We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sajhome

Save Saved
You added Sajhome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sajhome
Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 163 hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Montréal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This place is very nice, it's very affordable and very well located. The rooms are very clean and the service is amazing. The owner, Saj, will make everything possible to make you feel at home. We like it so much that we went back there for an extra night on our way back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    807
    178
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
148
449
144
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed at Sajhome from the 3rd March to the 5th March. I flew in with Qatar Airways arriving at 03.50 so I had booked from the 2nd to ensure my room would be available from arrival.
I had arranged a pick up from the airport with Sajhome, although maybe costing a few rupees more than getting a cab from the taxi rank, the driver did know the way there, which was a bonus as most Indian taxi drivers don't have the 'knowledge' required of London's black cabs!
Sajhome was exactly as I had been led to believe from reviews on Tripadviser. It was basic but clean and the staff were all very friendly. You could pay a lot more to stay at the top range hotels but if you want some good accommodation with a personal touch, you can't go wrong with the Saj and it's so handy for getting to the central area of Fort Cochin. Just take a left outside the Saj to Kunnumpuram Jn and left again but then take the main right fork along Fosse St. This will lead you to the main tourist area, bars,internet cafes etc on Princess St.
While I was there, I took the day backwater trip, being picked up at 08.15 and after a whole day of backwater punting in two different boats, plus visits to a rope factory and lime factory (more interesting than it seems!) a curry lunch on banana leaves and back at Saj at 17.00. At only 500INR, less than £7, remarkably good value!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Picked the Sajhome based on other reviews on TripAdviser. Was not disappointed in the least. Saj and his staff were gracious and most helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a couple dollars and well worth it. We had a choice of continental (which was much more than a muffin and coffee - eggs, toast, juice, fruit etc) or a Kerala breakfast (different each day). Nothing was better than the pineapple juice - a whipped concoction that beat everything I have ever tasted in Hawaii!
Saj was good with his advice. Set us up with a massage and also a backwater tour. Both were good and well priced. You couldn't find better deals in the city!
You can walk everywhere but you are a little out of the center of town. Lots of tuk tuks, and they charge from 15 to 30 rupees depending on your negotiation techniques. Also good to "hire" a tuk tuk for several hours and have the guy take you around the back streets of Fort Cochin. Find someone that you like and for 200 rupees we had our own tour guide for three hours. He was worth more so we paid him more. Saj would also be good at hooking you up with someone.
I would have no qualms staying at the Sajhome again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I was travelling with my friend on our first trip to India and we came across the rave reviews on Trip Advisor for Sajhome.

Sajhome is a fantastic place to stay with excellent local insider knowledge from Saj. His family and Sumesh are extremely welcoming and made our trip to Fortcochin one to remember. We had a much more personal and authentic experience!

The rooms are all very clean and each have an outdoor balcolny where we were served a delicious breakfast cooked by Saj's wife each day. It was great to have a changing menu and sample real Keralan cooking! The homestay is also in a great location - just a 5 min walk from key areas of interest and local restaurants. It was lovely to get to know Saj too as he's had a very interesting life and we really enjoyed meeting his family.

One of the best things about the homestay is that you are left alone to your own devices but can still be safe in the knowledge that you can call on Saj for impartial, reliable advice and assistance with your travel plans. For instance, he managed to help us find a really good deal on last minute train tickets and helped us to plan the rest of our trip on a budget.

I would highly recommend Sajhome to anyone visiting Fortcochin. I'm planning another trip to Kerala next year and plan to stay with Saj again. :oD

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My friend and I saw Saj Home advertsied on trip advisor, and we're really glad we decided to stay there. Saj and Sumesh were incredibly helpful and made our trip an absolute pleasure. They arranged a tour of tea plantations, a trip to the beautiful backwaters, an evening of traditional dance and were always on hand to offer advise on the best restaurants and places to shop for silks and spices. The homestay is very clean and comfortable (it's quite basic, but absolutely fine, air con rooms, comfortable beds etc), and we had a delicious Keralan breakfast every morning prepared by Saj's wife. The pineapple juice at Saj's was the best I had for the whole trip! I would absolutely recommend a stay, excellent value and a real family run place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

This is a fantastic homestay. We initially made a reservation for 2 nights and ended up staying 6 using this as our base. Whatever you want to do Saj can arrange it and at a good rate. Nothing is too much trouble and Saj and his staff made us feel so welcome.
During our stay we visited Guruvayer Elephant Sanctuary and did an overnight houseboat trip which was a real highlight and gave us the opportunity to taste some of the most delicious Keralan food. Saj definately helped us make the most of our time in Kerala and it was good to be able to arrange things through someone you trust and not be ripped off by a tour company. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maharashtra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Thanks for a really great stay and a really good hospitality, really appreciated the way Saj treated my girlfriend and myself will definitely come back to stay if i make it to Cochin again.......and also will recommend people to stay here

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Address: Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip and HostelBookers so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sajhome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.