We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Kochi !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastian HomeStay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bastian HomeStay to your Saves list
Bastian HomeStay
House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 320 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Kochi !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are two french travellers and we spent 4 days in Bastian Homestay : very clean, good prices, delicious breakfast and especially the family who runs the Homestay is really nice and helpful ! They will make everything for you to enjoy your stay there. Thanks a lot to them.
We will come back !
Louis & Marine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    63
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
94
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Clean rooms, pleasant stay. But I really wish the hostess would change into something of a traditional attire rather than a 'solied nightie'! Saying that, my husband got to taste a little of their home cooked fish curry which was nice. By the way the idlis were cold and the toast a bit soggy..:(
Good location, no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Bastian Homestay in April for 4 nights with Gini and her family. She was very prompt in her response to our email inquiries and set up airport pick-up with no issues. Initially we had booked a non-AC room, and when we found the heat and humidity in Kochi to be opressive, she was able to transfer us to a AC room when it became available. The rooms were immaculately cleaned and comfortable. A huge breakfast (eggs, toast, tea, fruit) was provided each day for slight additional charge. I cannot say enough good things about our experience, and the hospitality offered by Gini. Additionally she was extremely helpful regarding where to eat around town, and providing other helpful hints to see Kochi. Would gladly stay again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get an AC room - Kochi is oppressively hot and humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Bastian home stay during the month of April2013, we stayed for three nights. We had a really great stay. The room was as expected, neat and clean. Bastian and is wife were excellent hosts, we really enjoyed their company and they assisted us with some shopping advise, we managed to save quite a bit by listening to them. It was interesting for me being an Indian from South Africa to see the similarities between how Indians live in Cochin and us in SA, it is quite similar, remarkably so. If we didn't didn't stay here I wouldn't had the opportunity to see this side of the people. The home is well situated and the popular restaurants and sites can be easily accessed from there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner found the Bastion Homestay online a few months before we were due to fly to India to take part in the Rickshaw Run. She emailed Ginnie and we received a swift email confirmatory response. Further to this Ginnie arranged our collection from the airport (which was seamless) with our driver waiting for us and we were quickly winging our way towards the hotel. We were greated by both Ginnie and George with cold bottles of water and were shown to our room (the one at the front with the balcony). A great room, fantastic breakfasts of ommoletes, toast and fresh fruit, tea and coffee and a good strong wifi signal, what more could you want! We stayed for four nights and on the morning when we checked out to travel from Cochin to Shillong (in a tuk-tuk) the family were there to say farewell and we were presented with flowers and a toy tuk-tuk to accompany us! This was totally unexpected and very touching but it is what you can expect from this great couple!

We would definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location, clean enough, pretty helpful. They seem a little tired, honestly. Like the Indian breakfast is two small dosas (v v small) plain. That's it. Or like one room has a tv, the other wasn't working; same w a/c, no yoga, despite signs that say otherwise, no dinner.
At this price point it's really hard to be picky, especially because it is so central, but I think they've just lost enthusiasm, maybe?
Btw, breakfast is extra, so factor that into your cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Basic, but comfortable (and, quiet), accommodation within a short walk to local sights, shops and restaurants. The hosts are very communicative and helpful in making bookings, as well as setting up transport and what-not. Fast internet too!

Room Tip: Specify A/C or non-A/C (fan only) when you book. The A/C room I stayed in is accessible through a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastian HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastian HomeStay

Address: House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastian Home stay at Fort Cochin is a traditional building offering 4 rooms with all modern facilities. It is set amidst a quiet and calm place turned away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. The motto of Bastian home stay is service with a smile. We offer our guests a cozy homely atmosphere. We give top priority to neatness and hygiene. Bastian Home stay assures each one of our guests the best great holiday comforts in the region without puncturing their wallet. The visitors during their stay here are not just the guests of pleasant stays but a part of our Bastian Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Bastian HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastian HomeStay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastian HomeStay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.