We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati to your Saves list
Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati
142, 8th Cross, 4th Main Road | Malleshwaram, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560042, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

It's a bit of a strange one - previous reviews are "up and down", and I can see why. We stayed in the suite on the first floor with the three sided balcony overlooking the front garden. The suite was lovely - had a lovely feel, was nice to have the use of a balcony or to be able to open the double doors to it, the main bedroom was cosy, and the bathroom was very tastefully decorated. Although not freshly painted yesterday, that's not what you expect from a traditional colonial property - you expect little cupboards in the walls, attractive antique furniture, candles at the side of the bath to add a warm ambiance in the evening - and that's what we got with our suite room.

That is all wonderful.

The counter sides were : a) its location right on the very edge of a very dirty area of the city, being not that far from the railway station; b) a very busy road right outside during the evening rush hour so when we took our meal in the yard it was with the sounds of hooting horns going quite clearly [see previous review about it NOT being in a "leafy suburb]; c) lack of 24-hour staffing inside the hotel.

On this last point, we were shown to our room about 4 o'clock in the afternoon. After about ten minutes I tried to ring down to give my order for evening dinner. There was no answer. I went downstairs to see if I could give it face-to-face and walked around all of the public places in the hotel and could find no-one. The whole place was silent. I could find nobody. I returned to my room to find that I had locked myself out. My wife was in the bath and could not hear me knocking on the door, so I went back downstairs to find somebody to help me get back in - but it was useless. I eventually got back in by almost banging the door down to get my wife to hear me. Not sure what would happen in this hotel if there was an emergency of some kind! Would there be anyone there to help? I suggest that the hotel management reviews their staff attendance.

Lack of staff was reiterated at breakfast time, where we were the only people at breakfast but it took a whole half hour to receive our food after sitting down at 7:30am.

Having said that, you may be surprised to hear that we WOULD go back to Villa Pottipati again if we were in Bangalore. So long as you expect not to venture outside, are happy with a simple meal, allow plenty of time for breakfast, don't expect to have 24-hour service, but want the experience of a stay in an authentic and thoughtfully decorated and prepared room with a huge amount of space [if you stay in the suite].

Room Tip: The suite with the three-sided balcony overlooking the front garden is faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
16
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Villa Pottipati is a very nice small heritage hotel in an old part of Bangalore. Pleasant area to walk around with many small shops. The staff at Pottipati is very friendly and helpful; if you need something that is not available at the hotel they will get it for you. The meals are simple but good. Although the swimming pool was under reconstruction, we really enjoyed staying at this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

What a dreadful hotel! The rooms were dark, damp and smelly. The pool was little more than a glorified paddline pool, full of elaves and litter. The staff were well meaning but appeared to have started their jobs that day, as none seemed to have any clue about the business of running a hotel.

The worst part was the dinner - by far the worst meal we had in India. Served in a dark, noisy, rat-infested car park (I'm not exaggerating - a rat ran past our table during dinner) the food was tasteless and poor quality - I suspect it came straight from a microwave. - and appeared to have been prepared in the garage.

By far the worst hotel we stayed in during a 5 week trip around India.

Stayed March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We (2 couples) were lucky that we only had one night at this dump! Having read the other two reviews I cannot believe we are writing about the same place. It is not situated in a leafy suburb, but in a run down market area, with lots of traffic. It is run/owned by Neemrana Hotels, with whom we have stayed in other places, in India and been very satisfied. We arrived to be told , in a very off hand way - no one else is staying here you can choose your rooms - we took 2 on the ground floor ( the upstairs rooms were completely dark - so we didn't venture up to look at them). They were, dark and dreary, quite well furnished with ancient (historical?) furniture and looked fairly clean if a bit worse for wear. Our bathroom was in a very dilapidated state with peeling paint. We had expected to be able to eat at the hotel, and were shown a tatty menu - when we asked where is the dining room - we were shown the yard, so we opted to dine elsewhere. We started to walk in the surrounding streets which were very busy and crowded with shoppers. We found no restaurants anywhere nearby nearby so we finished up at the Taj West End for supper. What a contrast - for a very minimal difference in cost we could have stayed there! We returned to our dismal hotel, to find only a guard in the driveway, no one at all inside the hotel and the keys to our rooms lying on the desk, which served as the reception. Our bedroom opened directly onto the driveway as well as the interior hallway, and someone, possibly the security guard chose to sleep outside our window, so we were treated to the sound of his hawking and spitting together with the hooting and traffic noise from the road. We managed to get to sleep but were woken at about 4.0am by the sound of many footsteps coming from the floor above, opening the door into the hallway we were surprised to see several men running across the passage, obviously not wanting to be seen by us. We came to the conclusion that there were locals being allowed to stay there, probably with a special arrangement with whoever was supposed to be running the place! We had to leave early (7.30am) the following morning, and there was no-one at all from the hotel to be seen, we couldn't get any breakfast, nor was there anyone to help with our luggage until our driver and guide arrived to take us to the airport. Our travel agent had recommended this place, but we have told them in the strongest terms that they shouldn't send anyone else there.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We had two stays at the hotel, for three nights on arrival into India and for a single night prior to departure. The rooms are well maintained and clean and the staff are helpful with luggage etc. This is very much bed and breakfast, the food is very basic and the impression gained is that they don't want to provide an evening meal. The food is poor and expensive. If you want a bottle of cold water you need to give some notice for them to put a bottle in the fridge. This is a bit of a shame because it can take quite a while to get into MG area from here and if you're tired and need some food Villa Pottipati isn't the place to be. The location of the hotel is probably its biggest drawback. I would recommend this hotel but with a warning about location and poor food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Villa Pottipati is around 20 mins (more during the many rush hours!) from the centre of Bangalore but the better for it. In a gentle leafy suburb it provided a sanctuary from the grime and pollution of the centre.
Beautifully restored rooms, simple but comfortable, excellent service and a lovely garden to relax in.
Food good although expensive. 'French' menu heavy on the cream.
Great for Rajophiles.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

The hotel is in a pleasent residential area just minutes away from the heart of Bangalore. We enjoyed walking through the neighborhood in the mornings as the residents visited markets -- to purchase food and prepare for puja.

Our room was large and well appointed with simple but distinctive furniture and decorations. The staff was solicitous and served breakfast in the courtyard in the best style.

All in all, a great value and a great memory.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati

Address: 142, 8th Cross, 4th Main Road | Malleshwaram, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560042, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 571 Hotels in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden home in Malleswaram, which was once the vegetarian- Brahmin stronghold of Bangalore. The name Pottipati derives from a village in Andhra Pradesh from where its owners – the Reddy family, originally migrated to Bangalore.Among the bustle of glass and concrete towers, relish pastoral charm, under a giant Shivalinga tree, Gulmohars, Jacarandas, Jack Fruit, Mangoes and Avacado trees, as also parterres full of crotons and seasonal flowers.The intimacy of old-world-rooms named after traditional sarees, a granite pillared lounge with a skylight, with basic business hotel facilities and a small conference room.When you stay at Villa Pottipati you join Bengaluru’s fight to retain its magnificent heritage structures by making restoration a viable, self-sustainable tourism activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's - Villa Pottipati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.