We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to stay and stay at Saj homestay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sajhome to your Saves list
Sajhome
Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Los Angeles, Cal.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wanted to stay and stay at Saj homestay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

After a bone rattling four hour bus ride, there is no more welcoming sight than Saj and his staff waiting to tell you they had a cancellation, and they have a room available! Saj is a helpful and gregarious host, who personally researches every site, restaurant and tourist attraction he recommends.

The homestay itself is very clean and friendly. Try to get the balcony rooms -- they are spacious and comfortable. And those Kerala breakfasts -- a great cook lurks somewhere in the homestay.

Staying with Saj was definitely a highlight of my recent trip to India.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    184
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
155
472
149
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Wow! Wow! Wow!
Fantastic homestay and Saj is truly the most helpful person!

I have sent many emails to Saj changing my dates, asking for information and requesting an extra room.

Each email was replied to promptly and accurately - Saj provided me with enough information to plan my trip. When I finally settled my dates, Saj had no vacancies - but a few days before I was to arrive - he received a cancellation, sent me a text message and I was all set!!

I was so happy staying at Sajhome. The rooms are simple with tv, ac/non-ac, clean shower and western toilet, double-bed. Breakfast is great - with western or Keralan choices.

What defines Sajhomestay is Saj himself. Does he ever sleep? He is so helpful, always smiling, regular chats and organises everything you could require including rickshaws, taxis, backwater tours - you name it - he can arranges it for you.

His family is lovely - he has as very cute 8 year old daughter!!

I massively recommend this place - and will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

what can i say: i booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for one week. saj home was a delightful experience, from the lovely room with balcony and mango tree, to the mouthwatering keralan breakfasts (courtesy of saj's wife). saj himself is so incredibly helpful, cheerful and honest: he reccommended all my activities (munnar, boat trip, beach, shopping, ayurvedic massage, elephant bathing) which i thoroughly enjoyed. the home itself is centrally located, safe, clean, good value - ideal for all travellers, and single females in particular. saj has 2 very capable colleagues who work with him as assistants and drivers, and they too contributed to making my stay so memorable. thankk you saj and family and team! see you very soon, i can' wait to be back.

  • Liked — location, breakfasts, saj + team
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I did not have time to plan, so I booked my first and last nights in Kerala at Sajhome. What luck! Saj made suggestions, hired drivers and kept me organized. He really hooked me up with some great folks in other parts of Kerala. This kind of friendly assistance is a rare find!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Cochin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

The ideal place to begin a tour of Kerala with proprietor Saj full of ideas to guide you to the best restaurants,boat cruises etc.Would recommend highly.Excellent service at low cost.
Michael and Lynda Turner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort cochin india
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

We met Saj when we were visiting the Neyyar dam near Trivandrum, capital of Keralla. He was checking out the area and facilities so he could give accurate feed back to his guests on sightseeing activities. Saj is a charming and very prossesional man. We arranged with him from our meeting to stay.

The homestay is in Fort Cochin which has to be the most picturesque town in Keralla. With a mix of Dutch, English and many other influences on the local buildings. It is laid back relaxing and very friendly. It also has something to offer all budgets.

Saj was helpful from start to finish in meeting our needs, arranging cultural experiences locally for us as well as advising on local prices which was very helpful. He has a friendly and welcoming attiude and a great sense of humor.

The homestay is beautifully clean and well presented and is great value for money. Sumesh, receptionist was always on hand to help out and is a quick and effcient..

The breakfast which are included in the price are yummy. I loved the kerallan breakfasts, the egg curry is scrumptious.

In all I stayed 4 days and pam two, she had to fly to her next destination.

The whole stay has been an enjoyable and stress free stay in a warm and welcoming home.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, nicely decorated and very well run
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

Sajhome was excellent I can highly recommend this Homestay,It is spotlessly clean,Saj & his Family are very friendly & can't do enough for you.
I have been travelling on my own as a single women & feel very Safe in Fort Kochi.
Saj can organise all your Tours,& also an excellent Auto Taxi who will show you all around Fort Kochi it is a very interseting friendly place to visit.
I had a marvelous holiday there.
Saj is excellent in replying to emails.

  • Liked — Very Friendly,Small homestay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Address: Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sajhome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.