We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, comfortable and beautiful hosts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Woods-Bethlehem

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Save
You added Green Woods-Bethlehem to your Saves list
11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value, comfortable and beautiful hosts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I (two female travellers) arrived into Cochin very late at night, we were welcomed at the airport by a taxi organised by green bethlehem who was patiently waiting for us despite us being 1/2 hour late.

Arriving at green bethlehem we were greeted by our lovely warm hosts who made us feel at ease after just arriving in India. We spent three peaceful nights here, the rooms were simple, homely and very clean. We especially loved our breakfasts, coconut filled crepes, bananas, hot tea and more served on the top level communal area.

After travelling India for over a month, Green Bethlehem was great value for money and was definitely one of our most enjoyable stays. Thank-you Sheeba and Ashley

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    54
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
130
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a great home stay. It is situated in a nice area close to the interesting places. The room was clean but basic room, the breakfast was great. The family was very helpful and gives good advises to things to see

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For it's price range, this is an excellent shout. The hosts are so caring, when one of us came down with a chest infection we were provided with copious bananas, vast amounts of hot water, a taxi was called and we were gently bundled off to a doctor ( who was incredible- and cost less than 5 pounds. Sick travellers in Kochi, take note). We then spent the rest of our stay reassuring a worried looking mummy host we were okay - she was never interfering but always gracious in checking in on us, and would have made my own mother proud. Our room was simple and not huge, but clean, but what really made this such a great choice is the lush garden it's set in - the great homemafe breakfast in a canopy - staring out at birds and leaves- felt like we were in a hotel five times the price. A great place - if we were to return to Kochi we'd book it without thinking twice - and the older, slightly wealthier members of our family would adore it too - when we took my aunt and her friends round they coo-ed and ah-ed approvingly - this place punches above it's price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Green woods Bethlehem is very overrated. Clearly the excellent reviews are based on the relationship the reviewers have with the owners (who are lovely) and not on the actual quality of the guesthouse.

The rooms were quite small and stuffy and over-decorated. The towels stunk and so did the water in the bathroom. There were large number of mosquitoes in the room, and no mosquito net which made for a very uncomfortable sleep.

The breakfast on the rooftop was decent but nothing special.

Not worth the money- can definitely find better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our second trip to India and a return to Greenwoods which is a very special place for us, as well as our hosts Sheeba and Ashley. The house has a gentle colonial feel set amongst tropical vegetation. What could be better waking in the morning,listening to tropical birds calling and a kingfisher on a branch outside our window overlooking a small pool. Sheeba and Ashley are as special as their beautiful homestay. Chris and Saffron

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Everything about this place was wonderful. The owners were so friendly and kind, even giving us a piece of fruit cake when we arrived in the middle of the night. The breakfasts on the rooftop garden were lovely, and the rooms were homely and comfortable. The only problem was the large numbers of mosquitoes, I guess because there was such a lush garden and a little, stagnant pond. I know other guests had similar problems. I highly recommend this place, but take repellent and spray and a plug in to avoid being bitten!

Room Tip: The old ones attached to the house downstairs are very cute and homey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Sheeba, Ashley and co. are among the nicest people you will ever meet. They are truly wonderful hosts who will bend over backwards to make your stay wonderful and full of memories. The setting is pretty cool and the rooftop breakfasts are a tasty, authentic, Indian smorgasbord. Their recommendations for restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing, massage or transport won't steer you wrong. And everything is done with giant smiles. Hugs are complimentary.

Be aware that Green Woods is simple accommodation. We were given a new room on the ground floor that hadn't had fly wire put over the vents yet. That got sorted on our second day, but it did mean that for the first couple of nights, the mosquitos were fairly rampant. In this price range, you might have thought that air-con and wifi were included. They're not. The nearest internet cafe is in the centre of town and quite a walk away. But it's not too inconvenient because you'll be down that way a lot.

We stayed for a week and wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Can't wait to get back to this place. Green Woods has given us precious memories that we will never forget, and for that it can only get an excellent rating. Go in with an open mind, make yourself at home, buy yourself some good herbal mosquito repellent, and enjoy the great homely atmosphere and unrivalled hospitality of Sheeba and Ashley at Green Woods Bethlehem!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#23 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Woods-Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.