We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's Tower House

Save Saved
You added Neemrana's Tower House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neemrana's Tower House
1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed in The Tower House, Brunton Boatyard, Old Harbour Hotel and a backpackers hostel in Fort Kochi. So I can make a pretty good comparison of these popular hotels in Fort Kochi.

The Tower House is located right next to Old Harbour Hotel, but at a fraction of the price. They have more of less the same amenities - historic building, swimming pool, proximity to Chinese Fishing Net. When I stayed at Tower House, it was such a low season that only myself and another couple were staying in the hotel. So if you are not used to a quiet hotel in a historic setting you might want to consider other places.

The big plus point for Tower House is value for money. I paid approx. USD$50 per night during low season in July. This is a fraction of what other similar hotels are asking for. The service in Tower House can be a bit of a hit and miss, and you do have to be careful of mosquitoes here (I wonder why the rest of the hotels don't seem to have the same problem). But for the price that they are asking for, I would say this hotel exceeded my expectation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your observations have been noted and the hotel team shall be taking the necessary corrective action.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Tower House and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NOIDA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

it was a wonderful experience staying at The Tower House. We occupied Breekopt on first floor. Although the description says that it faces chinese fishing nets, misleading you to believe that you can actually see it from your room, its not true. Though we were sort of looking forward to the view, still it did not make much difference to what i have t osay about the place. its clean, well maintained and has that old world charm that you wish to feel in a Neemrana property. rightly referred to as a non-hotel hotel, the place looks beautiful. the breakfast was however not so great. also, the dining hall isnt too interesting.

Room Tip: We loved the room we stayed in. So i would suggest Breekopt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

With reference to your feedback about the views from the Breekopt room, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As you have rightly mentioned, the Breekopt room has views of trees and the Chinese fishing nets in the distance. The same has been amended on our website. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your compliments about the cleanliness and maintenance have been conveyed to the team at The Tower House. We thank you for your patronage to The Tower House and Neemrana Hotels and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the security guard was waiting for us so our entry was seamless. The rooms were spacious and character oozed form the old home. Next morning we explored and were totally impressed by the place, the staff and the area. Loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and it was quiet enough with a view if we wanted to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building. Your compliments about the ambience and the hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for patronage to The Tower House and the Neemrana brand in India. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We learned about and planned a trip to Fort Kochi only because of Neemran presence. Having stayed in some other Neemrana Properties, the Tower House disappointed us a bit. The Restaurant served average food. Restaurant is understaffed with a dull uncared for ambience.Many other large passages seemed uncared for and neglected. Most of the otherwise lage and spacious areas are not kept well, with many discarded stuff strewn/stacked in many corners or under furniture.Many neighboring retaurants/hotels have a very lively, inviting ambience. Tower House disappointed us

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that your stay at The Tower House did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and then try to empower them to run their local heritage with pride. Your observations have been conveyed to the hotel team. We assure you that we will be taking the necessary measures to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope that you will not hold the above experience against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Excellent place, very nice house. It is well located and the service is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi. Your feedback is heart warming for the entire Neemrana family and it is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the team. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pretty as a picture. As beautiful and interesting as Fort Kochi itself is, staying at The Tower House provides the icing to the cake. The hotel welcomes you with its hint of ancient charm in its curved boundary walls and slanting, tiled roof. The algae growth on the white boundary wall, which otherwise makes me a uncomfortable, enchanted me here. It does feel like you’re walking into a property with a bold old-world charm.

The entrance is not particularly big or grand but as you take the flight of stairs that changes as the airy atrium and skylights welcome you. I have this thing for wooden floor and that just made me fall in love with TTH. The rooms are big and airy and again, I loved the wooden floor. Breekopt, the room I stayed in, was interesting with an array of windows on two sides, one overlooking the sea (well almost) and the other, the interesting roadside of Fort Kochi (hey! you can even see the lovely Chinese Fishing nets and the hawkers selling their catch from here).

The room was rectangular with a slanting ceiling towards one end gave it some character. The bathroom was good and done well (although I've seen some other places doing wonders in this much space but it was still very good). Everything was awesome till the time I stepped out of the room the next morning to be greeted by the fishy-smell of the sea breeze that made me rush back into the room (Ah! that's a problem with the people brought up in North India, we just aren't used to this smell) but then you get used to it in a while.

I loved walking around in the common rooms, sitting on the couches and appreciating the beauty of this 300 year old property that's been done-up so well by the Neemrana Group. I stayed there on an off-season discount in an awesome room and good breakfast, my stay was surely VFM (~Rs 2500 a night). The swimming pool is in some kind of a backyard but it’s good. Fort Kochi itself is such a lovely place to walk around (and there are so many stray cats here but they mind their own business) and explore all the eateries, cafes and shops.

If you're a budget traveler, you might have better options out there but The Tower House is definitely recommended for its history, sublime opulence and good location (and at a particular time of the year, it can cost as less as Rs. 2500/- a night. Check their website for tariff details). Only that I do not understand why it's called a "tower"-house when it's just a floor or two high(?!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi. It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, including the ambience, the breakfast and the swimming pool.

This is what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding if someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

You would be interested to know that The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock !

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. Once again, on behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your kind words and continued patronage.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely old heritage building. Our suite room was absolutely huge with interesting furniture and decor. The location is good, across the road from the Chinese fishing nets, near shopping, restaurants etc.
Everything was clean and tidy, staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was OK, quite slow but the food we had was tasty enough. We had breakfast included but in retrospect would have preferred to eat elsewhere as it was very ordinary. It was our son's birthday the night we arrived and the restaurant staff spontaneously presented him with a birthday cake after the receptionist had noted it in his passport. It really made our day after arriving in heavy rain and a very long tiring drive. A nice touch!
The first night we were badly troubled by mosquitoes in the room but the staff sprayed in the morning and we were not troubled the next night.
I would be happy to stay at the Tower House again.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is sprayed for mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Tower House in Kochi.

We are delighted to learn that the team at the hotel was able to make your son’s birthday a memorable one. Thank you for appreciating the room décor and the antique furniture of the property.

Your feedback about the breakfast has been shared with the Chef who will be taking the necessary action to make the buffet spread more interesting for guests. It is distressing to learn that your first night was an uncomfortable one. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. The housekeeping team has been pulled up and given the necessary training and support so that incidents like this do not recur in the future.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to serving you at our 26 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Address: 1/320, Tower Road, Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us.The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate, large tubs and windows that have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. It’s been restored to be compatible with present day needs while maintaining its structural integrity. It reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly.The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and it is adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism.Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.