We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the backwaters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Wind Homez (Home Stay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Wind Homez (Home Stay) to your Saves list
West Wind Homez (Home Stay)
Edakkattu House | Kumbalangi North, Kochi (Cochin) 682007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place in the backwaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we had a lovely stay here with Jojo, a great host. When we arrived late he thoughtfully cooked us dinner and he introduced us to some great home-cooked Keralan breakfasts. Yum. The location is outwith Kochi, but its 200 rupees on an auto-rickshaw, so easily accessible. Its an idyllic place, overlooking the backwaters and perfect for relaxing and watching life on the water pass you by. Jojo is also really helpful when organising activities and is full of useful knowledge and tips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been at West Wind Homez Stay for 4 days and it was really good. Jojo and his wife were realy freandly and we felt safe an welcomed. The breakfast was excellent- typically Kerala food. The area of the homestay is quiet and it is direktly on the backwater, so its good for relaxing. It's easy to get busses to Fort cochin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A really beautiful location, and good facilities. Jojo and Gladys really went out of the way to provide a wide selection of the very best of Keralan Home Cooking. They were extremely helpful in organising transport and booking for outside activities during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived at night, exhausted but excited to be in Kerala. In the morning, our view of the Lake was awe inspiring. JoJo Paul is an excellent host and his food delicious. We felt immediately at ease with him and it was great to have a tour of Kumbalangy: to see a little of life there away from the tourist trails. Jojo Paul was attentive and gracious at all times, even making special dishes for our 6 year old daughter who found some of the local dishes a little too spicy. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, and relaxed. How great it was to really switch off from the hustle and bustle of life at home and just sit on the veranda listening to the birds and watching the boats on the lake float by.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place is a small paradise, you are just by the lake the evening you can go to walk on lake to observe the sunset.
JOJO Paul our hote was fantastic always in the small care the meals excel and particularly helped us for our train tickets when it was complicated.
I advice(council) this place to all.

Room Tip: Jojo paul opens us all his house it is exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at West Wind homestay for 3 nights in December. I was travelling in Kerala on my own until my husband arrived 2 weeks later, and was delighted to stay here. Jojo Paul and Gladys made me feel really at home. You could spend hours lying in the hammock at the end of the garden watching the backwaters floating by, it was so relaxing... The food i was served was some of the best i ate in Kerala, carefully prepared (and huge quantities!) of local dishes, especially the breakfasts - delicious. they arranged a boat trip on a small fishing boat one evening, which was incredible, watching the sunset over the backwaters was very memorable. Jojo Paul also took me on a tour of the village which was brilliant, seeing the fishermen at work, the rice paddies, as well as the local churches and temples... But the main thing were the hosts who were so kind and lovely - a real family atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

extremely well located, tucked away from the busy city life.
It is like a birds nest, carefully made with love and affection, yet consciously placed inside a safe hidden enclosure.
Jojo the charming and caring host, will arrange every thing for you.
He will take you to fish farms, beach, local churches.... He even guided us to a lovely place for lunch, a wonderful massage, a dream boat ride fishing with a local fisher man at night....
And offcourse the lovely dinner he prepared for us.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Wind Homez (Home Stay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Homez (Home Stay)

Address: Edakkattu House | Kumbalangi North, Kochi (Cochin) 682007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WEST WIND HOMEZ - Home- Stay ( Kerala GOVT. Certified )On Back Waters Of Kerala At Cochin (Kochi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your West Wind Homez (Home Stay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Homez (Home Stay) Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wind Homez (Home Stay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.