We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerala family hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Heritage Homestay
Save
You added Riverside Heritage Homestay to your Saves list
Mylanthra House | Palluruthy | Perumpadappu | Konam, Kochi (Cochin) 682006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saarbrucken, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Kerala family hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here along with my parents on the very first days of my visit to India. We planned for a week-long vacation in Kerala and Lakshadweep, and this was the first leg of our trip. We couldn't have done better. Basil and Annie are the perfect hosts. Their son Neel also gave us company. Staying here, we learnt a whole lot of interesting things about life on the Kerala backwaters.

Visitors would immediately notice a wide array of trees and bird-life that bless this property. We woke up in the morning to sounds of a cuckoo and the accompanying chorus of other birds. There are a couple of woodpeckers, which were sneeky. But when they thought we weren't watching, they would alight by the window-panes of our cottage to admire the reflections of their plumage. Visitors should bring a pair of binoculars. I bought a pair in the airport at Frankfurt and this proved to be a good tool at the Mylanthara house. I also saw squirrels, kingfishers and many water birds at the distance into the backwaters. The house stands right on the shore of the backwaters of the Vembanad lake and offers excellent views of the sunset. The Mylantharas also operate a chinese fishing net, which along with those of the neighbors, provides a pleasing backdrop to the sunset.

What also deserves praise is the delicious cooking of Annie. While having dinner on our first day, I mentioned how unusual it is for me to have food elsewhere from home on my first arrival day in India. Neel joked that I was sure having mom's food, but prepared by his mom. From that meal onwards, we were made to feel as part of the family. My parents have very high standards on the quality of food, and in the end, they too couldn't withhold their praise for the meals. Annie made us the tastiest Kerala specialities, and we couldn't have had a better authentic introduction to this rich cuisine.

I am definitely coming back to this place on my next visit to Kochi and I will recommend the same to my friends. If you want to escape the crowds and the traffic of the city, while still staying at an easy distance to the attractions, make this place your base. The Mylanthara hospitality will get you hooked.

Room Tip: Take the riverside cottage if available. There is a hamac underneath the mango tree to chill out. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were visiting family in Kerala and wanted to stay in Kochi for a day or two. My cousin suggested Mylanthara House and we stayed there. Basilchettan and Annie Anty are the perfect hosts. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious and all the amenities were very nice. The breakfast was a real feast and a great way to start off the day. The tropical heat was cooled by the natural breeze coming from the lake and it just lulls you into sleep on the easy chair in the verandah. The only thing lacking was ice-cold beer!!!

I would suggest keeping a nice fridge stocked with beer and wine always so that guests can pay on what they need to use, instead of having to go out and buy it.

Would love to stay there again and spend more time during our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideHomestay, Owner at Riverside Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your suggestion. But as per the Law of the land, Homestays are not allowed to sell any hard liquor, wine or beer to the customers. The guests can bring or buy the above mentioned items from outside & consume within our Homestay. They can utilize our fridge for cooling these items. We can also make arrangements for the guest to get these items from a nearby wine shop run by the Govt. of Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to stay for our first trip to Fort Kochi. Basil and his charming wife made us so welcome and comfortable in their delighfully spacious home. We had just arrived from Paris and a pick up was organised from the airport. Nothing could have been more easy for us. We stayed only two nights but will certainly return to Riverside Heritage Homestay. The two evening meals we enjoyed with the family and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We slept soundly in comfortable beds to be woken only by the birds' singing. Absolutely delightful. Basil also made a programme for us for our visit to Fort Kochi and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I along with my family and some close relatives who are foreignors had been to the above heritage resort on January 5th and 6th 2013. It was a pleasant stay with homely atmosphere. We felt like we were staying in our traditional home. The food was very tasty and they are very friendlypeople. I wish to stay there again whenever I get a chance.
Venkitachalam J advocate from chennai

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect out of town homestay in rural area 8 km south of Fort Kochi. Quiet place at backwater. Fishing with chinese net and trip with semi houseboat pn the spot. High quality room, good service and great food! Certainly will come back when in Kochi. Extra bonus was Biennale in Kochi until 13 march 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwickau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

very friendly, excellent Service, excellent food at a reasonable price !!

Mr. Basil has everything well organized. Needs were met, organized the trip distance and booked in advance. Communication - even before arrival - was exemplary. Genuine concern to the guest.

