We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Pentagon wwowwww” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pentagon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pentagon to your Saves list
Hotel Pentagon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pentagon
Mahaveera circle | Pumpwell Circle, Mangalore 575002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Mangalore
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hotel Pentagon wwowwww”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

i was on 7 days trip to Mangalore. it made me stay in hotel Pentagon...
the service was world class it was xpensive a bit but worth for money good food awesome interior decoration, cool and quite place to saty for... i stayed till seven days.
The traditional south indian food which i ordered was mouth watering...yummmy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
1
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel Pentagon is a good choice if you are on a shoe string budget. If you are ok with >Rs 1,500 per night, then do not even consider this hotel as there are several better hotels in Mangalore. Also, all hotels are fairly close to each other so do not bother too much about which one has a better location etc

It is basically a hotel which has not been maintained and upgraded, clearly the owners or controlling management are not interested or plain incompetent. The location is really great, right on Mahaveer Circle where the Mangalore-Bangalore highway intersects with the Kasargod-Udupi highway. Food is also good, though a complimentary breakfast which was limited to only one dosa/idli plate was disappointing. The rooms are pretty ok, they are big, clean, newly painted. Fans, plug points, hot water, flush all were working except the intercom phone and TV remote. There was no drinking water and extra towel even after requesting the staff, but on second follow up it was promptly provided. I would have been a bit more critical in my review, but the price makes me soften my critique. For less than Rs 1000 per night, one really cannot expect superior service. Hence my opinion that most things good, some things bad

Room Tip: Take the A/C room, even in late December it was unbearably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I made the reservation though travelguru.com. We stayed overnight at this hotel. The location was close to the station and we checked in without a problem even at 11 PM.

The rooms were reasonably clean, clean linen and towels and bathrooms. Hot water in abundance in morning. Room service was good, and the complimentary breakfast was filling.

Good value for the amount paid.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

If you are looking out for a budget hotel in mangalore with good north indian food this is the place. Nearer to railway station but a little far from city center. But then again Mangalore is not a very big city. Decent avaialability of auto rickshaws and city buses take care of the former.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I was there for only one day, for my Exam purpose. It was a pleasant stay. Room, Staff and Service were good. I don't know anything about this place but it was good and near the railway station. Food was nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010 via mobile

we were for our national confrence in mangalore back in feb 2008.The hotel had good exteriors and interiors as well.Had a well maintained restaurent & bar.(keeping in mind its just a 2 star) .
location is strategic.food good.room service was good.waiters attentive.
The only complaint was that the reception cum travel desk was not much informative. Bt that does not mean you dont go for this. What we mean is that its a value for money hotel

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were travelling in group on a pilgrimage (sort of). We were a group of 6 and had to stay in mangalore for a day. The hotel had adequate parking space and was brilliantly located in NH-17. The room rates were agreeable. The rooms were spacious but was not clean. The furnitures were old. no internet or coffee makers. Staff was of sub standard. The restaurant was of poor ambiance and and food was of average quality. Recommended if you are on a budget and need so stay in mangalore for some hours. Other vice avoid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pentagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pentagon

Address: Mahaveera circle | Pumpwell Circle, Mangalore 575002, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Pentagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pentagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.