We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful gem of a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tissa's Inn to your Saves list
Tissa's Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
LONDON
1 review
“A peaceful gem of a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Tissa Inn for the first two nights of our trip to Kerela. After arriving at 5am exhausted, we were immediately accomodated into a wonderful, large, clean and cool room. The hotel offers a wonderful peacful, relaxing and cool environment amidst the heat and bustle of Fort Cochin. The swimming pool on the roof was a great bonus, nothing better than spending the early evenings and mornings relaxing here!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Fort Cochin, great value, very convienient and the staff were very helpful! Nothing was too much trouble! Thank you Tissa Inn, you were a great find and we will recommend you to all our friends...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    89
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
116
237
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This elegant hotel makes your dreams come true.
With all its amenities you feel like being in an other world.
We've pased the last days of our trip to South India at Tissa's Inn and together with the arresting ambiance of Fort Cochin it was one of our highlights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Tissa's Inn is a gem in the heart of Old Cochin. Immaulate rooms, fantastic staff and exceptional food combine to make Tissa's a first rate, pleasurable experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I must agree with the other reviewers that all the staff at Tissa's Inn was very friendly and helpful. The service was on a par with 5-star luxury hotels: Our room was comfortable and clean; The Indian breakfast was delicious; We took the hotel car from the airport. On the way, the driver told us many interesting facts about the city, and slowed down when we're nearby beautiful sights; We were flying out on an evening flight, and the manager Francis allowed us to use the room until the evening (as opposed to the standard checkout time at noon).

The hotel is conveniently located. It's less than 10 minutes' walk from the Chinese fishing nets. We felt safe walking from the shore area back to the hotel at night. The hotel's elegant, traditional-style furniture and decoration made the experience even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

From the time we arrived to the time we departed, the personal attention we received was excellent and went beyond the call of duty. We felt at home within an hour of our arrival.
The establishment was very clean and any special request we made was immediately attended to. We arrived late one night from being out and felt like having tea. Restaurants in the area were closed, the front desk staff opened the kitchen and made us tea. What more can I say.
Thanks very much to the GM, Francis who was always around and always with a smile. Talking about smiles, Sanita (hope my spelling is correct?) was wonderful and has a smile that will brighten any day.
Looking forward to a revisit in the near future. Allan, Jordan and Tina. Toronto, Canada.

Room Tip: Small and Cozy Inn...all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Being here my second time on an extended stay has been such a pleasant experience. I have received all time kindness and courtesy from the staff.

Francis, Cristina, Sanihta and the rest of the staff made me feel so much at home.
They ensure service is excellent in this hotel, stylishly decorated by the owner, a wonderful leading antique dealer. Highly individual pieces of functional and decorative furniture give a sense of being invited into someone's home.

The level of cleanliness in this hotel is first class.It is an excellent hotel, with great facilities. A quiet, tastefully decorated hotel within easy walking of the main attractions of Fort Cochin, amazing breakfast, tasty food in the restaurant, great staff, spectacular rooms…One of the best hotels I have been to.

I had an enjoyable stay and the staff know I´m missing them.  I love the hotel and the staff.
If any traveler is thinking about Cochin, don't hesitate to stay here, is the best choice. I will be staying at this hotel ever time I am in Cochin.

Highly recommended. Keep up the great work!

Thank you Johny, Francis, Cris, Sanitha and the rest of the staff for your hospitality, would recommend always anyone for an extended stay in your establishment.

Looking forward to seeing you all of you very soon!

Warm Regards,

Olga from Barcelona

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The staff was sooo nice here. We were very impressed on how clean and nice the hotel and rooms are. I would say it was the cleanest place in all of India. The breakfast was excellent for both Indian and western dishes. I would definitely stay here again! The pool on the roof was just the icing on the cake!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tissa's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.