We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wah taj!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Port Road, Mangalore 575001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Mangalore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wah taj!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

it happend to visit this place on personal visit to mangalore. I was looking for comfortable cool place. I booked the gateway hotel. It was very pleasant welcome by courteous staff. they are very professional service and neat.

I loved the great food on offer the locaal mangalore food. it was simply superb. the rooms are very spacious clean and neat. the arabian sea view from the window takes you to another world. wats more u need to relax??

Room Tip: go for rooms facing sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    93
    58
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
28
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel is run by Taj group. Excellent Staff and cooperative. Food is good. On he second day of the stay, mangalore local thali was served for lunch, which was not upto the mark. Immedietely staff was informed. Rajasthan food festival was going on and the food was really impressive and tasty. Staff was also good in service. The Hotel Taxi service is little expensive compared to the local taxis.
Overall a healthy experience.

Room Tip: Due to renovation, Third floor rooms are bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Everytime i been to manglore i stayed in the Gateway manglore.The rooms gives you home like feeling.Situated barely 400 mtrs away from Sea.hotel provides you best of service in its class with cooperative staff.rooms ran ges between 3000 +taxes,the Gateway provides you the facility of fitness centre,Sauna .It has decent salon inside the hotel. Well furnished rooms with use of pearl white and wood colour in decor is awesome.you never miss the smell of the rose petals placed in the room.
hotel has well furnished bar and restaurant . The coffee house is located just near the pool.
if you get a chance to tarvel between december-march,do try dinner at roof top restaurant.having dinner with soothing breeze blowing from the sea .roof top restaurant provides you awesome fresh sea food with cooking happening in front of you.

its pleasent having food and watching boats leaving the shore for fishing in the night.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were a group of about 20 people on a business trip. We took standard rooms (approx tariff was INR 3000 + taxes excluding breakfast) by default but in hindsight, deluxe rooms (costs INR 3500 + taxes) may have been better though I didn't see it. Though I didn't find it so, few members from our group complained that they found the rooms to be smelling badly and asked for room freshner to be sprayed inside their rooms.

Food quality was pathetic. We had snacks in coffee lounge on our 1st eve there but decided against having any further business with the restaurants in the hotel. What took the cake was the fact that we asked for sweet lime soda and were served pine-apple juice instead. When we objected, we were told, that was sweet lime soda!

Having said that, staff otherwise is courteous and helpful. They try their best to make the guests feel at home. On our second night there, we were to be delayed at work (we reached the hotel at 12:30 AM), so we called room service in advance and ordered some food which was to be delivered to one of our rooms. What we didn't expect was that they will serve it hot, at that unearthly hour!

Overall, upon enquiring with our hosts, we were told, perhaps GoldFinch would've been a better choice. Perhaps, next time!

Hope this helps,

Harsh

Room Tip: ask for deluxe rooms but check it out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Except for the location the hotel is wonderfull.The food is excellent.The buffet dinner was good.The staff friendly and helpfull.On our second day when we got back we found that the rooms had ben decorated with a model swan in one roon elephant in other room with hand towels

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Certainly not the best option in town, but has its own quaint and almost 1980s charm, especially the bar. The carpets in the lobby and the hallways, the elevators and the pool remind you of the kinds they showed in the movies shot in the 80s.
Rooms are very basic and elementary but tarrifs are ridiculously low as well. so it doesnt pinch as much.
The highlight of the hotel was certainly the extremely inviting bar. even after we came back from a boys night out at 11:30 in the night after a long day at work, we couldnt resist stepping into the bar for a third round of drinks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Dated bathrooms reminder of the 1980's style with inefficient plumbing, horribly painted doors and a run-down feel. Too noisy for restful sleep! The vehicular noise in the rooms is just not filtered and one is woken up to the constant buzzing of horns. The coffee shop service is courteous and accommodating but very inefficient.

Used the fitness facility and can safely say the room for change is immense. The massage was decent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore

Address: Old Port Road, Mangalore 575001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mangalore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mangalore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle, this beautiful hotel overlooks the picturesque sea and tranquil Netravati and Gurupur rivers. Bubbling with energy and with elegant Indian design cues, The Gateway Hotel provides warm hospitable service with a distinct personal touch. All guestrooms at The Gateway Hotel offer spacious comfort and contemporary style. Tastefully appointed and offering guest amenities like international direct dial facility, channel music, colour television with satellite programs and wonderful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Mangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Old Port Rd Mangalore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.