We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.. you'll love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Oak Holiday Home

Maple Oak Holiday Home
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maple Oak Holiday Home to your Saves list
Maple Oak Holiday Home
Chundale | Wayanad, 673123, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 1,030 Specialty Lodging in Kerala
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A home away from home.. you'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

When you read about Wayanad online, almost all sites and review talk about Kalpetta. Maple Oak however is located about 5 KMs from Kalpetta in Chundale. And one of the 1st things that catch your attention is the proximity to the main road. Hit the junction and Bang! on the left you turn in to Maple Oak. so connectivity.. 5 Stars! now, you would imagine that being close to the main road would come with some compromise. Guaranteed, you 'll be in for a surprise as was I! enter the place and you are greeted by clam, serene and tranquility! Two lovely cottages stand in the premises, well furnished and spacious, bright and comfy. There's open space right around the premises and that made my kids happy campers!
The host - Franklin, is gifted in hospitality. Once you meet his folks you'll know for certain where he gets it from! The D'cruz family just made our stay one happy holiday! The breakfast was home made and served with great care, always on time and goes without saying , Yummy!!
Franklin took extra care to ensure the kitchen was well equipped in case we wanted to cook.
Sightseeing - Though we drove down in our car, I recommend that its best to hire a local jeep and do sight seeing. Franklin arranged a jeep for us, the driver Noushad was extremely helpful and knew his way around. each place in wayanad is 35 to 50 kms apart and having a local person helps a lot as they know how to cover more spots within the same day. This helps the overall budgets too ;) if your confused or having trouble deciding, leave it to your host Franklin, he's guaranteed to plan a good one.

When at the homestay, wake up early and take a morning walk in the Tea estate just next door, it's a rejuvenating experience for the busy bee city dwellers.

on our stay, we had our parents, young siblings & two kids (5yrs and 3 years). and everyone had fun. it was a wholesome family package!

Thanks to Franklin's hospitality, We will be returning there soon for another holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pune
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was first visit to Wayanad, a very good place to visit and maple oak a very good place to stay in. Mr. Franklin's hospitality was very good, he guided us Very well with route maps.
I recommend my friend and family visit surely visit wayanad and have a stay at maple oak holiday home.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 days/nights in Maple Oak in December 2013. Property location was easy to reach.
Host Franklin was very helpful. We had a special requirement of cooking own food for my wife who has a food allergy. He and particularly his mother were very sweet and let us cook in their own kitchen close-by whenever needed and also made breakfast for us carefully. Cant thank enough for that. There is a electric stove in homestay for those comfortable with it.
Franklin arranged a comfortable daily trip in a jeep where we covered Chembra Peak, Banasura Sagar dam and a falls nearby.
Rooms/bathrooms were very spacious and well maintained.
Overall had a pleasant stay and recommend for any family to stay by.
Regards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had been to Maple Oak Holiday home on a visit to trek at Chembra. Being close to Chembra we chose Maple Oak.

Maple Oak is a holiday home based in Chundale; tucked away from the main road. It comes with a large living room, dining room, a kitchen and couple of bedrooms with attached bath rooms. The whole house is very well maintained and kept very clean. Eventhough you are just off the road that connects you to most of the key places in Wayanad, you are cut off from the world with perfect privacy. Other than some occasional loud honking on the main road, you will never feel you are just off the road. One can cook on your own or bring in food. There is an induction cooker available to cook.

Frank plays the perfect host and provides a great company and all the help he could to make sure we make good use of the time and that we have all the information and assistance to travel around if required. We were only to do a trek at Chembra. We spent most of the time lazing around the house.

There are good restaurants at Kalpetta if you must pick food. Frank has some recommendations. There are not many good restaurants in Chundale.

Last but not the least, the breakfast served is really delicious. Breakfast was made by Frank's mom and was very homely and tasty.

I would recommend Maple Oak to anyone who is looking for a basic holiday home. I would have rated 5 stars, but taking away one as Kitchen can be improved a bit by adding some more utensils and stocking with basic stuff required to make coffee or tea.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.The older house is further inside the compound and hence may have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited Wayanad in May 2013 and settled for this place. Locating the place at 9pm at night was easy. It's right behind Chundale petrol station on National Highway 766. The helpful & caring host, Mr Franklin D' Cruz was the reason for the choice of this homestay. The main attraction of the place is its yet-untouched, pristine and bottle-green natural beauty. I was perched in Nature’s lap. Maybe it was what they call a great experience. Or maybe because I was so comfortable by the natural beauty of Wayanad that I had moved to a place in my mind where I perceived things differently. Clean rooms,helpful Kitchen and a Sit outs. Thanx to Frank again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had been to Wayanad in second week of august 2013 and stayed in Maple Oak Home stay. It was good and very comfortable Stay. Very peaceful place to spend some good time and near to few wayanad spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our 1st time in Wayanad and it would have not been such a pleasant stay with our family without maple oak cottage. Mr. Franklin's hospitality was extra-ordinary. He helped us to choose our destination and guided us till our last minute in Wayanad. We would recommend to all our friends and families to visit Maple Oak and enjoy their family get together. Tea estate beside maple oak cottage was good for morning walk. Since maple oak is present in the heart of the town chundale, we were able to find all basic amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Oak Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Oak Holiday Home

Address: Chundale | Wayanad, 673123, India
Location: India > Kerala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,030 Specialty Lodging in Kerala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Villas with 2 bedrooms each. Conveniently located at a Y- Junction leading to Mysore, Bangalore, Ooty, Calicut, Fort Cochin. Fuel filling bunk in the vicinity. Tea fields located close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maple Oak Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Oak Holiday Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.