We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's - Tower House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Neemrana's - Tower House to your Saves list
Neemrana's - Tower House
1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Really helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The manager Mustaq spent 2 hours helping us with suggestions and bookings for a trip around Kerala - including homestays and a driver. He was extremely patient and positive.

Our room was one of the cheaper ones - and was still really comfortable and clean. Beautiful old world feel in the hotel. The garden and pool were big, cool and comfortable - out of the heat.

A great idea to preserve historic sites for others to enjoy.

Room Tip: You don't need the most expensive rooms to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your compliments about the warm and helpful hospitality have been conveyed to the Manager.
We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities and services at the property.

We hope that as you continue to discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

In my entire stay in Kerala, this is the only other hotel that was openly honest with us and upfront about their prices. Because of our last minute booking, they informed us during our reservation that we had to change rooms to a more costly room.

Breakfast is generous and tasty. Mosquitoes are plentiful which is the norm in Cochin and I wish they had provided mosquito nets. Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable although needs a bit updating.

Staff are friendly although they may not be ale to provide useful tourist tips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind words about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your compliments have been conveyed to the reservations team.

We have already added mosquito nets in all the rooms and the team has been applying various measures to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible.

We have noted your observations and shall try our best to incorporate them at the earliest. We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Virtually on the harbour at historic Fort Cochin and thus very close to some of the iconic Chinese fishing nets, this colonial style, small hotel has lots going for it. Staff were consistently very helpful, the dining room, although basic in appearance (other upstairs public rooms had far more charm), served good food, and our room was spacious, with a good sized bathroom attached. The location did mean, however, that for our room which was right on the street there was lots of both night and early morning noise, affecting our sleep somewhat. We experienced two regrettable maintenance/construction issues: the shower/bathroom sloping the wrong way so that shower water runs steadily out of the shower across the bathroom floor, and for one of two days the air conditioning failed. Staff worked hard to remedy the problem but it was unpleasant in hot and humid weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your compliments about the hospitality and the service have been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the food to the Chef.

The temporary problem with the AC has been rectified and the maintenance team shall try its best to ensure that such incidents like these do not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience faced.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Tower house was a beautiful colonial style hotel located in the heart of dirt Cochin. The location was amazing near all of the major shops and restaurants. Staff were also very friendly an helpful with helping us book tickets to watch kathakali and to some of the nearby restaurants.

My only complaint is that my room was over run by mosquitoes, granted the rainy season has just finished and there were many in the area I did not expect to have over 30 of them in my room. I ended up killing most, but they were somehow getting in through a crack in the door or thru the window. Given the price we paid for our hotel room I did not expect to have this problem. In addition, the curtains were covered in dead mosquitoes which was disgusting. In addition, they were all over the dining area during breakfast.

In addition, my parents-in-law had a room upstairs- no mosquito problem, but their ac was not working which is an issue because this place is HOT in February. The staff apologized and gave us a small discount.

If you choose to stay here stay upstairs and not in the ground floor. Also, bring mosquito spray. I personally would not go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your compliments about the ambience and the hospitality have been conveyed to the team at The Tower House.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay. As the property is situated near the Chinese nets and is open on all sides because of the old architecture, it is not as easy to maintain as a modern building which is closed on all four sides. Unfortunately there is an increase in the insects due to humidity in the season, despite regular pest control. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused and the team has been trying various solutions to remedy the problem. The temporary problem with the AC has been rectified and the maintenance team shall try its best to ensure that such incidents like these do not recur in the future.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Imagine an old and charming mansion, with huge rooms and polished teak staircases, a palm fringed courtyard, vintage colonial furnitures and painting from bygone Raj days, with just that added touch of weathering and decay that gives the hotel the perfect aura, at least for travellers rather then tourists. Since the place was converted into an hotel only three years ago ( or so I was told by some regular french customers) it lacks a little in organisation, namely and particularly at breakfast, which is mostly layed out inside in a pretty stuffy and dark room. So if you want to have it in the garden you have to set the table yourself and carry all you need (place mat, cuttlery and plates) which takes a while. Furthermore sometime the breakfast is buffet-style, others is a la carte. You just don't know. Soetimes you ge pancakes other times not... in short is a bit erractic so my suggestion to the kind and helpful manager is... please try to improuve it. Thanks.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid front looking room, for noise sake. Our room was in the back and it was perfect, while o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your compliments about the ambience have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the restoration team.

We have noted your observations about the breakfast and shall definitely take the necessary steps to make this an enjoyable experience. It is our endeavour to improve our services and it is feedback such as yours which helps us do the same.

We thank you for your patronage to The Tower House and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This Lodge has a wonderful location and large rooms full of second hand furniture (nothing in my room was antique). However a hotel is more than a building its about service and this lodge provides no service at all. I asked for a early morning coffe and was refused, the only memeber of staff on duty told me a coffee was not possible, I had to go onto the street to get a coffee. As far as I could see the whole place ran on 2 members of staff. I totally agree with the revue by Aartimehta "PATHETIC" and for this lodge rooom I was charged 11,000 rupees. It was not worth 2,000 and after staying one night I checked out and refused to pay such a riduculous amount. There is so much choice in Cochin go elsewhere like I did.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that your stay at The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

Please be assured that the team at The Tower House has been pulled up and given the necessary support so that incidents like these do not recur in the future. This should never have been the case and we are very sorry for the trouble that you had to face.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is not home, it does not look like home, but I definitely felt at home during this "too short 2 day long" stay. My room, Macarhenas, was dark but fresh and simply decorated with blue - white - dark wood tones. The bathroom is very clean, the swimming pool was perfect for a fresh pause during Cochi's heavy afternoons!
And the Breakfast, which is a buffet, is not that big but you can be sure to eat fresh and tasty food.
I will definitely come back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Tower House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Mascarenhas room.

We are delighted to read about your experience. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's - Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Tower House

Address: 1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us.The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate, large tubs and windows that have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. It’s been restored to be compatible with present day needs while maintaining its structural integrity. It reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly.The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and it is adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism.Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's - Tower House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's - Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.