We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome family holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Native Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Our Native Village to your Saves list
Our Native Village
Hessarghatta | Kodihalli Village, Hessargatta Road, Rural District, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560088, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An awesome family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Its a great place to relax physically as well as mentally. Its away from the city and free from pollution. Very ecofriendly right from the soap containers to the water jugs. Had fun making pots,singing songs, playing all the village games like gilli danda, cycle tyre racing etc. We also had a fun bullock cart ride. Milking the cows was a different experience. We also went star gazing the night we stayed there. It was truly a wonderful experience. The rooms had beautiful mural paintings for a backdrop. The rooms were clean and neat. Its a haven for birds and we went bird watching early in the morning. They also have a beautiful chemical free natural pool. The food was excellent and catered to our needs of onion garlic free food. We also got to pick the vegetables of our choice from their organic garden which was an enjoyable experience. Above all the service was extraordinary. The owner Mr. Ramkumar is a simple and friendly person with great ideas. All in all the place was worth the money we spent. We have vowed to go there again and again and will recommend it to all our friends and relatives. So those who want an extraordinary holiday, do go to OUR NATIVE VILLAGE!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We get guests into our resort, but every now and then we get guests who will ensure that they go through every experience that we have to offer - all 20 experiences that we have listed out in our welcome card. Your family is one of them, and I am so happy that you enjoyed it all. We knew from your food choices that you are connoisseurs of food, and I am so glad to see that you enjoyed it. It is heart warming to see you say that you will come back again and that you will tell your friends. We survive on words of appreciation and encouragement, and you have given us enough to go through for a long time! My regards to your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    66
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
99
32
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was truly an experience of old-world charm of our native village, when I visited there for a 2-day outing with my family ... we had lot of fun, Gulli-danda, Lattu, Cricket, Gulel, Cow-milking, Kite flying, carom, chess, music, camp-fire to name a few activities / games that we enjoyed ... then the traditional relaxing kerala massage ... comfortable rooms and excellent service ... we would like to certainly revisit it more frequently .... food-menu is very limited and needs more variety and has scope to improve the quality, as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review Sanjeev. We enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed ours! I am so glad that you folks played all the games and truly experienced the village life here. Often guests do not play all the games, because they have forgotten or are unfamiliar with them. But you folks dived deep in and enjoyed it all. On the food, perhaps you are reacting to the menu on our black board, which is the limited menu from the vegetables we grow organically. However we do have a larger menu that consists of foods using vegetables from outside our farm too. Perhaps we missed out on that with you. Good reason to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our Native Village is a great place to spend time relaxing with friends & family or even alone. It is away from the city making it quiet and peaceful. I spent a long weekend there with a few friends and had a great time. The location is awesome, the rooms are very cosy, the service was good and the food was impeccable. Cycling around the resort's really fun too. Overall an awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
So often we have guests come to our resort and say 'OMG, this is so close to the city and yet it feels so far away. This is because the location is such that we feel it is far away. Guests are amazed Ono how there can be such a serene location so close to the city. Some describe it as the best kept secret of Bangalore. While all this is very flattering for us, we say a quiet thank you to Mother Nature! So often we take for granted what is offered to us...we hope that beautiful locations like our resorts act as a cue for people to appreciate the beauty in nature and the beauty in themselves. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hi all, I've been going through reviews of the resort and I noticed some folks who have been to the venue don't have a good feedback about their stay there. Well, I have personally been to the resort a few times now and firstly its a good location to spend a night or two at. I agree its a little to far from the city but that's my point. You are away from all the hustle and bustle of the concrete forests. In my opinion, it is worth a ride to the outskirts. When it comes to the pricing of the rooms, I feel that it is a little expensive for a night's stay, but its a feel you clearly can't experience else where. So why not spend a little more money on something you don't experience everyday? My stay there was raw and different unlike most other places that I've stayed at. The whole feel inside the room that I stayed at was warm and comfortable. Right from the door bell to the paintings on the walls to the room lighting to the bath soaps to the tiles that were used was in the rooms were a smart choice, must say! The night I was there, there was a small play which was put up by good village actors with attractive costumes - something different again. Also, the food buffet had a lot of varieties of different kinds of veg/non-veg food, a little spicy, but I guess it must have been my sweet tongue. I really liked the chilly prawns. Lastly, the owner, Mr. Ramkumar is a man of brilliant thought and good taste. So guys, if you're genuinely looking forward to getting away from the city's noise, you must visit Our Native Village! Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Myron. Nice to read your review. I love the way you say your experience was ' raw and different unlike most other places that I've stayed at'. Very few guests make this observation, and this is so accurate. Very few guests are able to appreciate this 'rawness', as we have all got used to sophistication and a polished existence! Fewer guests are able to enjoy the 'rawness'. So glad you noticed this and enjoyed it. Do come back soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a good silent place with real native environment, good for village activities like Pot Making, Flying kites, Camp Fire, Bullock Cart riding and seeing how they milk cows. Rooms are with ethnic treditional setup, with suithable aroma. They have Spa but that was not our choice.
We (family) found food very tastey and treditional though it was costly.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine and have good interior done, but slightly variation that depend on type of accomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review Kamlesh. So often we romanticise the Indian village but hardly get a chance to go to one and experience it. Granted that a lot of our villages are not vert touristic in their appeal. However what we need from a village is the village experience isn't it. This is what we are trying to deliver at Our Native Village. We hope that the experiences are enjoyable. So glad that you enjoyed it. Do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Situated amidst a completely vast open area with muddy roads that take you deep into the villages, this resort is truly eco. The natural cooling in the rooms, largely self generated electricity and wherever you go in the resort, the place constantly reminds you of eco-friendliness and the simplicity/calmness of a village. We stayed there for two days. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Some of them have a little difficulty following english, but hindi works very well. They arranged a lot of activities for us - cart ride, games (spinning tops, kites, etc...), karaoke (which was lot of fun), rangoli design, flower garland making, cow milking, etc... This was all great fun. They have a 'talabh' that is used as a swimming pool. The owner educated us on how it is natural and it brought me memories of the wells and lakes I have taken bath in, in my dad's village. Definitely not for the grown ups who are into the clear swimming pools. After the pool bath, the hair was not one bit dry, like it gets with chlorinated water. You can take a cycle ride into the village or a morning walk. The food variety is small and a bit expensive, but well made. Breakfast variety was quite reasonable.

