We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beena Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beena Homestay
XI / 359.B Kadathanad, | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 287 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay on arrival in Kerala. Very comfortable, AMAZING food and extremely friendly and welcoming owners. Also a great place to meet people as everyone eats meals together. Only downside is it is a little further away from the main 'hub' of Fort Cochin, and it isn't that nice a walk at night, but it's a small price to pay for an otherwise great place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
144
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This homestay was very wonderful-particularly the wonderful, plentiful food (both dinner and breakfast are included!) and the friendliness of the hosts:) Quiet, clean comfortable accommodation with fan and a/c. Rooms on upper levels should be brighter than rooms on ground floor which I stayed in. Beena is very beautiful and should be a model:)

When you go there make sure you have their phone numbers as the taxi and rickshaw drivers from airport do not know the address of this home as it's a bit out of the way off of a side-road. So get your driver to call Beena or her husband and they can guide the driver to the homestay.

Room Tip: ask for a room on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you Beena and Sudee for making our stay a truly wonderful experience!
This was our first visit to India and to a Homestay- this is a perfect way to get to know people in their local community and to meet fellow travellers from around the world.
Our room was clean, comfortable and had a small balcony. There was always hot water and the airconditioning was great. Beena and Sudee will spoil you with their hospitality and wonderful food. Thankyou!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a great week at Beena Homestay. Beena and Sudhi are very generous people. One review mentions that they spoil their guests a little too much and I think that’s right! Breakfast and dinner were amazing, and one evening we were shown how to prepare a few of the curries. We flew into Kochi and our stay was a beautifully gentle introduction to India. Thankyou very much for your hospitality! Sorry for taking the key, we just mailed it back to you. Petra & Alex

Room Tip: There is AC in one room, but this is not necessary at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i only stayed at beena's for one night and it was not enough! cool, comfortable, clean, and the location is perfect; walking distance to all the surrounding sites. however, the family style meals were the best part. it was great to chat with fellow travelers and beena and her family, all while eating delicious southern indian specialties!

thank you, beena!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Beena Homestay is like coming home! To chat and share experiences. To eat because the food is just that great. To dine because you want to stay with your family. To sleep because you're tired of the trip or of sightseeing in the direct surroundings. All is good. Beena and Sudee are just lovely and so caring. I'd not think of going somewhere else in Cochin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for three nights after arriving in India for a short two week visit to Kerela. The rooms were very clean and of a comfirtable standard. We moved from the ground floor to the top floor on our last night and found it to be much brighter and airier.

We didn't stray fair from Fort Kotchin during our brief stay as we wanted to relax after the long journey and we did find Beena a bit too far from the centre of things to be able to walk there and back during the heat of the day, so a rickshaw might be your best bet.

By far the best thing about our stay were our hosts, always welcoming with a smile, happy to chat and get conversation going between guests. The home cooked breakfasts and dinners were also a highlight, with pineapple curry being a new Indian favourite.

Room Tip: New rooms on the top floor are brighter and airier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beena Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beena Homestay

Address: XI / 359.B Kadathanad, | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 287 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Beena Homestay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Beena Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beena Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beena Homestay to your Saves list