We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prestige Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Prestige Hotel to your Saves list
The Prestige Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Collectors Gate | Balmatta Junction, Mangalore 575002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Mangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip recently. The rooms on the Executive floor where I stayed were well furnished, spacious, well lit and neat. The restaurant serves good food and on the whole, this place is good value for money. The rooms face the main road which is always busy and noisy. Hence the hotel should consider installing windows which are noise proof. This will definetly improve the experience of the users.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback of your stay at Hotel Prestige Mangalore. I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team. You point regarding the sound proofing the room is being considered. I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality

Thank you and Regards

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    100
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
36
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here in March'13 for 2 nights after going through the Tripadvisor reviews.

We had booked a Deluxe Double room over the phone, however, we were upgraded to an Executive Suite on checkin at no extra cost as the Deluxe Doulble rooms were apparently overbooked. The upgrade was done in a jiffy with no hassles. Pretty impressive, professional (and unexpected!)
This thoughtful gesture set a good first impression and a positive tone for the duration of our stay.

The hotel is around 3-4 kms from the bus stop and railway station and situated in a nice location with good and clean surroundings. You can walk down to a couple of other restaurants if you wish and catch a passing auto outside the hotel gate.

Being a suite, our room was quite spacious and had an adjoining room with a sofa set and centre table. Room had a dining table with 2 chairs, cutlery, electric kettle, mini fridge, wardrobe and quite big windows. I thought the furniture was a bit dated though. Bathroom was quite clean and spacious with the usual complimentary toiletries. No complaints on the a/c and quality of bed and linen.

Housekeeping services are prompt and very good and they will be at your doorstep in a couple of minutes after you call for them, be it for collecting your laundry or for extra tea/coffee bags or servicing the room.

They have 2 restaurants in house (one specializes in sea-food) which serve pretty good food. Complimentary b/f (no buffet) had limited options and a tad low on the quantity.

The only negative experience was that the laundry team returned my mother's saree with a tear. There was no point arguing with them about this because I knew they were not going to accept that this was their mistake.

Overall, quite a good experience and I'm happy to have stayed here.

Room Tip: If you are booking this hotel over the phone, try to note down the name of the person you are speaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and has been communicated to all the members of our team. You point regarding the reservation team & Housekeeping is being discussed with the concern Dept. I assure you that all necessary actions would be in place to ensure non-occurrence of the same in future. I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service is very good. True value for money..

The room was clean. We stayed 2 days - first while going to Coorg and second after returning from Coorg.

Mirror in room no. 304 needs repairs / replacement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us over the trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and the facilities provided met your expectations and you felt worth for what you paid. Your point regarding the mirror in room no: 304 has been taken seriously and replaced immediately. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

With Warm Regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (Executive floor) after going through good reviews on TripAdvisor. Though my initial reaction after stepping into the hotel lobby on day 1 was not impressive, my apprehensions were soon put to rest by the quality of the rooms provided. Good clean rooms and very neat bathrooms - I must say its was a value for money hotel. Food quality was good, but breakfast service was a bit sloppy.

Below is my review of the hotel.
- Overall Rating : 8/10 (1 being the worst and 10 being the best)
- Room Type : Executive Special Deluxe Room (A/C)

(+)
• Proximity to airport (30 mins) / railway station (10 mins) and main shopping attractions.
• Friendly courteous staff and quick service.
• Sleep quality is decent (though u hear frequent loud honking by buses as the hotel is bang on the main road and ambulance sirens are also frequent as there is a hospital in close proximity).
• Tea/coffee/kettle options provided in room.
• Mini fridge available in room.
• Hot water option available in bathrooms throughout.
• Food options and quality was quite good.
• Free WiFi provided had decent speed.

(-)
• Complimentary breakfast service was a bit sloppy with limited options and quantity.
• Dental kits not provided in rooms.
• The reach of WiFi in certain rooms was not that great.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the Executive floor (4th floor) and the ones NOT facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
My team and I are delighted to read your detailed and encouraging review. I am very happy to read that mostly your experiences were memorable and enjoyable while you were staying with us. It feels wonderful to receive positive and encouraging feedback from our guests and this only motivates our team to strive to do better with each passing day. Further i sincerely apologize about your Wi-Fi & breakfast experience which you felt was disappointing. While we make every effort to achieve this without being obtrusive, I am sorry that we went overboard in this regard. Thank you for this feedback. Thank you once again for the positive comments about our teams and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Mangalore.

