We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastian HomeStay

Save Saved
You added Bastian HomeStay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bastian HomeStay
House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
INR 1000-1500/night
Ranked #22 of 287 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Orgeval, France
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Staying at Bastian Home stay was absolutely wonderful! The owners have been so helpful and welcoming. Gini is such a nice lady and her smile will make your stay unforgettable! Always ready to help and make you feel at home. Perfect to get to know the culture and people.
Don't hesitate! and enjoy! I was with a friend and my 8 year old son who enjoyed playing with her daughter...Feeiling at home so far away from "home" is priceless!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    44
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
60
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Bastian for just over a week and were very happy there.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfasts were amazing especially the fresh cooked south Indian specialties.
Gini and George are great hosts and very helpful, Gini even cooked up the prawns and fish we bought at the fish market.
Location down a quiet alley feels like actually living in Cochin.
A great stay, thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The rooms here look very new and are spotlessly clean. The location of the property is very central and everything in Fort Cochin is within walking distance. We would highly recommend the breakfast made by Gini for only Rs 75 each a day. We only tried the continental but it was delicious - 4 pieces of toast, 2 boiled eggs (fried on request), jam, butter, a huge plate of fresh pineapple and a plate of either oranges or bananas - this was per person! Thank you Gini and George for a lovely time!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Clean, neat place with amazing family. Gini helps with anything you need, cooks a mean breakfast. This is the cleanest, best value for money so far for 6 weeks in India. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

If you are looking to meet people (backpacking) and staying at a wonderful house in Fort Cochin this is the place. There are 3 rooms upstairs and one downstairs for the family. The flooring is granite or marble and bedsheets are sparkling clean for India. The homestay family is very kind and knows how to make sure their guests are at top priority. Cleanest homestay we have ever been to. Washroom is included and they even have beer sold to you from their home. They also charge breakfast on the side which is home made. The homestay gaurdians are very nice and help you plan your trip to Munnar or sightseeing. Wonderful experience and it even has Air Conditioning! The area you are in is beautiful and very close to everything. Will definitely give it 10/10 Homestay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We arrived here at 6am, exhausted after an overnight bus journey from Mysore to Kochi. We were welcomed in with open arms and shown straight to our lovely, clean room. This guesthouse is run by a wonderful family who will organise the almost obligatory backwater cruise for you and breakfast in the mornings upon request. If you're missing home this really is a comfortable space you can relax in for a few days, with a communal eating area located outside the 4 rooms and a rooftop. We loved this place, a great little find that isn't in Lonely Planet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

During my visit throughout India, I stayed in Bastain HomeStay for 3 days in Ft Kochi, Kerela. My flight got in late that night but I had arranged for a car via the homestay ahead of time. It was the best decision as opposed to taking a cab. The trip was about an hour but the place is situated deep inside so it would have been impossible to find without someone who is familiar with the area. Once I got to the place, the owner was still awake and waiting for me. She suggested that I get food on the road which I was very grateful for because everything closes early in Kochi. My room was very clean with the basic amenities. The bathroom was also clean. I was there to relax and unwind after a hectic visit in Mumbai and I was very happy to have these accommodations. One can sit outside in a lobby like area which is has a sunroof and either mingle with other guests, eat, smoke, etc. The family was wonderful. A special mention of the little girl who was pure entertainment. Keep in mind that Kerela gets super hot even in the end of Feb so always a good idea to spend a few extra bucks and get the air con room. I did not do so and slightly suffered. I walked around the neighboring areas quite a bit and didn't have any difficulties getting around once I was familiar with the streets. The wi-fi is available if you ask the owners. Overall, highly recommend this place to anyone who is traveling on a budget and looking to check out the very many sights of historical significance in the Kochi area.

Room Tip: Speak with the wife who will take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bastian HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastian HomeStay

Address: House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastian Home stay at Fort Cochin is a traditional building offering 4 rooms with all modern facilities. It is set amidst a quiet and calm place turned away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. The motto of Bastian home stay is service with a smile. We offer our guests a cozy homely atmosphere. We give top priority to neatness and hygiene. Bastian Home stay assures each one of our guests the best great holiday comforts in the region without puncturing their wallet. The visitors during their stay here are not just the guests of pleasant stays but a part of our Bastian Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bastian HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastian HomeStay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastian HomeStay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.