We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food with a great cooking lesson!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Linda

Casa Linda
Dispensary Rd | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin), India
91-484-2216888
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food with a great cooking lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We went to this restaurant at the very end of our 3 month travels in India and had the tastiest food of our trip! This is a small, simply decorated, family run restaurant. Aptly named Aroma and her husband are incredibly welcoming and take great pride and care in their food. After being blown away by their Keralan masala red snapper (wrapped in a banana leaf), coconut king prawns and coconut rice, we returned the next week to do their cooking lesson which was wonderful. Just Aroma, my husband and I! It was very cheap and we got to sit and enjoy what we had made afterwards. A brilliant experience! Thank you Casa Linda!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“incredible seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The coconut prawns is one of the best things I've ever eaten! Much nicer than the other touristy restaurants in fort cochi. Wish I'd had time to do the cooking course.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
1 review
“horrible food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We walked into casa linda for dinner at 10 pm and were expecting good food since people had been raving about it on tripadvisor. We were really disappointed with the quality of food . Service was quick though. We ordered dishes from both the local and continental cuisines. the chicken was poached with kerala masala smeared on top with some raw onions and the grilled chicken was full of salt...there were more french fries on the plate than chicken. Same with the seafood. everything was boiled and somehow put together on the plate. Have never had such pathetic food in my life ever. Whats worse is that you have to shell out a fortune for this. obscenely expensive for the food that they offer....might as well spend some more and walk into some plush restaurant like old harbour or kashi cafe.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - best lunch in Kochi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

Casa Linda might be situated far away from the touristy array of restaurants (although only 4 minutes walking from them), but the food is superb and the lonely plant recommendation is fully justified.
I went there in two different lunches, the first was the home special "coconut prawns" and the second was fish curry grilled in banana leafs.

it was just perfect. The price is rather high for a non-5-stars hotel but every dollar is worthwhile here.

At both noons I visited the place it was deserted and I felt a bit lonely there.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and cooking class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

After having a very yummy meal of coconut prawns and salad I decided to do a vegetarian cooking class here. It was well worth it! All the dishes were yummy and easy to do at home. They also offer a seafood based class. Very reasonable price and accommodating with times unlike other places I tried to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Linda also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Casa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Linda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.