We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort to your Saves list
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

i have stayed a few times in bolgatty and in various rooms.Place is must visit one located on the port area.Nice park around , good to walk around with your sweetheart and good pool and restaurant.

The only problem i faced is no Wi Fi in room, no paper , and TV all are old fashioned.They are not upgrading.

Room Tip: dont take cottages...the rest all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on trip adviser. We are happy that you liked the serenity of this Island and our pool and the green lawns It was indeed our pleasure to have you here us our guest and knowing that you enjoyed your stay here adds to our joy.

We are extremly sorry for the non availability of Wi Fi in rooms. We are happy to inform you that in our new building, Marina House we have arranged the Wi Fi facility. We have been offering newspapers on request in rooms and I am sorry that we were unable to provide the same during your visit. We appreciate your positive remark on upgrading to new televisions. Marina house is already installed with brand new TVs and replacement of the older ones in other rooms is under process. I expect that in your next visit you will find the rooms more interesting with new televisions.


Look forward to see you here again soon.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
29
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went and stayed there as a part of our alumni get together. It was a nice experience to be in wondeful 'space' so charming and so entwined with nature.
The rooms are planned in a peculiar way based on the culture and tradition of the land.

Room Tip: One of the wonderful places in "Gods own country"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the positive comments. The hotel and its team is eager to take personal care of each of your requirements. happy that our efforts are paying off.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights during our Honey Moon at Bolgatty Island Resort, Kochin. We received a warm welcome, nice Honey Moon suite and great service. The location of the resort is superb, surrounded by Vembanad Lake and the other side of main Kochin city. You will get a city view from the outside garden and port view from the inside garden. The Picturesque beauty of the Island, the Heritage style and Modern amenities gave us an awesome experience of life. The Bar and Restaurant both were very good. The food quality was excellent. We choose buffet and can’t forget the variety of foods in breakfast and dinner. The swimming pool was amazing, it will be better to spent day time in resort by using it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite at Ground Floor, it has a nice balcony. It was very quiet but you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a great Stay..!!
We experienced great Service for Sure..!!
The swimming pool is amazing..!!
The locales I dont need to tell are exotic..!!
Only thing that if you are being promised candle-lit dinner then do not opt for it, as there are too many mosquitos in the night to let you sit outside the restaurant and eat on a table..You have to sit inside the AC restaurant..

Room Tip: All rooms are nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

this is a palace made by dutch and you can see lot of dutch style there.lovely see both sides.food is good but less options for Vegetarians.rooms are very spacious.
Lot of greenery and morning you see people playing golf.good experience

Room Tip: all are good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleppey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here two nights for business purpose - but it change to relax in luxury in god's beauty.
Pool - surrounding - marina - backwaters - unpolluted-away from city by easily access to Marine drive-it is really a paradise in queen of Arabian Ocean

Room Tip: Rooms that facing marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Unkept, the grass and plants are growing wild. The rooms are spacious but once again dimly lit and badly maintained, the bathrooms are dirty. the walls have all kinds of insects stuck which have not been cleaned for a long long time. A typical govt. property without anyone taking ownership. The food is best avoided.

Room Tip: Please dont take the cottage , they look desolate and terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther Facilities in the property includes including Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, airport pick and drop, live Kathakali performance, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.