We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed for months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Woods-Bethlehem

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Save
You added Green Woods-Bethlehem to your Saves list
11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could have stayed for months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Greenwoods Bethlehem for three nights in October, and it was just wonderful. Set among a beautiful garden off the street in a quiet but easily accessible neighbourhood, it was a tranquil and relaxing from the start. Sheeba and Ashley greeted us so warmly, and then showed us to our room, which had just been completed to a very high standard (nicest one we stayed in in Kerala). We'd recommend anyone who goes to Fort Cochin to stay with them.

Matt and Steph

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    57
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
137
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is an absolute stunner of a homestay. Sheeba and Ashley are quite possibly the most friendly and welcoming hosts you could wish for. You will be greated with tea, cake and a hug on arrival. The rooms were good, clean and homely. Each morning you'll get a different breakfast up in the dining area on the rooftop. Only inconveniance is that it is a little out of town, a good 15 minute walk but who cares when you get a warm welcome on returning!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I cannot say enough about my memorable stay at Green Woods Bethlehem. Ashley and Sheeba welcomed both my friend and I with open arms when we wandered into their homestay late one night looking for accomodation. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute of it... savouring every bite of the included breakfast on the roof top dining area and being very grateful for all the advice on local attractions.

Thank you Sheeba and Ashley for such a magnificant stay, it was a highlight of my trip to India and I hope many others can experience your unmatched hospitality. I look forward to meeting your family back in Edmonton, Canada.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in the South of India, and of all the places we stayed, including the romance of a houseboat and pricier hotels which were overflowing with mod-cons, this was our favourite place of all because it was by far the most welcoming. We couldn't resist a second stay at this leafy, quiet home at the end of our trip, and were greeted like family members when we returned. We stayed in three characterful and clean rooms and were very happy with them all, while the rooftop terrace is a lovely place for breakfast or relaxing. But what makes this place so special are the wonderful hosts, Sheeba and Ashley. They could not have made us feel more welcome, and they, along with their staff, were endlessly helpful, gentle and kind throughout our stay(s). We cannot thank them enough. We really were sad to go and will, we hope, return one day. Sam and Loesje

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

It is even difficult for me to put down in words our experience here.
I stayed here with my wife for 4 nights (2 plus 2 actually). We came in in our first day in Kerala, got out to go to Munnar and Kumaly, and then back. The price is just right, affordable, and after you stay here, you dont even think about how much you spent, not important.
The first impression is fantastic: a chilled garden in the middle of a quiet residential zone, beautiful soft green lights ( something that is almost always horrible in India), peaceful and warm ambient. That just by getting inside, passing the gate! Then you meet Sheeba and Ashley, and their wonderful friendly son and daughter! Then you surrender and your at home! The most amazing family, always trying to help you and please you. We loved our rooms ( we got to sleep in 2 different ones!). Both beautiful, charming, really nice furniture, nice bed sheets with a beautiful indian pattern bed cover ( not that pseudo disney stuff that sometimes you get !). The lighting is well though with warm and soft spots, not that one big horrible white light that you cant even turn off from the bed that you see so often, and then you just listen the outside noises of birds and other cool animals! Paradise. No horns!
Then, if it wasnt enough already, you get an amazing rooftop set with nice bamboo stuff facing the green garden. This is the place where you get to eat the most amazing breakfasts we ever got! So good and different from the common oily eggs and dry toast with jam. Everyday a different thing is added to the breakfast, stuff that I even dont know how to spell or how to describe but that are just plain amazing. Sadly only on our last day we found out that you can get amazingly good cooking classes from Sheeba. Got a taste of a couple of things that she was cooking and we got floored, so so good. Thank you so much for that and for those last hour recipes Shebba! This was our best homestay after 5 years traveling through Asia. We drop a couple of tears when we had to say Bye. I have no doubt at all where I´ll be staying if I return to Fort Kochi!
I think everyone wants something different from their travellings, if you want a cosy, clean, friendly and feel at home environment, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sheeba and Ashley make this homestay very special by creating a lovely atmosphere throughout their home and by their thoughtful and kind attention. The breakfast was delicious in a roof terrace surrounded by tropical vegetation accompanied by birdsong, and frog croaking (in the monsoon). We returned on our way home and look forward to coming back on our next trip. Chris and Saffron.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

In all respects, this guest house was truly excellent. The building itself is very atmospheric and, as you might guess, surrounded by lush green trees. There is a lovely roof terrace, complete with hammock and hot tea available all day long. Breakfast is excellent, by far the best we had on our trip. However, it is the hosts Sheeba and Ashleigh (and other staff) who are exceptionally friendly and genuinely lovely people. Sheeba and Ashleigh went out of their way to help us book onward accomodation and arrange our travels. As Cochin was our hub, we ended up returning to Green Woods a total of three times during our two week tour of Kerala! We were genuinely sad to leave, and would definitely go back another time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 23 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#5 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#22 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#3 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xandari Harbour
Xandari Harbour
#8 of 179 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Woods-Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.