftop in the evening, and having access to a fridge and a few dishes meant it was easy to take a restaurant break and have yogurt and fruit for lunch occasionally. There's a nice, small balcony on the front with mango and guava trees and lovely birds. It's also centrally located just a few blocks from the majority of restaurants and sightseeing. It's a pleasant 20 minutes walk to Mattancherry. As others have noted, Kumar has all the right instincts to be a perfect host, giving you as much or as little attention as you want. He worked with me to hire a driver one day, and his recommendation was excellent, particularly as my ideas of where I wanted to go were vague at best. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Right from the first minutes I felt relaxed and at home. The place is really clean and comfy (and the sheets are white ;-)))). The location is perfect - everything (sights, shops, restaurants) is within walking distance. Kumar provides you with thorough support and information about the city. Any help: with getting around, excursions (for really fair price), places to see and where to eat, even ideas how to spend the time of your stay more efficiently. I stayed alone so from time to time it was nice to have a chat with the host about languages, cultures, traveling and life in general. At the same time unlike many Indian hosts Kumar is never obtrusive. I found the home stay to be great value for the money. Feels like I found a new good friend as well)))))))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Not only was the home stay in a beautiful building, centrally located and with a lovely balcony and small sweet garden, Kumar, your host is just one of the most genuine, helpful, kind and lovely people!
He really made the place so comfortable that you really do feel at home (which isn't the case with a lot of home stays!)
The rooms are clean, spacious and really good value especially for Fort Cochin.
I stayed with three friends in two rooms and we all had such an amazing time, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

we stayed two nights in this clean and very friendly guesthouse. kumar, the owner was very helpful and friendly to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He knows an answer to all our question. we really can recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Kumar was such a welcoming, caring and knowledgeable host that I immediately felt at home here. The place was well-located just by the Santa Cruz Basilica and we found that we could reach almost all the nearby sights on foot. I found the room to be great value for my money as it was spacious, charming and very clean with a wonderful terrace. We couldn't have lucked-out more in Kochin!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banteay Chhmar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had a great stay with Kumar. He's a very generous, helpful and knowledgeable host and knows how to take care of his guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Address: H.No. 1/1040 A,Kunnampuram Cross Road,Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Home Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green House Home Stay to your Saves list