We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel to your Saves list
MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel
23, EPIP Zone, Next to IGate | ITPL, Whitefield, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560066, India (Formerly The Mark Boulevard Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Executive Room - Rs.2,599
Ranked #112 of 558 Hotels in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

this hotel is not very easy to find. The location is probably one of the cons. it is ensconced between large size IT companies and in by lanes and make it difficult to spot from the main road. However, once you reach the hotel, from the time you enter, you will know that it is actually a business class category hotel. While the outer facade of the building looks reasonably new, the insides of the hotel seem quite old but well maintained. You will not find the most classy of staff available here but they do seem to be helpful if you approach them at their level. The rooms are well laid out, very spacious and rooms are replete with all amenities - water, microwave, coffee pot, wifi, TV, bathroom necessities, etc. The beds were old but comfortable. Some rooms still have those outdated TV sets but they work.

The hotel is actually part of a larger hotel and resort chain and hence there are a lot of hotel branded stuff on display. The ambience of the restaurant is good, the food spread diverse and overall taste slightly better than average. In-room dining service is good. Running hot water available 24 hours and a hathway TV service.

The overall cost on offer is lower than the regular chain hotels but it does provide good value for money. i had a good time at the hotel.

The improvement points for the hotel are lighting and the flooring in the corridors. I would recommend this for frequent business travelers and long duration stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
2
15
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

i stay in MGM whenever i am in Bangalore for official visits. the rooms are ok. the A/C and bathroom tap did not work and i had to call the reception for repair. the response was prompt. the breakfast spread was ok with some decent options. the best part i like is office drop they offer to their guests in the whitefield area. this makes the hotel an attractive option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel based on trip advisor’s review and they are closer to my client’s office. Overall hotel staff is great and very helpful. However, I was completely disappointed on few points.
1. Even though I requested non-smoking room, they provided smoking room on 1st night. It had very strong smell and I was sick the next day. I requested the room change and they moved me on 2nd floor. However, that was also smoking room but with less smell. They did not have any other non-smoking room available.
2. They had fitness center located in smelly garage area. In the fitness center they had 19 inch TV located facing backward. TV is very small for the size of the room and it is facing backward. So, Not sure what’s the purpose of the TV in fitness area. When I asked about the TV; they told me that I could watch tv from the glass mirror wall in the front. So weird.
3. They messed my food order few times and had to call three times to correct the in room service.

Bottom line, I will not stay this hotel again. Look for another four start or five star hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking room. if you are planning to use fitness center make sure you have music on your smart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Under its high-end appearances, this hotel is really low-standard, and is one of the worst hotels we stayed in.

The staff was completely incompetent, promising to do one thing and then not doing anything. The managers on call were so incompetent, we had to resolve to contact the General Manager who, to our surprise, was rude, unprofessional, and misogynist to the point that he was absolutely disrespectful with me (the woman) and polite with my husband, but unfortunately still incompetent.

The room was dirty when we checked in, we had to ask them to shampoo the carpet as it was so dusty and filthy, and we found some chipped/broken glass in the bathroom.
The sink was clogged and the toilet flush was leaking.

Every time the cleaning was done in the room, you had to specify you wanted the carpeted room to be vacuumed and the staff to use cleaning products, otherwise it was a simple change of sheets and the bathroom was only cleaned with a wet cloth full of water but no cleaning product.

We asked for a room with queen-sized bed, but surprise when we checked in, the room had two full-sized bed pushed together.

The Internet was really slow and always in and out. Its no wonder when you see that the modem is actually in the corridor and fixed on the celling by tape, so every time the modem gets too heavy and starts falling, it disconnects the wires.

We noticed that few people were complaining about the lack of hot water. After complaining few times to the managers on call and the General Manager that we didn't have hot water, except around 7AM, we decided to force the hand of a maintenance guy who, after 15 minutes of negotiating, finally told us that the hot water was on a timer system. So hot water was only on from 6AM to 8AM and 7PM to 9PM. At our insistence, he unlocked the timer for our bedroom. We travel a lot, and I never stayed in a hotel where we couldn't enjoy a hot shower whenever we felt like it (whether it was 5AM, 12PM, or 1AM).

