We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my Favourite Hotel In Bangalore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chalukya

Hotel Chalukya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chalukya to your Saves list
Hotel Chalukya
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44, Race Course Road, Bangalore, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 571 Hotels in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“my Favourite Hotel In Bangalore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

if you want to stay in a "real indian hotel" then this is your place. Chalukya is lovely and traditional, yet at the same time there is wifi, three excellent restaurants, a superb staff, a lively location that is NOT on the tourist trail, butin a lovely part of the city near a golf course and a horse racetrack. This is such a fun neighborhood to walk in, but you have to be careful of traffic as the city has become increasingly crowded with auto traffic since i began staying at Chalukya ten years ago.
Do not be afraid to make special requests, or to have room changed or re cleaned. all of the staff are happy to spring to attention to make everything perfect for your stay. i have stayed at Chalukya nine times, and I cannot ever imagine staying elsewhere while visiting Bangalore.
Expect the usual quirky stuff like traffic noise, cooking odors, and pesky pigeons. i love Hotel Chalukya and I think you will too.
it is not near the airport, why would you want to stay near the airport anyway, ick!

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
4
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I am from vizag and keep vsiting bangalore very frequently (once in a month).
These are my ratings about the hotel

plus points:
1) near to railway & bus station
2) price normal for official visit ( 3000 for double room)
(but little it more for personal visit)
3) Nice south Indian breakfast
4) Very good restaurant attached ( 1 veg budget restaurant + 1 non-veg restaurant)
5) Wi-Fi
6) reception people are very good
7) near to mantri mall ( < 4 KMS)
minus points:
1) Far away for normal shopping centers

overall , i can say that its the best hotel located in a quite environment and i rate it as 4.5 of 4

Room Tip: budget, wifi, near to railwaystation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in end of September 2011. Hotel is very good, economic and at prime location. They offer complementary break fast and a good room service also. Room is very spacious and comfortable. Room has all facility and quick service. In case of food you have three choices. You can ask food at your room or at AC restaurant or at economic restaurant. However the choice of food is mainly south Indian dishes. One thing I like is that for small work they allow internet free of charge.

Room Tip: higher floor towards main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hey guys,
I went and stayed with my family at this budgeted hotel,old but still good in my sence,well morning we had masala dosa & followed by coffee at a restaurant in their building,its called as Samrat Restaurant,take my word,dosa was out of the world and coffee was excellent,i would prefer my next stay here again and try out few more dishes as i have heard all the food stuff are good

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Centrally located, old property. clean rooms. simple stay. quiet hotel nice for a days stay. Simple breakfast. Food at restaurant is good. Try the prawns, they were well made. The check in and check out was smooth. Good travel desk facility

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my colleague.. I want to say that only 3 advantage you have when you stayed in this hotel...
1. It is in the center of the city.. M.G. Road, secretariat is just near to this hotel..
2. FreeParking
3. Helpful staff
4. VERY VERY reasonable room tariff.
and problem is ..
1. You have to cross the heavy traffic to reach here...
2. Food is not good
3. Very old amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were in Bangalore to attend a wedding and stayed here two nights. Clean and tidy rooms and easy access to public transport. Located off race course road, it made commute very easy to the wedding venue located in Gandhinagar and also to attractions in the city like Cubbon Park, shopping centres on MG Road and Commerical Street.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chalukya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalukya

Address: 44, Race Course Road, Bangalore, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 571 Hotels in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chalukya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chalukya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chalukya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.