We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still and amazing place for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samarkand

Samarkand
66 Gem Plaza | Infantry Road, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
+91 80 41113366
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Catonsville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still and amazing place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been enjoying Samarkand since my first visit to India in 2006. A reservation is always in order here to avoid a wait. On this trip we visited with two youngsters, 6 and 4 months. They were very accommodating, getting food out fast to keep the little ones happy. The long breadsticks are perfect for little hands. The dal afgani (makhani) is one thing we come here to have. Always great - although not as rich with ghee as in past visits. We had two items from the tandoor - the lambchops which melted in your mouth and the chicken which was full of flavor. The paneer appetizer came out late, it would have been better earlier, but we still enjoyed it. Nearly full we opted to share some ice creams for dessert. With so much good ice cream to be had in this city, Samarkand would do well to upgrade their selection. It was the one disappointment with our meal. See you on my next visit to India!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    138
    41
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good food with bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

entry experience 4 out of 5,
,Location 3 out of 5,
,Music 4 out of 5,
,Ambience 4 out of 5,
,Food 4 out of 5,
,Drinks 4 out of 5,
,service 2 out of 5, really bad service
,People around 4 out of 5,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Ambience, Nice & Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Its situated on Infantry Road, Valet parking is also available. All the waiters are dressed in pathani suit. Ambience is quite appealing. Generally we like to book a table in advance as its boring to wait for a long time sitting or standing. They don't serve spoons as they want their customers to relish their food with hands but if one needs or asks for it, they provide. Tomato Shorba is liked by us, it is served in copper glasses, most of the food is served in copper vessels. With soup they serve soup sticks which are quite long and colourful also which kids like. Both veg. and non-veg. foods are tasty and relishable. We always had a la carte there so no idea of buffet. because e could order the food of our choice. Its a Balaji's group of hotels. Food is a little expensive one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located on infantry road this place has an afghan feel to it. The decor & ambience is quite nice . Book ahead especially on the weekends cause its quite difficult to get a table. They are a little pricey but the portions are very generous . You must try their biryani cause its quite unlike any other place . I would definetely recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Afghani food in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are regulars at Samarkand and every time I dine there, I end up liking the food there more and more. A mutton biryani is a must have when you go. There is a good mix of spicy and not so spicy food. The ambiance is great and the staff really helps you figure out if you get lost. I really like the Papaya chutney and the cheesy dip served with the namkeen sticks. Make reservations in advance and even book a biryani in advance. It gets over soon.
It is an expensive place but worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samarkand also viewed

Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
Bengaluru (Bangalore), Karnataka
 

Been to Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.