Regarding our experience with their restaurant, Fusion Express, it has also been a bad experience. They offer a buffet breakfast which was a complete disappointment. It is a good thing, and we would even add mandatory point, for a high-end hotel, like theirs, to offer a local and a continental breakfast. However, the quality has to be there, and this is not the case in this hotel: the so-called pastries are stale and don't taste fresh at all, the bread taste like cardboard, the pancakes have the consistency of plastic, the cereals are out in the open (which makes it unsanitary and not fresh), there is only one choice of marmelade/jam, the so called "fresh" juice is canned and the few times we ordered eggs, the orders weren't made properly (we honestly think a chef should be able to cook an order of sunny side up eggs with runny yolks and cooked (not runny) whites properly).

On top of it, even though the restaurant was almost empty at the time we were going for breakfast, the waiting time was absolutely unacceptable (more than 20 minutes to get an order of eggs). Just on a side note, the second morning, I was talking at breakfast with another guest of this hotel and he also mentioned the bad quality of the continental breakfast, and told me (sarcastically obviously): "good luck!".

Finally, we would rate the restaurant's ambience as less than average, as it is quite unpleasant to eat while having the impression to be in a dance club. Both the restaurant and the lobby would do better with soft instrumental music rather than loud dance-music.

The room service is a nightmare as you have to call few times to remind them of your order and make sure they took the correct order because it happened more than once that the order was wrong.

Their so-called state of the art gym is actually a small room (about 10-15 meter square) in the garage with 2 tiny vents that evacuate the air in the garage, but no fresh air is getting in. The machines are stacked next to each other with almost no space between them and because these machines are old and bad quality they are really hard to work with and really noisy. So just imagine how bad it is when guests are trying to work out on one elliptical, two treadmills, a weight-lift machine, and a bicycle stuck in that small room.

One another thing is the "language barrier", which we normally don't have any problem with. We would have been fine with the staff saying "I don't understand", but instead you get an "okay" to everything, but nothing is done after that. Or doing or sending whatever to the room, because nothing was understood. This ended up getting us frustrated with the fact that we have to repeat the same thing a few times, and every time you get a "yes" reply, which is completely wrong. It is really annoying and frustrating to hear "Okay", "Correct", and "Yes", and not see anything happening. Pleasing people by telling them yes, and then not doing anything, is not good customer service. It is basically taking your customers for idiots by lying to them.

While we were staying there, we addressed an email relating these issues to the Restaurant Manager, the Cleaning Manager, and the General Manager, which was a big waste of our time.

Oh, and finally cherry on the icing for the check-out, we were forced to pay some room service and laundry charges we didn't spend and didn't sign under the threat that the police will be called if we didn't pay all charges.

We would like to think that we are reasonable travelers, but at some point, we also don't want to be treated like idiots and tourists you can take advantage of, which was the case with this hotel, and which is why we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Location is not very good and the vehicle service needs improvement. However, good and polite staff. The breakfast is decent. The room tariff is reasonable. Could not try out the spa and swimming pool due to lack of time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I did not like to place when hotel is located.
Its quite inside from main road and Cummute to hotel is with narrow roads.
But it may be good for stay if you visit office located near by that hotel.

Its like centre of the circle followed by IT offices all around. One Kilometer away from Main Road. Hence you need to know about this Hotel to go for it.

We have gone for Lunch party five times as its nearby our office within 2 KM.
Buffet is a average. Nothing So great compare to others.

But May be good for a change.

Room Tip: Any room would give you same impact
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent visit at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your visit to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I liked the hotel though it was just one night stay. The room was good and the room service was excellent. I wanted an adapter for the laptop and it was made available within a few minutes. I wanted an iron box and it was available within a few minutes. The front office were exceptionally helpful, especially Ms. Vidhya, who was amazingly helpful in arranging my transport and other matters. I would definitely go back to this hotel for my next trip to White Field. Thank you guys for making my stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Narayanan Manoj,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Mark Whitefield.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel

Address: 23, EPIP Zone, Next to IGate | ITPL, Whitefield, Bengaluru (Bangalore) 560066, India (Formerly The Mark Boulevard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 558 Hotels in Bengaluru (Bangalore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
76 rooms, Boutique business hotel, located next to major IT companies like SAP Labs, TCS etc. 10 km from airport. A multi cuisine restaurant, gym, high speed Wi-Fi access, well designed rooms with in room safes, mini bar, kettle, central AC and electronic locks. Conference for 100 persons and board room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Mark Whitefield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.