We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dame Rouge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dame Rouge
Save Saved
You added La Dame Rouge to your Saves list
Kizhakke Veedu,Manapilly | Vypin Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were so happy to have Marco and his wonderful family in a lovely house perfectly off the beaten track from Cochin. Marco welcomed us into our bi-level gorgeously made-up suite early in the morning (after an overnight bus trip from Mysore), let us sleep off the morning and offered us fantastic breakfasts and dinners and helped us to plan each day, arrange for taxis when needed and treated us like family for the four days we were his guests. The house and grounds are beautiful, filled with antiques and art and a warm atmosphere created by Marco and the staff, family and neighbors who come for good conversation and play. It is a bit of a trek from Manapilly to Cochin but come here for the relaxing atmosphere, the beauty of the grounds and the camaraderie and hospitality of Marco and family (not to mention the excellent kitchen). When we think about our month long stay in Southern India, our days passed with Marco and co. were our favorite memories. We feel like we have left a friend in Manapilly and hope to come back to see him again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

La Dame Rouge is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting Kerala state. It is located just a few kilometers North of Kochi (easy to reach by bus or taxi) on the Vypin island. The master of the place, Marco, is also the soul of the house. He is very welcoming and will do whatever is possible to make your stay enjoyable. The food prepared by Tanga is delicious, especially the fish and seafood, fresh from the day. The rest of the little family is also so nice and friendly.
There are activities for everyone: you can go to the beach, ride a bike, take a boat trip on the backwaters, go visit Kochi, enjoy an authentic Ayurvedic massage or simply relax away from the craziness of Indian cities.
If by any chance you go to Kerala, don't miss this place, it will make your trip a totally different experience that you will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I don't think a simple review will do justice. I arrived on my birthday with my partner and we were graciously welcomed with an aperitif. I've never felt more spoiled and welcome on a birthday before. The suite was immaculate, tastefully decorated, and was just exactly what we were hoping for. The house is just outside the hustle and bustle of the city and very relaxing to just be calm and content in. The food was wonderful (best gambas I've ever had!) and everybody at the house was warm, caring, but also gave you independence and time to "just be". We had some great discussions as well. The house is beautifully decorated and well maintained (thanks to a very talented host and designer!), and even the shower was high-quality including the ayurvedic shampoo which was great! The masseuse who does ayurvedic massages at the house was very friendly, skilled, and had a good sense of humour :) I could keep explaining how wonderful my experience was, but you should stop reading this and just go make a reservation at La Dame Rouge instead!

Room Tip: The suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

It’s taken me too long to write this review, why? Well when you’ve have one of the best fortnight of your life you really want to take the time to tell other people about it.

My wife Rachel heard about La Dame Rouge last year from close friends, I’d been to India several times before but Rachel hadn’t, she made the suggestion and of course being my wife I could hardly argue, she would win anyway.

We spent a few days in Mumbai with the children (3 boys aged 8, 10 & 12) and flew down to Kochi on Kingfisher just before Christmas. To my surprise there was a nice chap to meet us at the airport, a good sign I told myself. He drove us a breakneck speed on the wrong side of the road in typical Indian fashion to a lovely old colonial house about 200m from the Back-Waters. Marco, the host, has lived in India for almost 20 years and is the French consular representative for the area so seems to know everyone.

I could make this an entire story but your TripAdvisor session will expire and you’ll have to log in again.

The rooms were wonderful, clean and fresh and beautifully decorated. Every morning we’d wonder down for freshly squeezed juice and, well whatever we’d asked for. The children asked for cereal and sadly they got it, we just wanted toast and jam and we got home-made jam, very good it was too. The coffee the best I’ve every had in India but remember the host (Marco) is French/Swiss, coffee comes naturally.

Marco organised a several trips for us, into Kochi, the beach almost every afternoon, which is actually close enough to walk to but the children liked the rickshaw races to get there, they were always the same drivers. The beach was about 10km (6 miles) of pure white sand, much of the time we were the only people on it. Marco is so well known that you can pick up a rickshaw some 20km away and just say “Marco’s” and they’ll take you there.

The best trip was to Munnar, a hill station and Southern Indian tea centre, stunning views a fascinating visit to the tea factory and as you’d expect, lots of tea plantations.

Marco’s team, a family who have lived with him for years were fantastic, they cooked lunch (when we were too lazy to move) and dinner every night, never the same thing twice.

We really felt like we were staying with a family and we felt like it was a family we’d known since childhood, that’s rare.

I think, in our late 40s having been travelled all over the world we might have found one of those places we’re going to have to go back to, worse though, I might have to tell my wife she was right!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

What a wonderful experience! A sophisticated, warm hearted, discrete but caring host; an amazing suite of rooms decorated with taste and love; Indian cuisine - quality products cook Indian style with a French twist - proper fusion as you would find in Paris or London (just better); an amazing team of staff - well trained but treated as equals and with a true warmth sparkling in their eyes when they help you. And all of this in one of the most precious locations this world has to offer - why bother with a houseboat if you can see the backwaters from within? Marco happily arranges a little canoe trip for you to a local market, you can have ayurvedic massages or just stroll around under palm trees. The perfect place to relax and remember what life is all about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Just the list of pleasures that you will enjoy there : a vast and comfortable accommodation in an authentic XIXth century house beautifully preserved, ayurvedic massages in your own private room, bicycle ride through the back waters to reach Cherai beach, yoga lessons, maybe a visit to Fort Cochin if you wish, great cooking by Tanga, humorous conversations with Marco, nice people who will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. I've been there three times. It's all included. The taxi will pick you at the airport. Don't worry. Be happy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

It is such a kind of place you can straight call it your home just by knocking on the door at 5am... it is like visiting family in India. You are so welcome and you are the only guest as they have just one room.
There is Marc known as Marco, the owner who knows before you even thought about it what you may need... so true, not joking! It is so great! You also have his Indian family, grandpa, father, mother and son, giving you their great warm Tamil hospitality. They will cook you the best Kerala food with good fresh products. Gambas were so great! Eating with hands on a banana leave as plate... funny experience.
The perfect place to spend honeymoon, having romantic moments or just relax but also to rebuild your vital energy as you get every day a profesional Ayurvedic massage of 1,5 hour. You can also call a private Yoga teacher.
A rickshaw can bring you to a nice small little sandy beach nicer than Cherai, to bath, walk alone along, watch sunset or sometime during monsoon surf little beach breaks as I did.. surfing empty small waves in such a peaceful area harmonized with nature and people.
Marc can teach you so many things about India, life and more but also can help you to plan your trip further.
It is such a livable place, so great furnished and decorate in old Kerala style, a home where you forget everything, the time and wish you'd never leave...
The ultimate experience, one of the best place I've ever staid, and I've visited many places during my short life!
A place which would stay for ever in your heart, offering you so much positive energy, and great karma.
You come back to real home full of great memories and with a big smile; but also mind and heart full of happiness.
Merci beaucoup, thanks you, terimakasih pa
Fab et Ira

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dame Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dame Rouge

Address: Kizhakke Veedu,Manapilly | Vypin Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 185 Specialty lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just the list of pleasures that you will enjoy there : a vast and comfortable accommodation in an authentic XIXth century house beautifully preserved, Ayurveda massages in your own private room, bicycle ride through the back waters to reach Cherai beach, yoga lessons, maybe a visit to Fort Cochin if you wish, great cooking by Tanga, humorous conversations with Marco, nice people who will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. I've been there three times. It's all included. The taxi will pick you at the airport. Don't worry. Be happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dame Rouge Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dame Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.