We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and memorable homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beena Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beena Homestay
Save
You added Beena Homestay to your Saves list
XI / 359.B Kadathanad, | Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 319 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and memorable homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Beena's and loved every minute of it. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate and the food is incredibly varied and delicious, among the best we had in our 2 weeks in Kerala (special thanks for adapting your wonderful cooking to suit our children too, they discovered Indian food through you and now love it!) The family are so welcoming, we really felt sad to leave them. Fort Kochi is an easy walk away. Thank you so much for all your help and kindness during our visit. Siobhan & Pierre

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
156
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent a very pleasant stay in Beena homestay in the center of Fort Kochi at ten minuts walking from the chinese fishing net and the ferry to the island. We had the chance to appreciate the feeling to be at home in India: Mr. and Mrs Beena are both extremely kind guest, very good cooker preparing good and rich breakfast (also continental) and indian dinner. The dining room is confortable and clean as the rooms with bathroom. They helped us to arrange our tour in the Backwaters area and to organised our trip in the south of Kerala. It was really upset to leave Beena family and we reccomend to visit them in your future trip in Kerala.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights in this homestay and enjoyed the fullest of tradtional Kerala meals.
at every meal in Homestay.
For me it was great experince and ideal example of homestay being having our own homestay in mumbai.
Its such nice homestay that its extremely difficult to prepare mind to leave this homestay.
As far food is concerned and the way it is served by owners, words are not enough to explain its
excellance.
more wondering is both hosts(beena and sudesh) are working in their other professional field and instead of this they devote their time to look after the homestay.
and inspite of back from working hours from their respective offices, not a single mark of tiredness on face and in their service.
for me it was so much resctable feelings for them being senior to me and their caliber.

thank you so much beena and sudeesh for offering me such wonderful time in your house

in next visit to cochin, can not think any other place to stay than this.
and highly recommnded to others

Room Tip: its so easy to choose any room because each room and everything is so perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

You dont feel for a second that you are away from your home once you reach Beena's HomeStay,
you will get a delicious and healthy food and lots of time to make new friends on dinner table.
share your experiences and know about the local things and culture.

Room Tip: if you want to stay close to Kitchen take rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Mrs Beena & family are basically kind & soft spoken. We were awestruck by the hospitality. We didn't expect it. We have nothing to complain. It’s too perfect 
The taxi we booked through them came on time.We (mom,boyfriend & myself) stayed in Beena's for 3 nights. We booked 2 room. The rooms and bathrooms are super clean. The bedsheets have pleasant smell & beds are very comfortable. We had a good night sleep
We are welcomed with masala chai and indian snacks which is yummy. The whole environment around that area is quiet & relaxing .Along with the room , we are provided with breakfast & dinner which consist of local & western. Mr. Sudi does most of the cooking which is super delicious. He learn cooking from his mother.. We really miss the meals he prepared everyday for us. My boyfriend, a vegetarian is a very picky eater enjoyed the food as well. Apart from that, they have contacts with Kathakali (we got front row seat) & backwaters (the lunch prepared was unforgettable) which both was great experience.
We enjoyed hanging out with other homestay guests from other part of country esp Ann & Billy, beautiful Debbie & Valerie. Thanks Ann & Billy for showing us around Ft Kochi on our first day 
Beena, Mr. Sudi & smarty Krishna, thanks for having us. You guys are like a family to us now. People like you are the reason we want to come back to Cochin.
Those who is considering to stay in homestay, do consider Beena’s Homestay. It is suitable for both families and solo travelers. You won’t regret it 

ps: 17cj_, the full-length mirror is indeed very slimming! LOL !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good enough !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Like many others before me I'm very, very happy to "go all five star" with Beena Homestay - a real stand-out Indian accommodation experience - high value, high standards, high hospitality.

The homestay sits perhaps 1.5km from the tourist honeypots clustered around the tip of the Kochi peninsula - the basilica, quaint little streets and the famous Chinese fishing nets. With Jew Town a similar distance to the east, and local auto-rickshaw drivers only SLIGHTLY prone to "fare elevation", you'll be close enough to all the tourist sites. Google Maps is spot-on with the location - note that the "link" road Beena Homestay sits on now fully connects KB Jacob Road and Beach Street. A leafy, clean and friendly neighbourhood surrounds you and the whole of Kochi seems largely free from the traffic chaos which is the reality of modern India.

The ground floor of the homestay is given over to visitors - four rooms open out from a comfy guests' lounge (top tip: the full-length mirror is VERY slimming!) which in turn gives way to a smart little verandah with fan, light and nice seating. The small garden/carport is gated, ideal for those travelling with younger children to give them a little freedom. My fan room was small, but clean and comfortable, with an equally compact but lovely bathroom featuring the untold (for South and South East Asia) novelty of hot water from the sink tap AS WELL as the shower.

Upstairs is the family home and a long, sociable double-dining table where guests eat - dinner and breakfast were included in my room rate. I visited in low season as summer heat built into monsoon, and was the only guest, but still received amazing service from Beena and her husband Sudi, with an impossibly cute grandchild running around to complete the "homestay" vibe.

I stayed for 2 nights and, whilst I would normally have eaten there once as a courtesy, with the second night at a restaurant, it was a pleasure to "eat in" on both occasions. Even though I was the only guest, I still received something approaching VIP treatment. Dinner was SEVEN different local dishes, plus rice and chapatis. All delicious - grilled fish, sliced mini-cucumbers fried with onions in mild spices, coconut milk veg curries and the lovely, local fat-grained "Matta" rice - a real discovery for me.

For breakfast, you can stick with Western, or try local alternatives, or, as I did, both - I enjoyed Puttu and a mild lentil curry, plus coffee, toast and fresh fruit - is it possible to eat TOO MANY mangoes?

Throughout my stay the sense of welcome and hospitality was pretty much unique. Both Beena and Sudi hold down full-time jobs, and chatting with them about Keralan life at both breakfast and dinner was very enjoyable. I left Beena Homestay in the middle of the night, the airport taxi they arranged reassuringly early. As quiet as I tried to be, Sudi still came out into the warm darkness to say goodbye…

More on my India trip at my personal travel blog: www.globaljunkie.net

Room Tip: The aptly named "foreign liquor store" is a short walk away - great for stocking up on Bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beena and her family provide a fine experience of Kerala hospitality. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms which are all used for homestay and which share a living space. The rooms are clean but basic. The hot water is currently being upgraded so should be available soon. Great location, a family dedicated to making their guests' visits a true Kerala experience, fabulous food. You will be enriched by your time with Beena and her family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beena Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beena Homestay

Address: XI / 359.B Kadathanad, | Fort Kochi, Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Beena Homestay Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Beena Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beena Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.