We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and professional yet friendly and cheerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elim Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elim Homestay to your Saves list
Elim Homestay
Chirattapalam | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin), India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
seattle
1 review
“Clean and professional yet friendly and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This new homestay is family owned and is like a luxury hotel compared to other offerings in its price range. There is Wi Fi, water, a shared communal kitchen (where the mother will happily make you chapati or chai) fans and multiple power outlets as well as a spacious rooftop from where you can get a good view of the surrounding area. You feel very safe as the area is well kept and sports several security cameras just in case. They speak english very well so you shouldnt have any trouble reserving a trip to the backwaters or Munnar hilltop station from here or chat about. So far in my trip through the west side of India, this was the most hassle free guesthouse that I have had the opportunity to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Elim Homestay is a place where you will be warmly welcomed, friendly personnel and comfortable beds/bathroom. Its on a great location in Kochi, for from here its a short walk to nice boutiques, restaurants, the fish market and so forth. Very good customer service, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for writing a review about us. Welcome back to 'Elim' again when ever you visit India!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staying at Elim has made my first trip to Fort Cochin, Kerala, a very pleasant experience. Not only the room is large, it has a separate kitchenette with nice cabinets, complete with a washing basin and a small microwave oven. The toilet is equally nice, clean and fitted with modern equipments. Staying there for 6 nights was like a retreat. The service is superb. The owner is dedicated to cater to his customers' needs. The manager John is very personal, friendly and smart. He is ready to serve and help the customers to make them feel at home. I felt like staying at a 5-star hotel with the atmosphere and comfort of a home. Bonus is Elim's rooftop, a beautiful large area with view. Elim is also within walking distance to all the attractions. Better yet, if you are into yoga, guru Sajee is only a 1-minute walk from Elim. When I go back to Cochin, Elim is where I will stay. Lee from USA.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your encouraging words and we are so happy as you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve and host you! You are always welcome back to the house of 'Elim'. Thank you once again for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was there in December 2011 and felt comfortable all around. The house is very well maintained and cared for by its owners. The location in fort cochin is perfect, only a few steps away from the seaside, the chinese fishing nets and all other interesting places in the old fort. The rooms are good size, nicely furnished and very clean. Of particular note is the excellent hospitality. I got sick during my stay and I have been cared for and looked after wonderfully. Food was brought from a nearby restaurant (especially made for me), hot tea ... everything you need to feel better very soon. I highly recommend this lovely house! Besides all this the prices are extremely moderate. Thanks to John for all help!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for remembering us even after almost a year! It is our duty to help and serve you while you are our prestigious guest. Thanks a lot for your lovely and encouraging words about us. You are always welcome back here whenever you visit India. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

...and that is what Elim Homestay is - a sanctuary within the experience that is India.
We arrived in Kochi from a 4 hour car drive down crazy mountain roads and then a 5 hour train journey followed by a 30 minute tuk tuk to arrive at the Lonely Planet recommended Green Fields Bethlehem. We were very tired, very hot (it was 32) and very hungry. However GF Bethlehem was full but the lovely people there still made us a cup of tea and rang around to see if there was anywhere else to stay but to no avail so they booked us another tuk tuk to take us to Fort Cochin's hub - Princess Street and see what we could find.
Salut, the tuk tuk driver, had other ideas and took us to the door of the Elim Homestay without us asking him but we were so exhausted that we just accepted it. We were met by the manager John who showed us a room - and wow! Not so much a room as an apartment. Large bed in a huge bedroom, a kitchen, walk in wet room/bathroom and a hallway with desk- but it had three things that nowhere else we'd stayed during a tour of South India had and they were; it was totally spotless - pristine in fact, was completely mozzie proof - no relying on ceiling fans (though it had those too) or nets but proper, perfectly fitted mozzie blinds and AC that made it as cold as the inside of a Coffee Day AND the AC was modern and worked properly.
All this plus a 3 course breakfast was included and the total cost was only 2000 rupees a night!!! - not each, but total. (Approx £24!!)
Then add to this that John and the staff and the loveliest and most genuine people one may ever meet in one's entire lifetime that had we not got children in England we might have stayed there forever! We only intended to stay 3 or 4 nights but it so ticked all the boxes we stayed eight. It's a wonderful base to discover Kerala from as everywhere is only a day trip away.. and there's a real deal, drop-in daily yoga and meditation class just over the road!
It's only a matter of time before Lonely Planet hear of this place so go there soon!
kevollier.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing review and the valuable time you have spent for it! It is your words of encouragement is what keeps us moving. We are so glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay here as well as our hospitality and service. Our doors will always be opened for you, your family and friends. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After 2 weeks of traveling around South India, it was a great relief to find Elim Homestay. Very clean, quiet, comfortable and well located place to stay. The staff made us feel very welcome always. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review about us and it was our pleasure to serve you! Welcome to Elim again whenever you come down to Cochin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was recommended by a local to go and have a look at Elim Homestay. My girlfriend and I was wanting to stay somewhere a bit more luxurious than the huts we had been staying in for a couple of weeks. You should have seen her face once we found Elim! lol :) It is a very nice place to stay! Very peaceful, clean and cozy! Lovely shower and bathroom too!

Room Tip: A very short distance from the centre of town, which is a bonus if you want some quality sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnthomaselim, Manager at Elim Homestay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review about our homestay! Welcome to Elim again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elim Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Homestay

Address: Chirattapalam | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin), India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elim," a Boutique Homestay in Fort Cochin, run by friends Sony Ignatious and Siyad KA on proprietorship. They both are well known in fort kochi for the better customer service and hospitality. They both were working for some other hotels for last few years and with their knowledge and experience they started a new accommodation centre in fort kochi. In the hospitality business in Ft. Cochin, they combine to bring to Elim many years of experience in the hotel, hospitality and tourism industry in Ft. Cochin. Upon entering Elim, one finds all modern facilities and amenities. They have clean sparkling Floors and furnitures are eco friendly and cozy. The greenery keeps the surrounding cool, a welcome site from Kerala's sultry climate. In the short span of few months, Elim Homestay could gather many clients from Europe, America, Australia etc. Guests prefer Elim Homestay because the spacious rooms with pantries, roof top terrace for chil out. Library and yoga centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Elim Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elim Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.