We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place where you can relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honolulu Home HomeStay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Honolulu Home HomeStay to your Saves list
Honolulu Home HomeStay
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   House No. 1/1596 | S. Thamaraparambu, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 299 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place where you can relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I really liked staying at the Honolulu Home Stay. This was my first homestay,so I was a bit suspicious about the whole thing. But the family was so nice that I felt very comfortable for the 3 days I have been here. They were also very helpful with organizing tickets and giving informations about my further travels. You can have breakfast and dinner here which you can enjoy on a green balcony. The rooms are very clean and comfortable,too. So,if you need a place to calm down from the travelling,this is where you'll want to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    34
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Honolulu Homestay, I liked to so much I stayed an extra 2 days. From the minute I arrived at gone midnight I was made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My room was immaculately clean, its has to be the cleanest place I have stayed so far on my 4 month trip of India and I'm 5 weeks in already. The whole place is really clean and every effort is made to keep out the mosquitoes, there are nets on all the windows and the doors. I would recommend this Honolulu Homestay to anyone visiting Fort Kochin. 110% from me. Simon from the UK

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We arrived after a long train ride from Trivandrum and were welcomed warmly by the owner. He immediately showed us to our spacious room with balcony. The location of the house is ideal, within walking distance of Jew town, the ferry, Dutch Palace, Princess street, Santa Cruz Basilica and many restaurants. It is also on a fairly quiet side street which is nice. The owner served us delicious breakfasts every morning (included in price-850 RS for non a/c room). He is very accommodating and helped us book an elephant/waterfall day trip, massages, yoga, a cultural show and anything else you desire. When we had a mosquito problem he was quick to solve the problem and is eager to please.

Room Tip: The "miami" room was excellent and has a large balcony, however it is facing the street. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been there for two nights on my one-month-india trip. For a very fair price I got a good, clean room with warm water.
The owner and his family have been very friendly and welcoming, recommending me further trips around Kotchi.
This homestay is one of the reasons why my favourite place in India after the whole trip is Kotchi - thank you for that and wish you good look and only the best for the starting main season 2011.

stefan, Austria

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived at Honolulu Homestay on the reccomendation of a rickshaw driver - which is, of course, usually a very unwise thing to do in India so we were cautious at first. However we were absolutely delighted with the room and the family were lovely.

We had a very clean, bright room with semi-private balcony at the front of the house (by which I mean our room opened onto a very large balcony shared with perhaps one other room). We didn't have aircon but it stayed nice and cool. It was the cleanest place we stayed in India (we backpacked there for a month) and in fact probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed in Asia. It was also a lot cheaper than other hotels in the area!

Our bathroom was good, and all the windows had good mosquito screens. There was a computer with fast internet available to use at a reasonable price.

The family were kind enough to let us store takeaway food we bought in their fridge, and gave us plates and cutlery to eat it with. There was a dining table in the communal area which would be a great area to use to socialise if you made friends with the other guests (sadly we were the only guests at the time).

My friend was very ill whilst we were staying here (due to a bug she picked up in Goa) and we thanked our lucky stars that we had such a lovely place to stay whilst we were spending so long in the room.

We had breakfast one morning, which they kindly served at 7am so we could eat before an excursion! We booked an excursion through the homestay which was competitively priced.

The family were always around to help, but really this is just a hotel. Do not be put off because you'd rather stay in a hotel than a family home! However, it was very nice that it is family run, as the family were always friendly, happy, knew what they were doing and relaxed.

I wish the family the best of luck in running the homestay! They made our stay in Fort Cochin very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in this great little home stay in October 2010. The rooms were all very clean, the water was hot, the loaction was fine and Aboo and his lovely family were extrememly hospitable. We intented on only staying a couple of nights but considering how comfortable we felt the thought of heading out into India again was certainly not as appealing as staying in Fort Cochi with Aboo and family. They were fabulous cooks and even held a cooking lesson for us. Staying there was defintely a highlight and certainly relaxing. We loved getting into the groove of Fort Cochi, walking down to the fish nets and buying our fresh fish, taking it to the local restaurant and having them cook it up. Good memories! Stay here, you wont be disappointed!

Matt and Tracy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This guest house is a little south of the touristy area which means it's very quiet, rooms are exceptionally clean and newly renovated, good value. There is a common sitting area with dining table inside as well as a sitting area on the roof. Aboo the owner is a lovely, very knowledgeable man and his wife is a great cook (one night I asked for whatever they were having for dinner and was not disappointed). Cheap, local eateries very close by (restaurants further north are very expensive); walking distance to the local theatre and tourist attractions.

Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honolulu Home HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honolulu Home HomeStay

Address: House No. 1/1596 | S. Thamaraparambu, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Honolulu Home HomeStay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honolulu Home run by traditional Indian family with a good Indian culture and located in the heart of Fort Kochi. We offer a safe stay for our guests with Hygenic bed rooms and baths. Our rooms are designed in the manner of kerala vasthu, so as you can feel the positive energy in our rooms with round the clock security, water and electricity backup.What makes Honolulu Homestay special and unique is the serene dignity it gains from the proximity of a happy home. It is an ideal long-stay retreat for writers and artists. It also makes for unforgettable holidaying in communion with a rustic world. The rooms at Honolulu are spacious, well appointed; spotlessly clean with marble flooring, air-conditioned and with en-suite bathrooms with western toilets. We offer a place to relax and dream with loving, care and delicious homely kerala food.Homestays are one of the most preferred options in Fort Kochi, and you can easily spot our home for an affordable and peaceful stay.We promise you a high quality and a homely feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Honolulu Home HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Home HomeStay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honolulu Home HomeStay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.