We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither here nor there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Hotel Mangalore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ginger Hotel Mangalore to your Saves list
Ginger Hotel Mangalore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kottara Chowki Junction, Mangalore, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Mangalore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Neither here nor there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for One night while visiting a friend . Putting down my feedback in points :
Pros :
Well Located
Well Maintained
Room was Clean
Food was average

Cons :
Rooms are tad too small
Staff wasn't too warm n receptive

But then again it's a budget hotel so in that case , i would give full marks to this property for providing what it promises .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Mangalore, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Yasmin,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us,and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation.

We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Mangalore, and your concern regarding the room size and staff, has been taken with the respective department heads for corrective actions. Also the respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face any such inconvenience.

However, we would like to inform you that the room size is standard across all Ginger Hotels in India. Also we have twin rooms available which are bigger in size, wherein they have two separate beds.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Mangalore, and we are glad to know that you liked the cleanliness, maintenance, ambience, food and the location of our hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    74
    59
    16
    16
See reviews for
60
28
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had stayed in ginger hotel mangalore during my return trip to delhi from coorg. Had booked it over the phone which was simple and very fast. This was my first stay in Ginger Hotels and I must admit they are indeed among the best business/Economy hotels in the country. Hotels pose a clean and professional appearance...with almost all facilities required to spend a short period of stay. The rates are reasonable for stay and dining and well managing stop. As brought out every one in this forum it is a true value hotel. The restaurant is managed very well .....Gud limited variety food..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Justifies its reputation. Location is Excellent and getting connectivity to any part of the city is a breeze. Located on the way to Udipi and Manipal and hence, travel time reduces a lot. Had hired the services of a cab through the transport desk for a trip to Kundapura, Maraventhe, Udipi Temple and Manipal. Since Indica was unavailable, they upgraded me to Indigo without any extra charges. In house restaurant is pretty decent and you get more than what you pay. Menu was distinct on all 3 days we spent in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for a night on our way to Coorg.

It is a budget accommodation and is value for money. The check in and check out process were smooth.

The room was small but clean, We did not have breakfast here as we checked out very early.

Value for money for a night's stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Its value for money but far away from central locations for shopping or rail station. was surprised to find a good restaurant inside the hotel. rooms were good and staff courteous. rooms were nice and clean - smaller as compared to other hotels but this is supposed to be a business hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Last week i have stayed in this hotel and stay was very comfortable. hygenic and truly its a budget hotel. the basic facilities are available. the food is also fine. the staff members were courteous and extending all the necessary help. the only problem we faced - with wifi facility. the first day there was some problem and on the next day this was solved

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hi Folks,

This a nice budget hotel and mainly business class hotel. If u r looking from 1.5k to 4k this is a good place for one / two day stay. If you are making plans in last min try to book from MMT. you will get good deals. Food is also ok.

Room Tip: Book online for best deals thru mmt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginger Hotel Mangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Mangalore

Address: Kottara Chowki Junction, Mangalore, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Mangalore 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ginger Hotel Mangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger Hotel Mangalore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.