We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sajhome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sajhome to your Saves list
Sajhome
Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is an absolute gem. The price is great for large clean rooms which are serviced daily. Saj is a star as are the rest of the family. They welcomed us into their home with open arms and made our stay really comfortable even through a national 2 day strike (mid feb) which meant we had to stay on an extra night which was no problem for Saj. The breakfast is delicious and we loved the fact that it was so close to Kathakali Centre where they have fantastic dance and music performances. Although we didn't arrange another trip ourselves we spoke to a few people who had done other 2 day trips from there and they all said saj had organised everything for them and they were really good trips- just a great allrounder to make your trip easier and very comfortable. Thank you Saj and your lovely family and staff. Debs and Al

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements

Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    191
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
502
156
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very central home stay. And the name "home stay" takes it full meaning here. You'll feel like you're at home. Comfy rooms with TV and aircon. Clean attached bathrooms.
Great service. Very helpful Saj will welcome you and offers guidance.
Really good breakfast served on a lovely shaded terrace. Great way to start the day.
Lots of services just around, walking distance (ATM, cafes, motorbike location ,etc).
Perfect match of location / budget / comfort...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our homely food, all the suggestions and arrangements Hope that you would give me another oppurtunity to serve you again in future

Kind regards
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't imagine that you will find a warmer welcome anywhere in Fort Kochin! Saj, the owner of the Homestay is a lovely man who welcomes you to his home with warmth and professionalism. The room we enjoyed was very clean and comfortable. The Homestay is located within a short walk to all of the sites in Fort Kochin and Saj provides a great map of the area and details the best places to visit and dine. Saj also went out of his way to arrange a backwater tour for us and to ensure that we had access to the Internet whenever needed.

You can not beat the traditional breakfast served at Saj home - everyday it was a wonderful delight. His wife (the chef) is a very good cook! I would stay here again without hesitation.

Note: if you are planning on visiting Kochin - Fort Kochin is the place to stay. You can take a ferry to the city area easily for something like 5 rupees per person - enjoy the ride and then return to the Fort where the things to see are located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable input and we are all to read that you and family have enjoyed our tiny accommodation, food, all the suggestions and tips.

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Sajhome, very comfortable, very clean. Mr Saj is a reliable person, he promised to reserve me the room no.4 a month ago, he really didn't give the room to other people but left the room for me. He arranged my trip to Alleppey and made me no worry. A lot of thanks to him!

Room Tip: choose no.4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala. Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December and loved it. This guesthouse is a great value in Fort Kochi and within walking distance to everything. Not only a great deal, the service is phenomenal, much better than one would expect for a guest house. Staff are attentive, helpful, and genuinely nice people. From laundry, to show tickets, to bus routes, to on-going transportation – we felt as though we were always well-supported, with great local advice. Also, like everyone else here says, the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala. Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Feb. Saj was very helpful, gave us a map with sights mapped out in a sequence and off we went. It was great to come back to the homestay and relax on either in the room or on the balcony. Great India breakfasts everyday and always had time to talk and give advice. Very centrally located and only 5 mins (30rupee) in a tuk tuk from the ferry terminal to Saj homes. We wanted to stay a 3rd night but was fully booked so Saj got us a room next door in an elegant looking building but not up to standard of Saj rooms or hospitality. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this post and I am really glad that I could provide few of my services to you and you are impressed and happy with all the arrangements and suggestions for your recent tour in Kerala. Hope that you would come back to Sajhome in future

Cordially
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Saj is so helpful from the moment you enter his home. He gets out a map and shows you where everything is, what you should do and where you should eat. The dhosa and lassi at breakfast were out of this world. We only had one night here, but would stay here again if we were in Fort Cochin. The restaurant in the hotel next door, Jackfruit Tree, which we ended up after the place we wanted to go to was closed, however, is awful and is to be avoided. It was the only bad food I had in India. -Matt and Beth, Seattle, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajhome, Owner at Sajhome, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for your precious time for your second review in two years and I am very happy that you and wife satisfied and enjoyed your stay.=, our breakfast and all other arrangements.

Hope that we would meet you and wife again in future at Sajhome

Thank you once again for choosing Sajhome second time.

Sincerley
Saj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sajhome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajhome

Address: Federal Bank ATM Building, Fort Cochin | Near Kunnumpuram Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#17 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sajhome is located right at the heart of Fort Kochi. All the tourist attractions are 5-10 minutes walkable distance. You are staying with a Kerala family. So you can enjoy Kerala delicious food and provide genuine tour information, further travel assistance, Arrange taxis, flight tickets, Train tickets, Bus tickets, Cultural dances, Martial arts, Indian classical Music, Genuine Ayurvedic Massage, Accommodation in next destination, Package tour, 24 Hour overnite House boats in Alleppey or in Kumarakom, 3-7 hours Village backwaters cruise etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Sajhome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sajhome Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Sajhome Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sajhome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.