We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Bungalow to your Saves list
Tea Bungalow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely small boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tea Bungalow is a small quaint old boutique hotel. Each room is different in design and theme. We stayed in the Cochin room which has a small verandah and is overlooking the swimming pool. The room itself was somewhat spacious with the basic amenities including tea and coffee maker. For the size of room it was good value. The verandah had just one bamboo chair and had benches along the railing. Having cushions would have helped as the bench was quite hard to sit on over a period of time. The staff are very polite. We ate the dining room below. The food could was good but not worth the price. We felt the quantities were also not upto the mark for the price. They do not serve any drinks there. With such an ambience and beautifully restored old building it would be lovely to have wine and beer like a couple of other small hotels in Cochin where we went to. Overall our experience was good and had no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    105
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
74
174
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This botique heritage hotel in Fort Kochi, has big rooms which are neat and clean. The bathroom of room Galle is also very big. As a nice gesture the even decorated our room. Only 2 rooms in the hotel were occupied which meant that the pool and few other common areas were not well lit. It took away the charm of the place. What the hotel lacks and should impove on is its service. We had to ask for toletries twice. The sampoo bottle was filled with water! Although the housekeeping person apologized, it is sad to see "not so good" service in a 4 star which is generally frequented by foreign tourists. Food was also average. Few food items in the menu were not available since "it was off-season" (That was the explanation we received from the restaurant). The pasta that we had for dinner was uncooked and we left it as is. But no one enquired about it. The hospitality which we look forward to in hotels we stay was missing.

Room Tip: Room Cochin has a small balcony. Galle is also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Tea Bungalow.
It is a quaint little place with an old world charm.
The property and room was very well maintained.
Importantly the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Finally, the food was great and we hogged a lot.
Cons – It’s a small property, so do not expect resort type facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved the Tea Bungalow. It is presented beautifully, is peaceful, BIG and has lovely staff. The food is excellent, the best breakfast we had in our 3 weeks in India. Paulwin, the restaurant staff manager, was brilliant. They do the absolute best club sandwiches (not on the menu) - tasty, massive and a square meal in themselves. The kids loved the pool and felt very comfortable.

Room Tip: We slet 4 to a room (they are so big) with an extra bed added for our daughter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great hotel in Fort Cochin and great value for money.
It has all amenities you would need- a pool to chill out, great rooms, nice showers, good restaurant.
It is located behind the fence so you don't hear the street noise, but it is still very close to the tourist attractions which you can reach either by foot or short tuk tuk ride.
The staff was very helpful too.
After travelling around Fort Cochin and looking where are the other most popular (and more expensive) hotels are located, I think, this hotel gives better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful house in Fort Cochin. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Young crew, very efficient and eager to please. Very close to city center and still very quiet. Inside patio with a swimming pool and lounge chairs to relax under the shade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From Australia and this place was a little gem to find it has Great food and great people. Our room the Mombasa was amazing and the bathroom is a must see A+++ will stay here every time were in kochi.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.