We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant

Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant
1/328, Tower Road, Fort Cochin | Old Harbour Hotel, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
0091 484 2218006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 537 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

!st class, best Dosas on this trip, evening meal great quality and value for money,attention to detail excellent,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    85
    31
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A wonderful idyllic place to eat with excellent food. The service, atmosphere and albeit indian wine selection were of a very high standard. We only wished we had stayed here, maybe next time. Traditional keralan cooking , we had grouper stuffed with prawns and cod with orange and cardamom, all superb. Definitely eat here if you visit fort cochi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tried to rip us off...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The meal was great, don't get me wrong. But when the bill cam the had added extra water to it on the second page.. After we corrected it, they took it of the bill, Only to bring us the incorrect amount of change.. When I questioned it again, the waiter went and got us the rest of Our change, without even Looking at how much He had given us. he obviously knew how much he short changed us...
Very dishonest. Would not return. Does not deserve rank 1# on trip advisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree123, Owner at Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Our apologies for the wrong billing on the additional bottle of water. Regarding the short change it is no fault of the waiters as it is the cashiers that return the change and the waiters hand out what is given to them and probably that is the reason the waiter did not look at how much was short. I do not feel that the staff genuinly tried to rip you off with the change. Yes, I do agree that there was a mistake made . We regret this incident and will ensure such does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An expensive night in Cochin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The setting and ambience is lovely. The menu has plenty of variety to suit most tastes. The King Prawn Masala was very nice but food was a long time coming and the order got messed up with a wrong soup and one dish had to be reordered. The sweets took for ever to arrive as did the glasses for the water. Wine, an Indian Zinfandel Rose was expensive and not very good. Final bill was INR6000 which is a lot for the area. We have just spent 3 weeks touring and have eaten extremely well with this being by far the most expensive meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yes more expensive than others but unique in Fort Kochi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great service. Great location. Great food. beautiful garden. and if you get the table by the swimming pool then an unique evening in Fort Kochi. So guess why I keep going back again and again ?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbour Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.