We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for the sights of Fort Cochin, but not so good if you like a beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tissa's Inn to your Saves list
Tissa's Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well placed for the sights of Fort Cochin, but not so good if you like a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel is just outside the historic Fort Cochin area, but is very well placed for walking to the sights, for example you can walk to the Chinese fishing nets in 10/15 minutes. We had a lovely room, which was possibly the cleanest we had in India, it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was modern, and the plumbing worked well, not something that you find in every Indian hotel. Our room faced the road, which was noisy during the day, but reasonably quiet at night.

The hotel has a small restaurant, and a nice roof top swimming pool. The restaurant has a rather modest menu, but all the food is freshly cooked, and of very good quality.

The hotel has a very small garden, and does not have any comfortable lounge, so there is nowhere to relax and cool off (with a cold drink) after a days sightseeing. The hotel has a strictly enforced no alcohol policy, so unless you want warm beer in the seclusion of your room, you need to go elsewhere for a drink (plenty of choice in Fort Cochin). This is a shame, as for me, it took the edge off what is otherwise a very fine hotel.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Free Internet access and mineral water are available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
116
236
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have tried various hotels in Cochin in 2010 and have decided to become loyal to the Tissa's Inn mostly due to the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, and the quality of the homestyle food. In addition the hotel is well located and offers an excellent ratio quality/price. My december 2010 stay was the third one and definitely not the last. Francis, the General Manager, is a hospitality industry professional who is very present on the operations and make sure that the stay of his guests are as comfortable as possible.

Two points to improve:
- Wifi is available (for free) throughout the hotel but for some reason the signal does not go through the walls of some rooms - - - It is ok to go in the corridor to check emails or make Skype call but I would have preferred as usual the intimacy of my room to do so
- Staff is extremely kind and attentive - However the presence of the staff sometimes too long by the table at lunch/diner can be a little disturbing (it is ok to let the guest serve his food from the dishes when he requests so). I put this as the point to improve when most of the hotels around the world should have their staff more present and attentive to the guest!

Francis: You are doing a great job and you have an A-team!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed at Tissa's Inn for three nights in early Dec 10 after being recommended by other hotels in Fort Cochin who were already full. The general manager KP Francis welcomed us personally as we arrived & the scene was set for one of our best stays in India. The hotel itself is of fantastic quality for the area - super clean and with lots of character - they have some amazing antiques and a great pool on the roof. However the real star of Tissa's Inn is Mr Francis and the other fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble for them & they ensured we had everything we needed for a perfect stay (taxis, late breakfast, internet etc). I would highly recommend on all levels - can't believe it's not in Lonely Planet/Rough Guide yet either - a very well kept secret that will help make your trip to India extra special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is a beautiful, well-maintained hotel with large, pretty, very clean and comfortable rooms. Great bed and bathroom facilities. Service was fantastic and very personal, with help provided to arrange all our sight-seeing activities. Restaurant served good food: an Indian dish along with a Western breakfast. It is conveniently located in an area that is tourist-friendly without being too touristy. Be sure to check out the small museum and antique stores. You will be very comfortable and well-cared for here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

we were staing at tissans inn for few days.
francis is all i wish to talk about.
from the first time we met we could immidiatly feel like he is part of our family.
he is so lovable and welcoming and this is what the hotel is all about.
special man that managing averything so kindly.
hotel rooms are nice and comfortable. very clean and we could even enjoy the little sweeming pool they have on roof.
wish francis and his staff a very good and healthy year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I wasn't actually staying at Tissa's Inn, but I went to the Jackfruit Tree Restaurant inside the hotel several times. The food was delicious, reasonably priced, and the service was friendly. The hotel manager, Francis, was so friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. He spoke fluent English as well. I did get to see parts of the hotel and the rooms and facilities were really nice. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We had two wonderful days/nights in Fort Cochin and our stay in Tissa's Inn was really great. Staff was always extremely friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and comfortable, including a very well equipped bathroom.
The first night we arrived in the middle of the night, but staff was very friendly and we had a very warm welcome. The next morning we were to late for breakfast, but without any discussions they served us fresh fruit, juice, toast, and tea.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tissa's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.