Es gab warmes Essen im Hause zum angemessenen Preis mit Besteck.
Herr Basil hat alles super organisiert. Wünsche wurden erfüllt, die Weitereise organisiert und vorab gebucht. Die Kommunikation - auch vor Reiseantritt - war vorbildlich. Echtes Bemühen um den Gast.

Room Tip: Fort Cochin ist ca. 13 km mit dem Bus entfernt, der regelmäßig fährt, zu 10 RS pro Person, d.h. ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Riverside Homestay is quiet, clean and peaceful! The sunset was the the
most beautiful i ever saw! Basil and Annie are very friendly and
so helpful. Annie is a fantastic cook, she cooked a wonderful
dinner in kerala style, and also in the morning, she offered a
tasty kerala breakfast! It was a great stay, a home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Heritage Homestay

Address: Mylanthra House | Palluruthy | Perumpadappu | Konam, Kochi (Cochin) 682006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mylanthra House "RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY" is approved and licensed as "GOLD GRADE" by Tourism department, Government of Kerala. RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY is located at Perumpadappu area in Cochin at the bank of Vembanad Lake backwaters. This Gold-graded homestay is an 80-year-old, well-maintained bungalow built of bricks, wooden ceilings and clay tile roofing. The flooring is also done with old clay tiles. The property covers an area of 1.25 Acres, which is full of trees like coconut, mango, chikku, guava, jack fruit etc. It also have a traditional pond, which is presently used for growing fish. The Guests will be thrilled when they feed these fishes. The homestay also have a Chinese fishing net in their beautiful backwaters, which the guests can operate themselves. Imagine catching fish and cooking them for dinner! Sitting beside this chinese fishing net & watching Sunset will be wonderful experience. Take a walk in the countryside or ride a bicycle thorough the village. The nearby islands in the backwaters have shrimp farms and paddy fields surrounded by evergreen mangroves. We can arrange Mechanized country boats (Semi House Boat) for backwater boating & visiting shrimp farms & paddy fields in the nearby islands The bird life here will simply command attention. The cool breeze from the Vembanad Lake backwaters behind the homestay along with the sweet sound of the various specious of birds visiting our property will not only enthrall you but also will be an experience of a lifetime. We also have a newly built Traditional Kerala style RIVER FACING COTTAGE. This cottage is constructed just behind our Heritage Home in the year 2011 in the traditional Kerala style. It can also be called as a miniature of our Heritage home, with modern amenities. The bed rooms have modern style bathroom attached. The host can also arrange for Ayurvedic Body Message, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling & Physical Fitness in an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Our Homestay) which is having experienced and qualified doctors and therapists. The homestay is very close to Kumbalanghi, Kerala's first model tourism village. You can visit Fort Cochin, Dutch Cemetery, Princess street, Kerala Kathakali centre, Folk dance, Indian Classical music, Indian Classical Dances & Marshal arts (Kalaripayat), St. Francis Church (Vasco Da Gama Church), Santa Cruz Basilica, Dutch Palace, Asia's oldest Synagogue (Jewish Synagogue), Spice Market, Jew Street & Jew Town, Dharmanath Jain temple at Mattancherry, Willingdon island, Hill palace, Ernakulam marine drive & Boating in Marine Drive, Vallarpadam Basilica, Mangalavanam Bird Sanctuary, Parikshith Thampuran Museum, Veega Land water theme Park, Cherai beach & Palliport (Pallipuram) Fort, Sri Sankara Math, Kodanad elephant training center from here. FACILITIES Complimentary Traditional Kerala style Breakfast for all our guests. Veg & non-Veg food available on request. Guest can operate our Chinese fishing net. Watch the Sunset & enjoy the cool breeze, sitting beside our Backwaters. Hot & Cold water available 24 Hrs. Free Wi-Fi internet usage. All rooms are Mosquito proof, very spacious with modern amenities and bath attached. Lovely garden & Lawn to soothe you. Sight-Seeing Tips. Car Parking Facility. We also Arrange upon our Guests request. 1. 24 Hours Air port, Railway Station Pick-Up & Drop. 2. Taxi or Auto rickshaw for sight seeing. 3. Houseboat tours (Day Cruise as well as Day and Night stay) at Alleppey backwaters. 4. Tickets for Kathakali Play & The Make-up, Martial Arts (Kalaripayat), Indian Classical music & Indian Classical Dances in a famous Kathakali centre in Cochin. 5. Ayurvedic Body Massage, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling Physical Fitness by Qualified Doctors at an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Homestay) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Heritage Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.