We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious setting.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malabar House

Malabar House
1/268 Parade Road, Fort, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
+91 484 221 6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 542 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
India,Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gracious setting.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Love the tropical colonial setting with a modern twist. The food is normally good.....but not always consistent. They are licensed to serve drinks. The staff are friendly. Overall a relaxing evening out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    77
    42
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food at Malabar House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Myself & couple of my colleagues had lunch at Malabar House,it was once of most sumptuous meals we had during our stint at Kochi city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“The famous "seafood platter" is worth trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As a food lover, I had to try the famous "seafood platter" at Malabar house restaurant, their absolute specialty. Priced at 2,500 IR (around 40 USD), it is a rather expensive treat for India. First I headed to the wine bar upstairs, and tried some of the local Indian viognier. Wine was good but terrace weirdly small; it was difficult to draw staff's attention from outside.
Seafood platter itself was succulent, although it took a rather long time to come. Some crackers or small snacks would have been nice to have, especially considering the standing of the place and the fact we ordered their most expensive dish x 3: but we didn't get anything. Seafood platter comes in 2 options: "indian" style with some very mild spices, or normal. I recommend the Indian one: taste was subtle, spices complimented very finely the seafood without overpowering the delicate taste of their flesh. The platter was plentiful and included some grilled veggies: a very healthy option. No need to take any starter unless you have a huge appetite. The staff was courteous and professional, but somewhat cold, a pity for the country of smiles. All in one, I wasn't impressed by the place, which I think is slightly over-rated, however I have thoroughly enjoyed what I came for: the seafood platter. It is also one of the very few places in Fort Cochin where you can have wines, most of which are Indians, not a point to neglect if you are a wine-lover. It is a nice "one -time" experience for seafood and to discover Indian wines, but the overall experience and atmosphere could be a little more friendly. Comparatively, I have liked the "old harbour" a lot more. Both in terms of service and atmosphere. They have also a similar seafood platter, which I will definitely try next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great Experience at Malabar Junction. Worthy of being a Relaix and Chateau. The prawn Biryani was a fantastic twist to the traditional dish and ticked all the right boxes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visited the Malabar house when they had a spanish tapas festival going on. The pamphlets boasted of Tapas and wine, We were very disappointed when all that tapas meant to the hotel was small serving of Indian food (like samosas)! There was nothing Tapas about it, and nothing even remotely Spanish. Plus, for such a massive price, the food could not even be categorised as starters as there was so little in the platter they offered.
The wine in question was Indian Sula wine that wasn't so old and hence not so tasty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar House also viewed

 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malabar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.