With Warm Regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 days in mid May. Good location, very good rooms and very co-operative/helpful front desk people and curteous room service. The only short fall is that the hotel offers very limited vegetarian food options. However, there are a couple of excellent pure-veg restaurants close to the hotel. In nut-shell, whenever go to Mangalore, stay in Hotel Prestige at Balmatta Junction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s always a pleasure to receive such a positive and complimentary review! We are delighted that you felt comfortable and well looked after by our team! We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations on all levels. You point regarding the vegetarian food is being discussed with our F&B Manager and are planning to add more option while updating our menu. Hope to see you soon at Hotel Prestige Mangalore.

With Warm Regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

"A good hotel with basic amenities".

Stayed for 4 days in Dec 2012. We visited couple of beaches, temples and City Center.

Good Things about the hotel:

a. The first and foremost thing we liked about the hotel is "The Locality".
As located close to the Balmatta Junction, its easy to reach the hotel, if you travel by bus from Bangalore. The surroundings are bit noisy, as this is close to the junction.

b. Although the hotel has restaurant, we didnt find the veg food good, so we had to search for other options.

c. The staff was very helpful and they responded for any requests. Even the wi-fi connection was good.


There were few things which we felt would have been better :

a. The room was too damp. The toilet is smelly as no exhaust fan/air circulation exists. We had to keep the toilet door open, by doing that the room used to be damper for most of the time. :(

b. The Complimentary Breakfast was good. But, limited food and limited choice and also veg choice is less.

Overall, it was a great stay for 4 days and we certainly recommend this hotel.

Thanks for the Hotel Management for the memorable stay we had :)

Room Tip: Take room at the left side of the hotel for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to note that our facilities along with the service were able to create pleasant memories for you. Your appreciation of the team is encouraging and motivating. Regarding the room ventilation we have started working on it and come up with a solution in our newly done rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Prestige when in Mangalore.

Best wishes and regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hi,
The newly renovated executive room are too good at its class... but I personally feel Tariff is tooo high for the same... Inclusive of all taxes... the best buy would be Rs.2000-2200....

Complimentary breakfast service to be upgraded and has to be served fast.. better management gives a thought to buffet breakfast... its high time now...

Reception & service is very good & friendly....

Need to take a call on drivers room...

Thanks

Manuel Nelson
Director
Needz N Solutionz
Mysore- India
+919480606000 / +919886156000

Room Tip: Executive rooms are good & classy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPrestigeMlore, Front Office Manager at The Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Prestige. It was nice to know that you liked our Executive rooms. When it comes to the tariff our newly done Executive Rooms have been designed by a team from Mumbai without any compromise in the quality styling. The Entrance door and the furniture’s have been redone with veneer finish, Card locking system has be implemented for easy locking, Flat wall mounted TV’. The bath rooms are also totally re-done with Cubicles in Superior rooms and German Brand Grohe fixtures in all the toilets. For our guest’s safety we have installed Food light in the bed room & Toilets and antiskid floor tiles in the toilet. The tariffs are also planned accordingly. We have also started working on Sound Proofing of our rooms. Your point regarding the driver room has been noted. I am sure you will notice a perceptible difference on your next visit to our Hotel.

Best wishes and regards,

Nithin Shetty
Front Office Manager
Hotel Prestige
Mangalore
info@hotelprestige.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Prestige Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prestige Hotel

Address: Collectors Gate | Balmatta Junction, Mangalore 575002, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prestige Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel prestige is situated at Collectors gate, Balmatta circle, Mangalore. Our hotel includes luxuriously furnished A/C rooms, a conference hall with centralized A.C. and three restaurants. Diesel Cafe with continental & Italian Cuisine, De Javu Fine Dining which serves north Indian & Tandoor cuisine & Dakshin Restaurant for its specialty in sea food mangalorian and keralite food. We also have an open air roof top terrace which can be availed of for functions n parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Prestige Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prestige Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.