We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to start your holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bens Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bens Homestay
Save
You added Bens Homestay to your Saves list
Kuttikal House | Kothad P.O., Kochi (Cochin) 682027, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to start your holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Myself & two friends booked to go stay with Benny & his family after reading the reviews from others that had stayed here & it was the best decision we made - India is so hot, busy & crazy but Benny's home stay is a little place of tranquility. He picked us up from the airport & stopped for coconut drinks on the way then we enjoyed lunch on the veranda with an amazing view of the backwaters & the Chinese Fishing nets. We went out to go see his prawn farm & we were a novelty for the local school children! Spent some time kayaking out of the water which is the best way to take in the amazing scenery & we got to see the locals fishing & helped haul in a catch from Benny's neighbours Chinese fishing net after the sun went down! Benny & his lovely wife (who is expecting their third child, the first two are football mad & the most well behaved kids ever) made us feel amazingly welcome, made everything so very simple & gave us a true India home stay experience.

Room Tip: We had booked the room in the main house but Benny put us in the bungalow at no extra charge which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hi Laura ,
Thanks a lot for writing such a wonderful review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed the kayaking in our back water & other activities in our island.
Ben , Anju , Chris& Cyrus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Benny met us at the airport with his two sons who presented us with garlands. He drove us back and gave us a tour of his small beautiful island. He then showed us our accomodation which was perfect. A beautiful cottage with a balcony overlooking the water. The meals, which were the best we had in Kerala, were served to us on the balcony.
Benny couldnt do enough for us and showed us around Cochin and Enakulam, taking us to a sari shop where he helped my daughter buy a beautiful sari. He even got his cousin to make some alterations at very short notice.
We really loved the island and the people were very friendly. Benny took us to the community hall where we had lunch with some of the poorer members of the island who meet there twice a week. It was great to get involved.
Enjoyed being shown around Bens prawn farm by his young sons Chris and Cyrus and drinking milk straight from the coconuts picked from the tree.
Anju was lovely and expecting her third child soon but had passed her cooking knowledge to her staff an the food was superb.
I hope to go back again some time

Room Tip: The cottage next to Benny's house is a peaceful relaxing place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks Sian.Budd for writing such a wonderful review about my home stay & explanation about the things you enjoyed here.
Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Bens home stay is a best place to live in on a trip to kerala with two wonderful people Mr benny & Anju with their two kids,we had best kerala delicacy served by Mrs anju with lots of love & care,Benny was with us for 3 days cruising in his red skoda in the scenic beauty of cochin,& arranging a night stay in boat house in back waters of Alleppey.& making our stay a memorable one
thank you very much Benny & Anju for your LOVE & CARE

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your beautiful review.
Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had a wonderful experience while staying at Ben's Home stay last month (May) 26th and 27th.
The ambiance at this home stay was really commendable. Food was fantastic. we will love to come back again at Ben's Home stay next year.

Going for fishing at night was a wonderful experience. Pulling the ropes of Chinese fishing net is unforgettable.
we are thankful to Mr. Benny and family for the hospitality given during our stay there.

Room Tip: Bens home stay has a big room, select that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Owner at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks Naiju for your wonderful review.
Ben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCT
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Bens home stay was absolutely the highlight of our journey around Kerala. Set in stunning island, with lots of coconut trees, you could not ask for a more authentic, beautiful place to experience this state. We really enjoyed the tour to prawn farm organized by Benny. We can recommend this lovely, calm place within coconut trees located with direct access to the backwaters to those people who are looking for a quit place without overcrowded tourism and want to feel Indian family hospitality...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Manager at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review & good photos.
Ben & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Ben's Homestay, with really caring host and hostess, Ben and Anju. The food was authentic and so delicious. Benny couldn't do enough to help us. The view from the verandah outside the cottage is hypnotic, so peaceful. We walked round the village meeting the lovely, friendly locals, and took the ferry across to the island - a 2 rupee ride into another world. We loved it so much we came back at the end of our tour. It was the highlight of three weeks in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Manager at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you very much for this excellent review.
Ben & Anju !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

After a whirlwind tour of the Golden Triangle we were in need of a peaceful oasis to start our Keralan tour, we found that and so much more at Ben's Homestay.
Met at the airport by Ben and greeted on arrival at our cottage by his beautiful wife Anju. Immediately we knew this was going to be a highlight of our trip. The cottage is in the grounds of Benny & Anjus home, the traditional (and huge) open roof bathroom with a fabulous rainshower, the large bedroom and dressing room, verandah, garden, hammocks right on the waters edge had everything you need and more.
Immediately you feel the calm and peacefulness of the backwaters, with the chinese fishing nets directly in front of you and hammocks to enjoy the view, so much so we added an extra night to our stay and cancelled our idea of an overnight houseboat, you couldn't really get much closer to the water anyway!
Benny checked all our plans before we arrived, gave us ideas but ultimately just made it possible for us to do as little or as much as we wanted and drove us everywhere himself.
An evening in Cochi, a day at Cherai Beach (do not be put off by reviews of this beach, Benny takes you to a very quiet area arranges beds, drinks and lunch in the home of the guy who hires the beds for a great price) and a guided walk around the island and the prawn farms.
We walked around the village ourselves and the locals were so warm and welcoming. This is the only homestay on this island and they love to stop say hello, truly beautiful people...
THE FOOD...the best we had during our entire Indian tour, Anju is not only the sweetest lady ever she is an amazing self taught cook and every meal was mouthwateringly good. The breakfasts were feasts, the sweet roast bananas and perfectly cooked rice noodles my favourite, but the crab on our last night was absolutely the best crab I have ever eaten.
The marinaded prawns were also a big hit and we came away with Anjus recipe.
We were travelling to Varkala from here and had not booked trains, Benny tried to get a car for us but this wasn't possible so he drove us there himself.
Nothing was too much for Benny or Anju they sensed what you needed and quietly made it happen.
We fished the chinese fishing nets at night - not a great catch but great fun!...
I could go on and on but if you are going to Cochin this is the perfect place to stay for a true backwater experience and complete relaxation with perfect hosts.
And a great ayurvedic massage in the massage room in the grounds, masseurs come to you at whatever time suits...
Only thing to note is the island is not connected directly to Cochin you do need to be taken to the ferry or driven, this is not a problem at all and costs are fair but you do need to factor them into your budget.
I really hope it won't be too long before I can visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny X, Manager at Bens Homestay, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you Sarah for writing such a wonderful review.
Ben & Anju !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bens Homestay

Address: Kuttikal House | Kothad P.O., Kochi (Cochin) 682027, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bens Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bens Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.