We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow .......Amaing Place..............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bens Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bens Homestay
Save
You added Bens Homestay to your Saves list
Kuttikal House | Kothad P.O., Kochi (Cochin) 682027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 319 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Blundellsands, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow .......Amaing Place..............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and MY cousin were in Goa & decded to get a plane Kerala ..........we gogled places to stay ...& benshomestay came up. we arraned to stay 1 night then move on .ben picked us up at airport and took us to his amazing beautiul home ..it has adorable views...........the nxt day we went across to the island wth a friend of Bens were Ben has a prawn farm and seen how it is worked ect and we had the fresh prawn.for our dinner that evening.......we never moved on as Bens was to good to leave nothing was to much for him or his family ...we even watched them cooking our dinner and had a cookery lesson.(not that i can remember how to cook the meal now). to much champagne lol......Ben we wil see you later this Year thanK you soooooooooo much ...Lesley & Paul ...UK X

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks Lesley & Paul for your great reviews. I enjoyed a lot with your company. See you by year end!
Ben, Anju & Fly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Ben's with a group of 11 which was the largest group they have accomodated but it was a wonderful experience. Ben and his wife, Anju, went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and to meet our needs. They were both highly attentive, the food was delicious with variety , accomodation was very comfortable. I don't hesitate to recommend Ben's to anyone interested in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks Kim , for your high recommendation.
Ben,Anju & fly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ben picked us up from Alleppey is his comfortable car. From the moment we met him, we knew we would love staying with him.

Its a beautiful property in a small village - Ben, his wife Anju, kids and lovely staff all add a warmth to this clean, charming property.

We were included in a feast at his church, taken to a prawn farm, given his scooter to use, helped his neighbour with chinese fishing and treated like genuine friends. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food is amazing thanks to Anju and her team.

Ben is a gentleman who is community minded and obviously goes out of his way to make his village a beautiful place.

I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Chris for writing such an amazing review.
Will keep in touch.
Ben & fly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon Queensland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived very late at Ben's to find him waiting up to welcome us. Our upstairs room was large and clean and overlooked the Kochi backwaters. Anju and her staff cooked lovely meals and Ben arranged a boat trip for us as well as a tour of rice paddies and his aquaculture project. We learned a lot about the local community from him. A great spot for a break from the hectic Indian pace of life with a wonderful and welcoming family. Sorry we were unable to call in before we left Ben - next time :)

Room Tip: Although Ben's also has a detached villa, we found the large rooms in the main house more than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Vikki for writing such a wonderful review.
We will keep in contact & will c u later!
Ben & fly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ben and his family really know how to treat their guests.
My sister and I had a wonderful afternoon, overnight stay and a guided tour the next morning. We thank Ben and his family for making our visit so interesting and educational and we loved every minute. All meals were home made and very tasty and on arrival we were given sweetmeats and coconut milk. The freshly squeezed pineapple juice at breakfast was the best. The whole experience was wonderful and everyone we met welcomed us to their Village. The women and men in their traditional dress look so proud and I hope they don't lose their traditions. We are so lucky to have been able to spend time at Ben's and to meet all their friends and neighbours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for such a good review about my home-stay.
Ben & Fly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying with Benny for the first 3 nights in India was a wonderful experience, he and his family and friends made me feel very safe, welcome and helped me relax as soon as I arrived. Huge thanks to Ben and the lovely ladies who cooked our delicious food served in candlelight on the veranda. We were taken on a tour of the island and given fresh coconut milk, we were lucky and blessed to meet Jenson and his family who are generous and gentle souls. The accommodation is traditional and very comfortable, Ben is an excellent host and clearly a wonderful father, he looked after us like we were his family. This is no praise higher than this that I can offer!

Room Tip: Both a private bungalow or rooms inside Ben's house are available, Ben is very good at being the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Molly,
Thanks for your beautiful description about safety of our island & praising Mr.Jenson , Fortkochi for showing carnival on Jan. 1st .
Ben,Anju,Chris,Cyrus & Baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Bennys place and we couldn't fault it. Not only is it an idyllic location right by the waters edge it is spotlessly clean with lovely kind people and wonderful homemade food!
Nothing is too much trouble and Benny and his family are lovely kind welcoming people who make you feel very safe!
I can't recommend this place enough, you would not be disappointed!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jacqueline,
Thanks for your excellent review writing about our home-stay.
Ben,Anju,Chris,Cyrus & Baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bens Homestay

Address: Kuttikal House | Kothad P.O., Kochi (Cochin) 682027, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bens Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bens Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.