We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location right next to the Chinese fishing nets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's Tower House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neemrana's Tower House to your Saves list
Neemrana's Tower House
1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location right next to the Chinese fishing nets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Tower House is a lovely old heritage hotel with clean comfortable air conditioned rooms. It has a large swimming pool and very helpful staff. Our room was called Kumas I think, and was a good size with an excellent en suite shower with plenty of hot water. We had a look at some of the other rooms and they were enormous, all furnished with old furniture and lots of colonial type pictures such as King George V and Queen Mary. It is ideally placed to explore the Old Fort area of Kochi and although there was a restaurant in the hotel, we only had breakfast which was adequate. As far as I could see there was no bar, if you want a beer you will have to go to one of the other nearby hotels or bars. I like the hotel very much and I think it is good value for money.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Cunes room, as well as the swimming pool and the other facilities.

Your compliments about the warm service have been conveyed to the team at The Tower House.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    62
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at the polished Tower House are lovely and unobtrusive (like most Neemrana properties). This sister property of the much more expensive Le Colonial (worth a visit and tour while you're there), has different rooms for different tastes. Our Menezes room was cool and welcoming after the Fort Kochi heat, which starts as early as 11am in March. It opened onto the front of the house as well as the pool, which was great considering the much needed dips preceding our afternoon siesta. The pool is positioned under a lovely tree, is well-sized and charming, and never overcrowded. Enjoy a beer or two while you're there. The bathroom walls don;t extend all the way to the ceiling, so this room is only suitable for couples. We had a good many laughs because of the bathroom, which added to the charm of our room. This is a large room with an ante room for kids (is you're okay with the bathroom, that is) The breakfast is very missable. Walk over to the Tea Cafe or Kashi Art Cafe instead - both excellent choices for any meal or a good cup of tea or coffee. The Banofee Cream pie at Kashi is out of this world. I still dream about it. Fort Kochi is magical and the Tower House adds to the magic in its laid back way. Very well priced to boot.

Room Tip: The Neemrana website describes We enjoyed the Menezes for its unbeatable price, as well as comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your valuable review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Menezes room and were able to relax and rejuvenate around the swimming pool.

Your compliments about the warm and unobtrusive hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We are disappointed to read your feedback about the breakfast. Please feel free to send us your valuable suggestions at the email address mentioned below.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Tower House @ Kochi is the place to be if you want to get a slice of how maritime trade shaped the culture of a place. The Dutch, the Portuguese, the British all added their own hallmark styles. The Tower House sitting at Plot #1, in Fort Kochi offers the best views of the famous Chinese fishing nets. The indenture between John Evelyn Brunton and Peirce Leslie and company reminds us of the immense strategic location it once held. The shiny teak furniture, the lithographs form colonial times, dog-legged elegant staircases, the hand woven fort map on fabric, the door jambs, all create an aura of those days when ships laden with commercial goods docked in the waters of bay of Bengal. Not to miss the "avial" curry and the Tiger prawns; Smiling Dinakaran and Effective Mustaq, omnipresent to help.

Room Tip: Upper Floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

It is heartening to learn that you were well looked after by the team and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the historic property. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. Thank you for your continued patronage to The Tower House and the Neemrana brand.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed in The Tower House, Brunton Boatyard, Old Harbour Hotel and a backpackers hostel in Fort Kochi. So I can make a pretty good comparison of these popular hotels in Fort Kochi.

The Tower House is located right next to Old Harbour Hotel, but at a fraction of the price. They have more of less the same amenities - historic building, swimming pool, proximity to Chinese Fishing Net. When I stayed at Tower House, it was such a low season that only myself and another couple were staying in the hotel. So if you are not used to a quiet hotel in a historic setting you might want to consider other places.

The big plus point for Tower House is value for money. I paid approx. USD$50 per night during low season in July. This is a fraction of what other similar hotels are asking for. The service in Tower House can be a bit of a hit and miss, and you do have to be careful of mosquitoes here (I wonder why the rest of the hotels don't seem to have the same problem). But for the price that they are asking for, I would say this hotel exceeded my expectation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your observations have been noted and the hotel team shall be taking the necessary corrective action.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Tower House and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOIDA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

it was a wonderful experience staying at The Tower House. We occupied Breekopt on first floor. Although the description says that it faces chinese fishing nets, misleading you to believe that you can actually see it from your room, its not true. Though we were sort of looking forward to the view, still it did not make much difference to what i have t osay about the place. its clean, well maintained and has that old world charm that you wish to feel in a Neemrana property. rightly referred to as a non-hotel hotel, the place looks beautiful. the breakfast was however not so great. also, the dining hall isnt too interesting.

Room Tip: We loved the room we stayed in. So i would suggest Breekopt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

With reference to your feedback about the views from the Breekopt room, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As you have rightly mentioned, the Breekopt room has views of trees and the Chinese fishing nets in the distance. The same has been amended on our website. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your compliments about the cleanliness and maintenance have been conveyed to the team at The Tower House. We thank you for your patronage to The Tower House and Neemrana Hotels and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the security guard was waiting for us so our entry was seamless. The rooms were spacious and character oozed form the old home. Next morning we explored and were totally impressed by the place, the staff and the area. Loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and it was quiet enough with a view if we wanted to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building. Your compliments about the ambience and the hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for patronage to The Tower House and the Neemrana brand in India. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We learned about and planned a trip to Fort Kochi only because of Neemran presence. Having stayed in some other Neemrana Properties, the Tower House disappointed us a bit. The Restaurant served average food. Restaurant is understaffed with a dull uncared for ambience.Many other large passages seemed uncared for and neglected. Most of the otherwise lage and spacious areas are not kept well, with many discarded stuff strewn/stacked in many corners or under furniture.Many neighboring retaurants/hotels have a very lively, inviting ambience. Tower House disappointed us

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that your stay at The Tower House did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and then try to empower them to run their local heritage with pride. Your observations have been conveyed to the hotel team. We assure you that we will be taking the necessary measures to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope that you will not hold the above experience against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Address: 1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us.The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate, large tubs and windows that have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. It’s been restored to be compatible with present day needs while maintaining its structural integrity. It reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly.The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and it is adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism.Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.