We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tangerine

Tangerine
52, 100 Ft Road | Kormangla, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560034, India
804115 2678
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: If you are fascinated by the sensory effects that a sizzler induces with its happy, crackling sound followed by its heady aroma, then Tangerine is just the place to visit. Creating its own niche with a loyal client base, this restaurant has been in town for the last six years and has won it a prominent place in the city's food map. Tangerine, the quintessential Sizzler restaurant is back with its recipe for the Perfect Sizzler..hissing, sputtering, spewing aromatic fumes and hot as hell!!Recently re-locating to an enviable location in South Bangalore - Kormanagala, Tangerine serves piping hot Sizzlers with carefully chosen flavors, textures, ingredients and prides itself in making every dish unique. While Sizzlers are the centre piece here, with a large variety to choose from, Tangerine offers an exhaustive fusion continental menu that includes a little something for everyone, be it the Salad & Soups for the Health junkies, the famous Pastas, their delicious innovations of the Sizzlers or the indulgent must try Desserts.A well designed restaurant with decor that's minimal yet eye catching, Tangerine is the brainchild of Arun and Manjula Rao and like its counterpart in Chennai, it proposes to highlight art and culture, as it serves a platform to renowned as well as young artists to showcase their individual pursuits - however modest or ambitious in scale.Symbolic for taking the concept of Sizzlers to an all new level, Tangerine reflects a sophisticated earthy ambience, with tasteful music and warm hospitality that blend together to create a delightful sensory journey making it a must visit for the good food lovers.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Staff seemed a bit dazed if not outrightly uninterested. The food was somewhat disappointing with the chicken lasagna a bit too sweet for my liking and the Indian sizzler with scarcely any veggies (ok, it was chicken, but still). The icing on the cake that we thankfully didn't order was a cockroach happily trekking across our table. The waiter's response was quick and he killed it right on the spot and took the squashed bug across our plates! The manager seemed almost indignant that I had the temerity to question him about it - and I let it be since I didn't want to embarass my dining companion. Finally he very grudgingly apologized and said they'd gone through the pest control shindig recently (so that was one very lucky insect, I would guess) - but they really didn't seem too sorry about it. My point is I wouldn't be surprised to see one of 'em critters in seedier joints (where too I have never seen one), and this place pretends to be an upmarket conti kind of place but the management (and the staff) couldn't care less. Unless, of course, they have some better use for the roaches which I really wouldn't want to speculate about...My advice? Don't go there even if every other place is packed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average Food for Average Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had gone to Tangerine as part of our team get-together.
Some Food items were good, some were very average in taste.
I would warn you against ordering a soup called Spicy Chicken something, it does not taste at all good, we had to return it & ask for a Tomato Soup in exchange.
But another Chicken Dish that we had ordered was quite good.
An average meal for a person with a drink would cost around Rs750.
So all an all I would say that this is an average Restaurant, also the lighting in the restaurant is not all that good & they don't serve Liquor, so think about it before going to Tangerine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just Ok food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Don't want to write too much about the restaurant because we had a bad experience on this visit but in the past the restaurant was really good!

Something has gone wrong in the past year and I really hope they get their act together before they lose customers!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We planned to eat out on Christmas and this is where we landed. It was either Copper Chimney or Tangerine, and we opted for the latter as most of us wanted to have sizzlers. Little did we know that it was a terrible choice. The ambiance was so-so. And strangely it was almost packed! About 75 % full. Either all of them were first timers or they haven't had good sizzlers. For starters, we ordered a flower sausage in mustard and chicken in potato skin. They bought frozen sausages, boiled it and put it in a mixture of mustard and mayonnaise. that probably was the best dish of the day. Probably because it wasn't really made in their kitchen. I dont even recollect what we ordered for main course. It was that bad. The chicken "Lau-saan-ney" was pathetic. The so called blue cheese thankfully didnt result in upset tummies. And i doubt if the lamb chops were lamb, and if the steak was beef. Not a great dining experience. And it wasn't easy on the pockets either. We decided to go home for desserts. Nuff Said!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A dull ambience, redeemed only by good main courses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The seating arrangement and lighting was rather poor. The starter (chicken with peanut sauce) was cold, dry and not very tasty. Our main courses though were very good. We ordered fish. Desserts turned out to be a camouflaged ice cream! Service was average and the waiter kept trying to take away our plates even before we had finished eating! Slightly over priced and no alcohol is available.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangerine also viewed

Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 

Been to Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangerine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.