Overall, had a great fun time relaxing at this excellent resort that I'd definitely recommend for a visit to any of my friends. Keep in mind that the theme is a village style life, so if you are into air conditioned rooms and city style star hotel treatment, then this place may not be for you. Want to note that, they have excellent well-maintained very large highly clean and comfortable rooms, so cleanliness or comfort itself should not be an issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review Arun. We observed how much you enjoyed your stay with us, as you valued the importance of and enjoyed the silence, stillness, peace & quiet at our resort. In fact these are some of our greatest assets. So happy you recognised all of our eco practices. I loved the way you say that our pool is "Definitely not for the grown ups who are into the clear swimming pools"...hahahhaha. So true, because we have kids who see the pool and they just want to jump in, while I hear mothers scream, 'Nahin beta (child), the pool is dirty'. Few folks like you read the description of our pool, and appreciate the fact that we use aquatic plants to clean the water and not a drop of chemicals. Folks see the greenish colour of the water and do not realise that this is just microscopic vegetable matter called zooplankton, which is perfectly safe for even an infant to ingest. While this is understandable, because we are all use to seeing clear blue waters in a swimming pool, what we do not see is that it is full of chemicals!! I am sure that slowly, guests will get used to our pool , like they did in Austria, from where I got this pool technology from. So glad you enjoyed our space completely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

An incredible place to spend time at either with your family or with your friends. Words cant express my gratitude to the staff of Our Native Village for making my stay absolutely worthwhile. Can't wait to go back there.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they know whats best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CB R, Owner at Our Native Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Oh...this is so beautiful for all of us here. When a guest appreciates the human beings in this resort - the staff, nothing gives us a better boost! We thrive on words like yours in Our Native Village. I am so happy that you feel this intense gratitude towards our staff. I often tell guests that our staff are not the sophisticated, suave, smooth talking, dressed-in-a-fine-suit, hotel management graduate, trained in the ' you have to smile at a guest because you are paid to do that' kind of staff. They are just simple villagers. They smile from their hearts and you can see their sincerity from their eyes. While all of them do not speak English very well, they will charm you with their language of affection and warmth. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Our Native Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Native Village

Address: Hessarghatta | Kodihalli Village, Hessargatta Road, Rural District, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560088, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 508 Specialty Lodging in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India's first and only 100% Eco resort with a fully natural swimming pool and a conference facility. Resort is managed on eco-principles and renewable energy is generated on site. Close to Bangalore, India's IT centre "Our Native Village" is set in serene, rustic surroundings with plenty of fresh air and village ambience. Traditional village games and bullock cart rides, swimming in a natural pond and massages to ease your senses are all offered on this beautiful property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Our Native Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Native Village Hotel Bangalore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Native Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.