We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reading my tea-leaves at Chung Wahs--off MG Road, and at Horamavu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chung Wah

Chung Wah
770, 16th Main | 2nd Stage, BTM Layout, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560076, India
080-42193888
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Reading my tea-leaves at Chung Wahs--off MG Road, and at Horamavu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I frequent their chain and we have even eaten at their newest Horamavu outlet.

We had been to the MG Road Chung Wah for Dinner and were surprised to be informed that Items NOT available despite being on menu included many favorite Pork items (including Grilled, Belly Slices and Pork with salad).
I even dryly inquired of the steward if Chung Wah was shutting down!!
And, as if the joke was on us, not until our dinner was served did we notice distinct changes that seem to have taken place.

The Spicy Pork slices we had ordered tasted like chicken shreds, and worse, with hardly any spice.
The ordered Koi Theo was oily, with the flat noodles all shiny, dripping oil and slippery-- akin to what roadside "chinees" stalls pass off -- as their version of Hakka Noodles!
The plate of Prawns in Blachen Sauce had few Prawns, with the saving grace being that they were fresh. But,it appeared as if the chef had counted out the last few prawns at the bottom of the larder-of dwindling sizes!!
And worse, the quantity served in both the side dishes had our eyebrows rising.
We just could not believe that this was happening to us at Chung Wah--frequented on every/many special occasions.
The floor Managers' response had our hackles up,too.

Come to think of it, we had forgiven the Horamavu outlet's awful fare, with cognitive dissonance justifying that they’d just opened the place, and that they may be struggling with footfalls!

However, now, this resembles a trend --called Milking the brand strategy (in management-speak)-- specially before a major change is in the offing.

We sent an email to their official email ID , which promptly bounced!

Well, no more dissonance.
The leaves have spoken

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    34
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An average ambience..but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been to chung wah at many places in Bangalore. The ambience is not great, but i like the food. The service is quick and to the mark of a regular restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The best chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have been to chung wah many times. It is one of my favourite restaurant from my college times. They served the real chinese food. Drums of heaven,chicken wonton ,noodles are really good. The ambience is very decent and clean. And staff are also courteous. And the price is also good. I will strongly recommend this restaurant if anyone want to try chinese food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Chung Wah Opus, JP Nagar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First look , the interiors and seating arrangements are really good... But once we tasted the food , it was just too bad and we had a bad experience... The starters and the fried rice had no salt and when we asked the manager about this, he just dint have any courtesy to even say 'sorry'...The food is also very expensive ... Worst place I have ever been for lunch ..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Chung Wah offers real Chinese food with little Indian influence (not common in Bangalore).
Service is fast and waiters are kind. Braised pork was very good, while the hot and sour soup was nothing special but only very spicy.
It is not very easy to find the place and the area is not very elegant, but food is ok. Low prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chung Wah also viewed

Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 

Been to Chung Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chung Wah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.