We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable,Clean and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tissa's Inn to your Saves list
Tissa's Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 170 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable,Clean and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our first hotel in Southern India and we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a larger front room ( on the first floor)that was very light ,spacious and meticulously clean with all the bathroom luxuries replenished daily.We enjoyed the pool upstairs .My only criticism and it is a very small one is that the rooms don't have their own balconies to sit out on.The rooftop pool with recliners is the outdoor area.

The staff were lovely especially Senitha ,Melvyn and Christine and we thankyou
all for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We could choose our room,since it was very quiet on our arrival only .We chose the front room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
116
236
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a fantastic time here with my girlfriend, and would recommend it to anyone.

The room was beautifully designed and furnished; the rooftop pool and terrace was fantastic; the service was first-class; the food was excellent; and the value was probably the best of any hotel I've been to.

We took one of the smaller rooms, which was nonetheless plenty big enough for two, and with a spacious bathroom. All the extras were there, from bathrobes to a welcome drink - and these were welcome after a few weeks backpacking! The bed was large and comfy, the room pristine and the shower powerful and hot.

We made use of the pool, which was a refreshingly peaceful oasis from the chaos of Indian towns and had a great breakfast the next morning. But best of all were the staff, who allowed us to leave a couple of bags there while we went on a motorbike trip - and even invited us in to get cleaned up when we came back a few days later, soaking wet and filthy from the road!

This was definitely the most enjoyable stay of our 7 weeks in India - thanks, everyone at Tissa's :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staying at Tissas turned out to be a very wonderful experience, one of the best deals during our 4 weeks Indian journey. The place is just like heaven. Located centrally but not too noisy, the hotel interior is decorated with many antique statues. Rooms are very tidy, service staff is very speedy, always smiling and very helpful. The food we tasted at the restautant was very yummy (great chicken - tomatoes sandwiches). The roof top pool is small but great for kids.
The only thing I wish to improve at Tissas is the WiFI speed. It is very slow and only works in the lobby. I advice to make faster Internet available inside the rooms.
When we come back to Cochin we will stay at Tissas Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creil, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

i stayed six nigths in tissa inn from the 15september untill the 21 september 2013 ,for the onam festival,it was a very nice place all was clean: the room ,the bed ,the swimming pool,the staff was great because i arrived earlier in the mornig around 5 am,the reception gave me soap ,towel for taking a bath before having the room,they make me a breakfast,it was very good,they send me a driver at the aiport of kochi for pick up,every day,the breakfast was included in the room price,,the staff is very smart and the mananger of the hotel too,i am sure i will come back to this hotel because it is a very quite place,you can find all what you need around the hotel,thank you very much .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived here a little jet lagged after a long flight at the start of our holiday and found this the perfect place to relax and introduce to the wonders of India. The staff are very attentive but not over bearing and gave us a free room upgrade on arrival. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished and the rooftop pool, although small is a great little bonus. The restaurant is very good with a decent but not overwhelming selection of Indian fare in an understated environment. My only negative (and it is such a minuscule one) would be that the fort kochi map they handed out at reception was completely useless - roads where there shouldn't have been roads and others missing where they should be - and resulted in us getting a little lost on our first day. In short, keep up the good work Tissa's!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a lovely stay overall at Tissa's Inn. The staff were friendly and a nice touch was that several different staff members would stop in and see how i was was each day, and added personal touches and comments. My room was very nice on first impression. On closer inspection there were a couple of dodgy areas (e.g. patches of damp, back of bathroom door was pretty dirty). Mosquito-free though, which was great. Good location near to Basilica and Fishing Nets and Kathakali performance. Food was good, though a bit too Western for my liking. Was slightly annoyed when at front desk i heard them quote someone a cheaper rate for a room that i had paid...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased from our stay at the Tissa s Inn. It s a very nice hotel, peaceful, in a perfect location, the room is a good size, and is well decorated. But most of all the staff was very nice and friendly, they were always available and made us feel confortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tissa's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.