We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resonalble hotel to stay and eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rajmahal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chikamagalur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rajmahal Hotel
Save
You added Rajmahal Hotel to your Saves list
I.G. Road, Chikamagalur 577101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 64 Chikamagalur B&B and Inns
Kanchipuram, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Resonalble hotel to stay and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We ate breakfast in this hotel, the taste is great.....

In the mornings they use to provide the chikmaglur special items.... forgot the name but its looks like poori but on that they stuffed some sweet and banana....

We tried to stay on that hotel but all rooms are booked.

The prices are reasonable only...

Its located very near to the bus stand.

Room Tip: Better book by online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
13
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is a good choice if you happen to visit Chikmagalore. There are very few choices when it comes to hotels this little hill town in Karnataka. Hotel Raj Mahal is certainly one of the better hotels in the town. But then again it depends on the purpose of the visit to Chikmagalore. If it is a business visit or a visit that is going to be limited only to the town, then the hotel is a very good choice and will suit you perfectly... But if your intention is to explore and discover the several wonders that the place has to offer, then please do not stay at a hotel, but consider staying at one of the many home-stays in the area (you will love it). If you don't spending some dough, then the Taj Gateway is a very good choice. Final verdict - 6 out of 10. The hotel's location is very good, it is in the heart of the town and a stone's throw away from all the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice clean rooms and good location beats the price. The staff is friendly and willing to help. No restaurant in the hotel but plenty of options nearby to try. Don't expect much for room service as you will be left unimpressed. Good for a crash after a day of activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Raj mahal is a decent budget hotel. Located in a heart of a city. Worth the money we paid. Staff were decent. No escalators. Thats the bad part if you get a room in the top floor. If you are looking for a budget inside the city with al access this is the best One. Paid 800 for a night for 3 in a room.worth so much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were looking for an option of a cheap but decent hotel at Chikamagalur.
Hotel Rajmahal turned out to be a perfect option for us.
We were simply looking for a place where we will be able to sleep peacefully and the place should be neat and clean.
This place is very near to KSRTC bus stand and we reached at around 5 in the morning but had a hassle free check in.
Rooms are not spacious but good enough for a couple and neat and clean.Moreover hot water were available in the morning.
If you are looking for a decent shelter in night and want to roam around nearby places in day time this is a perfect choice for you.
They can arrange vehicle for sightseeing at good price. We had a nice experience.
But if you are looking for a luxury option this is not ideal place.

Room Tip: Suite would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good value for money hotel in Chikmaglur. Had booked an AC room. Room was clean and other services were good. There is no enclosed resturant but plenty around to eat at. Liked the place a lot. A good budget hotel to crash in evening after all the sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This property is one of the worst hotels had ever visited. I stayed here in December last year and was utterly disappointed. We had plans to stay in Chikmagalur for 2 nights. We were informed that this hotel was a good option in the town Wow!! I feel that this is one of the worst options. We went here to the hotel. Found the rooms to be dingy. The bed was not comfortable. And add to this, there were bed bugs!! Irritated me all night long. Could barely sleep. Now it doesn't end here. What kind of a hotel does not have room service!! They said that they don't have room service!! Which means that even for a cup of tea, we had to go to the restaurant below. And imagine waking up in the morning and walking down to get yourself a cup of tea. Really bad experience and I definitely will not stay in this hotel again. We checked out the next morning itself and checked into another hotel which did not look that great, but at least there was room service and bed bug free. Forgot the name of the hotel though. Either ways, I am going to avoid this place completely.

Room Tip: I wish I knew what the room number was. I am not too sure about the other rooms because I checked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rajmahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajmahal Hotel

Address: I.G. Road, Chikamagalur 577101, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chikamagalur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Chikamagalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rajmahal Hotel India/Karnataka - Chikamagalur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajmahal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.